Saint-Gobain "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Saint-Gobain Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1156 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Saint-Gobain CEO Pierre-André de Chalendar
Pierre-André de Chalendar
352 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A empresa possui os seus processos um pouco burocr(in 23 reviews)

  • "o de vagas para cargos dentro da empresa(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Research Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Challenging work environment, high impact

    Cons

    Hard to find support in cut-throat environment

    Saint-Gobain2019-01-15
  2. "R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment. Good opportunities for development

    Cons

    Too much politics. Management does decisions with perceptions, not with real data.

    Saint-Gobain2018-02-26

    Saint-Gobain Response

    June 5, 2018HR DIrector

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am glad you are still with us! Unfortunately most large organizations have some type of politics in play. With 170,000 employees worldwide, we tend to do very well in this area. If an employee is from a smaller company before ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist in Northborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture - Excellent work culture. Makes you feel comfortable and secure diversity - Very open working environment development opportunities - Great investment on employees

    Cons

    Salary - Moderate salary hikes work speed - Typical corporate slow downs growth - Slow growth due to hierarchical structure

    Advice to Management

    Improve salaries to be competitive in the market

    Saint-Gobain2018-01-11

    Saint-Gobain Response

    January 15, 2018HR DIrector

    Thank you for staying with Saint-Gobain for more than five years! That speaks volumes, as do the comments you have made. Large organizations, like ours, have many decision makers who need to be involved, so sometimes speed can be impacted. We are challenging everyone to change ...

    Show More
  4. "Research Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain

    Pros

    Superb working environment and you can learn a lot both technical and non-technical.

    Cons

    I dont think there are anything not good here. I just enjoy intern here. One thing could be that the product I was working on is not quite related to my most relevant field.

    Saint-Gobain2017-04-19
  5. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time

    Pros

    company has Healthy work environment

    Cons

    No cafe facilities and less salary.

    Saint-Gobain2017-02-09
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Very Disappointed in the Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Garden Grove, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most of the people I worked with were hard working and dedicated to doing a good job. The work environment was pleasant as well.

    Cons

    The company is too driven by short term sales projections - it frequently lets people go when sales are slow. I was let go with no warning after almost 10 years of highly productive employment and told that my position with the company had been eliminated as a cost cutting measure.

    Advice to Management

    There is a lot of talk about what a great place to work the company is. Saying so and making it so are two different things. Certainly the potential is there but the company needs to work on loyalty to its employees. A large company like this one should be able to weather temporary down turns in business without the periodic reductions in force.

    Saint-Gobain2016-12-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Thank you Ravenna, Ohio!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain

    Pros

    I am a fairly new employee. I like the place but I thought I might have to leave and find another job because there was one bad apple spoiling the work environment. But you guys did the right thing and sent that bad apple packing. Now I can stay around for awhile!

    Cons

    The only down side that I could see just left!

    Advice to Management

    Congratulations on a job well done!

    Saint-Gobain2016-10-10
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Solid company with good values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting technical problems, cross cultural working environment, nice people

    Cons

    Heavy bureaucracy which has been increasing recently

    Saint-Gobain2016-08-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lean, culturally "old""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time

    Pros

    Respectable management and colleagues, enjoyable working environment. Many peers who have stayed for long careers. Comfortable and familiar.

    Cons

    Culturally "old" - high average age of employee, low foresight into succession planning, lethargic change management, low energy feel. Very suburban. Socialization feels forced.

    Advice to Management

    Top young talent will want to work in a more dynamic environment. Despite being a global company, it doesn't feel that way. No harm in staying the course though and attracting the fat middle of candidates, it's a buyer's market right now and cheaper.

    Saint-Gobain2016-02-05
  10. "Great starting company, but slow growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job safety and good work environment

    Cons

    Job safety comes with below market pay and slow growth

    Saint-Gobain2019-05-15
Found 1156 reviews