Saint Paul Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Saint Paul Public Schools Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Saint Paul Public Schools CEO Dr. Joe Gothard
Dr. Joe Gothard
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Special education programming and counseling isn't what it needs to be yet(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They really try to deal with racial equity and to work towards closing the achievement gap

    Cons

    Special education caseload sizes are ridiculous. It's but possible to do a good job with the caseload sizes we have

    Saint Paul Public Schools2019-05-18
  2. "Great benefits, but little respect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Highest salary of districts in the Twin Cities area.

    Cons

    After having worked there for many years, and gotten towards the top of the pay scale, they will give you the toughest kids and make you do very hard things to make it hard for you to want to stay. This way, they can hire younger teachers for half the price.

    Continue reading
    Saint Paul Public Schools2019-10-14
  3. "Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Science Teacher 

    I have been working at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Diverse students, tests your management skills

    Cons

    Admin are numbers driven, not very supportive

    Saint Paul Public Schools2019-04-29
  4. "Love what I do!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occupational Therapist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Love my boss. She’s fair and fights for her staff.

    Cons

    Contract negotiations every 2 years

    Saint Paul Public Schools2019-04-11
  5. "Good Pay, Loousy Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tradesman 

    I have been working at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good

    Cons

    The management style? M-I-C, K-E-Y.... you get the p[icture.

    Continue reading
    Saint Paul Public Schools2019-03-27
  6. "Downhill slide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Pension and benefits are good

    Cons

    Management is awful and the unions are difficult to deal with. For being such a "progressive" school district, they're not very progressive and terrified of change.

    Saint Paul Public Schools2018-11-28
  7. "It was an very good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - High School Math Teacher in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent facility with good classroom space.

    Cons

    The school administrators were challenging to work with.

    Continue reading
    Saint Paul Public Schools2018-07-21
  8. "Teacher Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Higher pay than other districts

    Cons

    Lack of communication Teacher Assistant don’t get enough support

    Saint Paul Public Schools2018-05-11
  9. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High pay for K-12 education and the teachers at my building were all close knit and wonderfully supportive. It can be really rewarding to see kids have a breakthrough and achieve goals.

    Cons

    The tenure process is a matter of luck. It depends on if you get someone who understands your content area or not. Working with the students can be very draining. It’s not their fault but some of them know nothing other than manipulation and resistance towards authority.

    Continue reading
    Saint Paul Public Schools2018-05-08
  10. "Good Salary, Rough Schools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint Paul Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Salary and Benefits were very competitive.

    Cons

    Large class sizes and not enough support

    Saint Paul Public Schools2018-03-12
Found 53 reviews