Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Reviews | Glassdoor

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota CEO William Mann (no image)
William Mann
25 Ratings
  1. "Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cares about employees and sends updates about the course of the school

    Cons

    None, really. Pay is similar to other non-profit colleges in the area

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2018-10-01
  2. "Adjunct Faculty-Rochester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty Member in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great resources in regards to Black board support. Program Directors are accessible and helpful. The pay is comparable.

    Cons

    Low IT support during evening classes. No adjunct staff faculty recognition or Holiday celebration.

    Advice to Management

    My Spouse is an adjunct faculty member at another University in the Twin Cities and they recognize and celebrate all adjunct faculty members during the holiday season. SMU could do the same at least 1 time a year.

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2018-11-30
  3. "Kinda ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winona, MN

    I worked at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not the worst work. Got it done.

    Cons

    Could be much better organized.

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2018-10-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Important mission, toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked at Saint Mary's for several years because I believe (still do) in the mission and the Lasallian charism. For students, it is a great choice for a liberal arts, faith-based higher education. Over my years at SMU, I was privileged to meet and work with some amazing people.

    Cons

    In spite of the great mission, the environment for staff is incredibly toxic. Department leadership offers little guidance to help you be successful; they like to point out things that you are doing wrong rather than focusing on helping you improve. I have talked to several former employees from a variety of departments -- administration, advancement, alumni relations -- and all say they left for the same reasons:... they felt unsupported and were unhappy going to work. One VP was even overheard belittling her own staff to colleagues from a different department. For me, that was really the last straw. When your leaders are so toxic and insecure that they need to boost their own self-image by minimizing the efforts of their employees, it is no longer a good place to spend your days. While I love the school, the students, and the mission, I think it is important for prospective employees to know that you are facing an environment that will be challenging. Only employees with grit, fortitude, intrinsic motivation, and high self-esteem should apply.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look closer at departments with high turnover. Hold employees (and leaders) accountable. Have departments offer performance reviews of their leaders. Be as invested in the success and happiness of your employees as you are your students and alumni.

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2018-09-09
  5. "Old school environment, needs update"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Community focused - Close knit faculty and staff - Student interaction

    Cons

    - Not inclined to innovation - Internal politics halt progress - Salaries

    Advice to Management

    Hire based on skills and compatibility, not on what can be "afforded"

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2018-07-18
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well respected and there are opportunities to stretch and learn new things.

    Cons

    The university operates on a tight budget so there is also too much to do and not enough time.

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2018-06-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Women be warned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota full-time

    Pros

    Older buildings and campus are pretty.

    Cons

    Its a sausage party there. If you are a middle aged dude you should do ok. If you are a woman, keep a back up plan handy because your days are limited.

    Advice to Management

    Hire for skill and education not gender. And fyi, we know you paid us less too.

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2018-07-21
  8. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota part-time

    Pros

    Great Hours, friendly people, great work enviornment

    Cons

    Amount of shifts are variable,

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2018-03-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota full-time

    Pros

    The people are great. Saint Mary's has seen success in the midst of a capital campaign

    Cons

    Organizationally, Saint Mary's could use a bit of structure. While Fundraising success has been seen, the process could use a bit more cohesion.

    Advice to Management

    Give "victories" to your employees. We are often thanked for our work, but not regularly praised for individual successes.

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2018-03-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota full-time

    Pros

    Tuition for family members is free.

    Cons

    Working short staffed, negative and unhealthy work culture.

    Advice to Management

    Turnover is costly. Treat staff and faculty positivity for a greater retention percentage and commitment.

    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota2017-12-27
Found 39 reviews