Salem Media Group Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Salem Media Group CEO and Director Edward G. Atsinger III
Edward G. Atsinger III
231 Ratings
Pros
  • "Being a Christian and a Conservative is not something that needs to be hidden in this media company(in 37 reviews)

  • "Exceptional work environment with people who truly care about their co-workers(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "He said that I should not expect to be paid what my skills are worth in the Christian media space(in 27 reviews)

  • "Low pay, practice of giving unfair preferential treatment for some employees(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Team & Values, But Fast-Paced Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Great team, workdays go by very quickly, flexibility if family issues or personal events come up, excellent upper management team, feeling of value in the company

    Cons

    Fast paced industry so an easy day can turn stressful quickly, not much room for advancement due to size of business

    Salem Media Group2020-04-19
  2. "Great Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Lead in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've just hit my 90 days here at Salem and I have thoroughly enjoyed working here thus far. Despite the Corona Virus and the impact it has had and the fact that I just started in January it has been quite a ride.. But the people here are great and I have learned a lot and trust that I have been an asset as well.

    Cons

    I would say the only con I have really noticed is they don't pay quite as well as some other places for the same positions.

    Salem Media Group2020-04-27
  3. "Media Strategist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Strategist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super supportive leadership. Peers are team-oriented. Fun incentives.

    Cons

    So many changes. Even seasoned people are learning the new course, but even in the chaos, people truly try to find answers.

    Continue reading
    Salem Media Group2020-04-11
  4. "N/A"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AP Specialist in Camarillo, CA

    I have been working at Salem Media Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great community, from lowest level to executives. I enjoyed working at Salem HQ. Great culture.

    Cons

    Honestly, I can't think of any!

    Salem Media Group2020-04-03
  5. "I LOVE my job."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Audience Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been blessed with three promotions within Salem Media Group-Dallas. Motivation and encouragement exudes in the office environment. I can't image working anywhere else.

    Cons

    Sometimes, work life carries over into home life. Time management and organization is KEY.

    Continue reading
    Salem Media Group2020-03-25
  6. "Great Company that Could be Better"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    They have a great mission. Many of their managers and employee are terrific people that are friendly and helpful. I am personally a big fan of their content and was a listener and consumer of their content before I became an employee.

    Cons

    There does not appear to be opportunities for promotion and advancement. I got the sense that raises don't come easily, and one can quickly get stagnant, and get stuck in the same position for a long time with no opportunities to be promoted. I did not see a lot of opportunities for professional development as they offer in some companies. The company needs to establish a more formal onboarding process across all departments so that employees are adequately assimilated and given the tools and equipping needed to be successful from day one. The mentoring of employees needs to be more structured and formalized. Those with supervisorial responsibility should be trained on how to be good mentors to those they supervise. I also noticed that Salem sometimes shows a lack of discernment on the Christian Teaching and Talk side when it sells airtime to preachers who are not always doctrinally sound. While I understand that pragmatism comes with the territory when you are a for-profit business, they must realize that their lack of discernment might end up hurting them with their core evangelical audience. They might lose listeners who will turn to podcasts of doctrinally sound preachers. Salem is also late to the digital advertising game, and they are way behind when it comes to offering podcast content. They have Townhall Review and the Christian Outlook, but that is only two podcasts! Other companies have many more. Salem needs more podcast content or it will be left in the dust.

    Continue reading
    Salem Media Group2020-03-18
  7. "Good company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Program Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff was great to work with in my market and company as a whole had a really good 401k and matching savings plan

    Cons

    Regular pay ok but not the best.

    Salem Media Group2020-03-08
  8. "Best Team and Company Ever"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive management that will lead you to success if you work hard for it

    Cons

    First year growing client list extremely difficult

    Continue reading
    Salem Media Group2020-02-11
  9. "Smooth interview process; very organized on-boarding."

    5.0
    Current Employee - Media Strategist in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really nice team; everyone is extremely helpful.

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Salem Media Group2020-02-10
  10. "Great interviewing and onboarding!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales in Maitland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonder interview process, great team dynamic with high moral and clear / easy on boarding process.

    Cons

    Lot's of new processes to learn but that is excepted at any new job.

    Salem Media Group2020-02-04
Found 442 reviews