Salem Media Group Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Salem Media Group CEO and Director Edward G. Atsinger III
Edward G. Atsinger III
262 Ratings
Pros
  • "Being a Christian and a Conservative is not something that needs to be hidden in this media company(in 38 reviews)

  • "Support teams from every department makes for a smooth transition into a new work environment(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "He said that I should not expect to be paid what my skills are worth in the Christian media space(in 27 reviews)

  • "Low pay, practice of giving unfair preferential treatment for some employees(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Positive Experience

      Apr 13, 2021 - Digital Media Strategist in Eagan, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was able to accelerate the interviewing process since I was advanced in the process with another company. Open conversation about the details of the position, culture and economic benefits. Have met great people with a lot of experience - high caliber talent here. Most have been here for many years.

      Cons

      None that I'm aware of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome place to work with incredible leadership!

      Dec 10, 2020 - Media Strategist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most employees have a team mentality. Leadership is very encouraging, motivating, and supportive. The work is challenging and rewarding. There is a fair amount of acknowledgement and bonuses for a job well done. Employees have a good amount of freedom to accomplish the task for which they are responsible - allowing room for individuals to achieve goals in a way that works best for them. Supposedly, there is a stellar training program, though due to being hired just prior to Covid, I did not have the opportunity to experience the program. However, there is a multitude of training videos that are helpful and informative. Overall, Salem Media is a great place for a "team" player.

      Cons

      The company is in the process of moving to a more technological mindset. The adjustment and changes sometimes create friction - change is good and necessary for growth. However, change can create additional challenges to an already challenging job. There are many changes happening for the better and once everything is settled, this "con" will rectify itself. The company stopped allowing expense reports - no longer reimbursing for mileage, business expenses (clients do not understand that a "lunch meeting" falls on the sales rep), and cell phone reimbursement was no longer allowed - due to Covid.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Support from Management

      May 6, 2021 - Media Strategist in Glendale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive management, helpful resources, effective marketing tactics

      Cons

      Vacation time-only 2 weeks for seven years

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Company

      Apr 1, 2021 - Media Strategist in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are several pros here: 1. Insane earning potential 2. Supportive management 3. A consistent team 4. Lots of resources for sales 5. Strong training process 6. Everything we sell funds Christian or Conservative Media My wife and I recently went through a miscarriage. During this time my manager's support has meant the world to our family.

      Cons

      It takes 60 days to get on the company's health insurance, but I think that is normal in most places.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Interview Process

      Apr 7, 2021 - Promotions Director in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Company! Great work culture. Leadership is behind you and willing to help you succeed and grow your earning potential.

      Cons

      There are none that I can think of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Great Company To Work For!

      Jan 28, 2021 - Helpdesk Technician in Camarillo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salem Media Group is a great company to work for. The work environment is very positive and everyone, and I mean everyone, at the company is extremely friendly, helpful, and approachable. I love that my job duties vary from day to day so I am always doing something different and learning something new. I am very happy to be a part of the Salem Media Group team!

      Cons

      I honestly cannot think of any. The environment and vibe is a complete 180 from what I had grown accustomed to with previous employers in the best way possible so I am very satisfied with Salem.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Interview Process

      Mar 26, 2021 - Media Strategist in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team! Honored to work with so many accomplished and talented individuals. The interview process took 3 weeks.

      Cons

      There are no cons at Salem

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place

      Apr 22, 2021 - Business Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Holidays are generous, family values

      Cons

      Advancement is at times non exsistent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      work experience

      Apr 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      working with many very good people who are very helpful

      Cons

      no current concerns with the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Loved My Time with Salem

      Mar 8, 2021 - Traffic Reporter in Greenville, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, the atmosphere, benefits, the quality of work, the camaraderie.

      Cons

      I honestly didn't experience any cons while working there.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 493 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Salem Media Group Job Seekers

    Board Operator
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Author Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Digital Fulfillment Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Salem Media Group? Share Your Experiences

    Salem Media Group logo
    or