Salem Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Salem Media Group Reviews

Updated April 24, 2019
384 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Salem Media Group CEO and Director Edward G. Atsinger III
Edward G. Atsinger III
197 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great people and a great positive work environment" (in 33 reviews)

  • "Emphasis on a healthy work/life balance" (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Awful benefits, Low pay, Very old mindset, Everyone I know there struggled financially" (in 13 reviews)

  • "No work life balance - you should be available to be contacted all the time" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Company so far."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - After Press Representative in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - After Press Representative in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone is very friendly and open. The environment is very upbeat and happy. Coming from a Call center environment where everyone was sad or depressed this is a big change. Even when people are busy or swamped you can tell a sense of team and how people are willing to assist those who are swamped.

    Cons

    As of right now I do not have any to report. I am fairly new.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Apr 24, 2019 – Human Resources

    We are thrilled to have you as a member of the team! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we value your input.


  2. "Pretty typical work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Salem Media Group part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I worked on the technical radio side, and that's just always fun. Salem never made me feel like I wasn't valued.

    Cons

    Not much advancement in the radio side.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Apr 24, 2019 – Human Resources

    We are so happy to know you enjoy our positive culture here at Salem Media Group! We appreciate your review.

  3. "Smooth, quick, honest hiring process."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Editor in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment, respectful, fun, enjoyable co-workers who look out for one another.

    Cons

    Opportunities for growth and advancement are not super clear.

    Advice to Management

    Provide a clearer, more thorough introduction to who the company is for new employees. It's so important to have a feeling for the heartbeat of a company, and so far I'm still piecing it together.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Apr 24, 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your input! We are pleased to have you as a member of our team! We are continually working to improve our processes, and appreciate your insight which we will use going forward.


  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great opportunity
    Perks
    Benefits
    Pay

    Cons

    I had an issue with unprofessionalism

    Salem Media Group Response

    Apr 24, 2019 – Human Resources

    Salem appreciates you taking the time to share your views about our company. Our employees mean very much to us, which is why we strive to always make sure they are successful. At the same time, we... More


  5. "Great on boarding process! So happy to be here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Media Strategist in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Media Strategist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Unlike most other large corporate media companies. Everyone here contributes and the needs of employees are heard. Quick turnaround on getting me set up with all of the resources needed to do my job.

    Cons

    None to share yet as I've only been here for 4 days.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you have been doing so far!

    Salem Media Group Response

    Mar 26, 2019 – Human Resources

    Welcome to Salem! Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Glassdoor, we really appreciate your input. We are happy to have you on board!


  6. "3 months on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Board Op/Producer in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Board Op/Producer in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Salem Media Group part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice and technical position. Very flexible for my situation

    Cons

    None really, but part time pay is a bit low.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Mar 20, 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for the review! We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to know that you are happy working for Salem Media Group. Keep up the great work!


  7. "Wowed by the vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Strategist in Little Rock, AR
    Current Employee - Social Media Strategist in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    I see the vision of this station being carried out in the work place and I am so excited...

    Cons

    I wish they were here sooner than now in this market because they are doing for the right reason.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the commitment and the track record to prove it.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Mar 20, 2019 – Human Resources

    We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you feel the work we do at Salem is meaningful. Thank you again for reviewing Salem Media Group.

  8. "Micromanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I had my own office space.

    Cons

    My duties became everyone else's grunt work that they did not want to do. I noticed fairly quickly after hired that I was not doing any of the work that I was hired to do. They micromanage so much that I was scared to even show up to work.


  9. "Great Job Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in North Quincy, MA
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in North Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Love the atmosphere and the community, it's great to work with a team that are at a same mind level of enriching God's kingdom with our individual contribution to the company. Managers are great people who Love God and is reflected in the loving care for their employees. I praise God for this job!!!

    Cons

    None, praise God for this

    Advice to Management

    Continue bringing God's name on high with your dedication!

    Salem Media Group Response

    Feb 7, 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for the review! We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to know that you are happy working for Salem Media Group. Keep up the great work!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Transparency at it's Finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Efficient, explanatory, open, relaxed environment

    Cons

    There are no cons currently

    Advice to Management

    Please keep being honest and open regarding the company and position. That really sets you apart from the other companies.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you are happy working for Salem! We greatly appreciate your feedback.