Saks Fifth Avenue "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Saks Fifth Avenue Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
33%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Saks Fifth Avenue CEO Helena Foulkes (no image)
Helena Foulkes
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They have been instructed by upper management to hire only younger employees(in 55 reviews)

  • "Long hours on your feet and if its not busy season you better grind(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to Work as a Manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Selling Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Saks Fifth Avenue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    bonuses, training, summits

    Cons

    hours, upper management, crazy goals

    Continue reading
    Saks Fifth Avenue2015-05-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saks Fifth Avenue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no good reasons to work here

    Cons

    No engagement. Management is never seen, upper management doesn't care. Store Manager leaves for hours and is never on sales floor

    Continue reading
    Saks Fifth Avenue2019-12-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Saks can be a good employer if you are young- 20S -30S"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Saks Fifth Avenue full-time

    Pros

    Can be a retail lucrative job

    Cons

    They have been instructed by upper management to hire only younger employees

    Saks Fifth Avenue2019-11-14
  4. "Weird Summer Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Merchandising Intern in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saks Fifth Avenue for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool location, get to work on internship project with other interns, beautiful office

    Cons

    Workplace culture is very pretentious, women would be crying in the bathroom on a daily basis when I was there. No one says hi to each other in the hallway and there is very little sense of team work or collaboration. It was a very high stress environment for jobs that didn't require a lot of pressure. Very little direction or guidance from my supervisor who was gone for most of my internship, anyways. We would have weekly round-tables with other employees in different departments who didn't seem enthusiastic about their work or like they wanted to be there, and the interns were very aware of the lack of enthusiasm for the overall work people were doing. We also spent most of the summer working on internship projects to present to upper management, but on the day of the presentation the only people who showed up were other interns and a few supervisors. Interns were not appreciated and valued here. At the end of the internship, we all went through "assessment day" to try for a full-time position. HR refused to disclose what a full-time salary might look like or how many interns they were hoping to take for full-time positions. I heard from a friend who participated in the internship in past years that of the 70 interns, only 1 was hired for a full-time position. You also didn't know what banner you were going to be placed into (Off Fifth, Saks, LT when it was still owned by Hudson's Bay) until after you received an offer. In addition, offers for December graduates are not released until November and Spring grads can expect their offer around March. Most other retail companies will give offers before the interns go back to school. Tough to feel like upper management couldn't be open with the interns and definitely left a bad taste in everyone's mouth. Finally, I'll mention pay is 15/hr, so if you can't afford to live in NYC, think about this before hand!

    Continue reading
    Saks Fifth Avenue2019-10-01
  5. "overall positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Planning Intern 

    I worked at Saks Fifth Avenue

    Pros

    organized program, exposure to other company areas, nice people

    Cons

    did not do a lot of substantial work, boring at times, some problems with upper management

    Saks Fifth Avenue2019-08-26
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Stay away if you value yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saks Fifth Avenue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount was nice but that is always changing

    Cons

    Long hours, terrible pay with no raises ever no exceptions (that’s a rule), cattiness between employees, dated technology that barely works, upper management does not care about you... in fact no one cares about you, they want you to do a lot of work for no compensation, terrible work schedule including weekends and holidays, managers are rude and stupid

    Continue reading
    Saks Fifth Avenue2019-09-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Toxin environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL

    I have been working at Saks Fifth Avenue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great discount, coworkers, and 1 hr lunch breaks

    Cons

    Toxic environment, upper management cares more about the customer and making a sale then your actual mental health and well being.

    Continue reading
    Saks Fifth Avenue2019-04-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Wake up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saks Fifth Avenue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount, co workers, location

    Cons

    Upper Management is an absolute joke. They are all puppets to the general manager. The general manager's attitude and entitlement is really horrific, she has no sense of class or social skills. They do not support any growth or promotion in the company and don't believe in work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Saks Fifth Avenue2019-04-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Do Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Saks Fifth Avenue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO and causal environment

    Cons

    Upper Management does not value employees

    Saks Fifth Avenue2019-01-28
  10. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Saks Fifth Avenue part-time

    Pros

    learning from upper management & store buyers, discounts on merchadise

    Cons

    upper management is tough and unfriendly- within your own department can vary

    Continue reading
    Saks Fifth Avenue2018-12-09
Viewing 1 - 10 of 55 Reviews