Saint-Gobain "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Saint-Gobain Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Saint-Gobain CEO Pierre-André de Chalendar
Pierre-André de Chalendar
469 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Nao vejo desvantagem por parte da empresa no momento(in 25 reviews)

  • "Algumas regras que sejam um pouco desnecessarias(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain

    Pros

    Good working environment, people are very friendly

    Cons

    waiting list for testing is long

    Saint-Gobain2019-03-01
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Granville, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are above average Pay is above average Working environment is very pleasant

    Cons

    Not everything that was promised was delivered

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2019-09-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Research Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Challenging work environment, high impact

    Cons

    Hard to find support in cut-throat environment

    Saint-Gobain2019-01-15
  4. "R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment. Good opportunities for development

    Cons

    Too much politics. Management does decisions with perceptions, not with real data.

    Saint-Gobain2018-02-26

    Saint-Gobain Response

    June 5, 2018HR DIrector

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am glad you are still with us! Unfortunately most large organizations have some type of politics in play. With 170,000 employees worldwide, we tend to do very well in this area. If an employee is from a smaller company before they come here, though, I understand how difficult it can be to adjust to the larger employer culture. In R&D we are here to service our customers. Business decisions are made based on the customer's needs and not always on the data provided. Thanks again for the review.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist in Northborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture - Excellent work culture. Makes you feel comfortable and secure diversity - Very open working environment development opportunities - Great investment on employees

    Cons

    Salary - Moderate salary hikes work speed - Typical corporate slow downs growth - Slow growth due to hierarchical structure

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2018-01-11

    Saint-Gobain Response

    January 15, 2018HR DIrector

    Thank you for staying with Saint-Gobain for more than five years! That speaks volumes, as do the comments you have made. Large organizations, like ours, have many decision makers who need to be involved, so sometimes speed can be impacted. We are challenging everyone to change this however as we focus on growth. Please figure out how you and those around you can be the "change agents" we need! Salary is only one part of the overall compensation package. One would need to compare bonus, RAP, 401k match, work environment, and other benefits in order to determine overall competitiveness. Saint-Gobain does this on a regular basis. We are confident we are competitive. Thanks for the review!

    Continue reading
  6. "R&D intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain

    Pros

    Good advisor, nice working environment. Nice co-workers. Not too much pressure. Flexible working time.

    Cons

    Wage is low for an intern

    Saint-Gobain2018-01-10
  7. "Research Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain

    Pros

    Superb working environment and you can learn a lot both technical and non-technical.

    Cons

    I dont think there are anything not good here. I just enjoy intern here. One thing could be that the product I was working on is not quite related to my most relevant field.

    Saint-Gobain2017-04-19
  8. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time

    Pros

    company has Healthy work environment

    Cons

    No cafe facilities and less salary.

    Saint-Gobain2017-02-09
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Very Disappointed in the Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Garden Grove, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most of the people I worked with were hard working and dedicated to doing a good job. The work environment was pleasant as well.

    Cons

    The company is too driven by short term sales projections - it frequently lets people go when sales are slow. I was let go with no warning after almost 10 years of highly productive employment and told that my position with the company had been eliminated as a cost cutting measure.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2016-12-29
  10. "Quality Control Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Quality Control Research Associate in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly, open work environment that is dedicated to efficiency. I worked in the analytical chemistry unit of the insulation department. I was exposed to many different analytical techniques that I had not worked with in the past, and management was excellent at teaching how each instrument worked

    Cons

    There seems to be a very stagnant environment, with little room for promotions. The management seems to have not changed for quite some time. Shuttle service provided to and from the train station is very inconvenient.

    Saint-Gobain2016-10-18
Found 51 reviews