Saint Thomas Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Saint Thomas Health Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 135 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Saint Thomas Health CEO Tim Adams
Tim Adams
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "hospital, good co workers, decent pay, good benefits(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unattainable productivity targets that put patient care at risk(in 5 reviews)

  • "Unsafe patient ratios (5-6 patients to 1 nurse is typical) - Hospital cares more about patient satisfaction than nurse safety(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Thomas Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    learning opportunities, benefits, programs, culture

    Cons

    short staff, always busy busy

    Saint Thomas Health2018-11-18
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Nurse Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Thomas Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Faith-based organization. STMP specifically is willing to work with employees to meet their needs and address concerns.

    Cons

    Increasing holiday work, but have plenty of prns to cover as well. NPs are sometimes shown less respect than MDs by upper mgt.

    Saint Thomas Health2019-07-25
  3. "Great hospital with awesome ER managers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Thomas Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    OT is always available, managers are great and easy to talk to. They back their nurses and ER techs

    Cons

    Busy ER... fast turn over and sometimes short staffed

    Saint Thomas Health2019-09-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great working environment and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Thomas Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging work. I work with and for the most part have met wonderful people. All are very dedicated to their positions and are good at it. Busy but pleasant work environment.

    Cons

    Not enough (nor time for) good communication between groups or individuals dealing with the same issues. Too often it appears the left hand does not know what the right is doing.

    Advice to Management

    Consult those who actually do the work before laying down the protocol for how you want it done.

    Saint Thomas Health2019-08-07
  5. "A good place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Radiology Technologist 

    I worked at Saint Thomas Health full-time

    Pros

    Being a part of a nonprofit helps with student loans.

    Cons

    We are one of the smaller hospitals they bought the perks mentioned by others must be at the larger hospitals.

    Saint Thomas Health2019-08-07
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist 

    I worked at Saint Thomas Health full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive management, great coworkers

    Cons

    Can be very busy and understaffed

    Saint Thomas Health2019-07-28
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Histologist in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saint Thomas Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and gain experience

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be more involved in training their employees

    Saint Thomas Health2019-07-11
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint Thomas Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love my job! Atmosphere is friendly, everyone pitches in and we get the job done.

    Cons

    Pay and time off not the best

    Advice to Management

    Purchase new uniforms for employees. Have more free dress days.

    Saint Thomas Health2019-07-06
  9. "Love the environment but overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - MICU Nurse Practitioner in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Saint Thomas Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -supportive encouraging environment -great doctors to work with -excellent world class care

    Cons

    -difficult staffing ratios -poor management -salaries less than surrounding facilities

    Saint Thomas Health2019-07-01
  10. "All heart..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RMA, Arrhythmia Tech in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Saint Thomas Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    True camaraderie - a team effort to do the absolute best for the patients cared for. Hard work (It's healthcare, right?), but good pay and regular raises with opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    You'll miss them when you move on!

    Advice to Management

    Remember why you signed on - idealism belongs here

    Saint Thomas Health2019-06-26
Found 135 reviews