Salem Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Salem Media Group Reviews

Updated August 17, 2017
304 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Salem Media Group CEO and Director Edward G. Atsinger III
Edward G. Atsinger III
161 Ratings

304 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • It's an overall positive work environment (in 27 reviews)

  • Emphasis on a healthy work/life balance (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Long hours for low pay is typical and absolute dedication is expected (in 11 reviews)

  • Pay is generally low for non-commission-based employees, especially considering the long hours necessary to meet company goals (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Henrico, VA
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Henrico, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Low stress environment, great family oriented culture, overall fun atmosphere, work is very challenging but yet rewarding and management shows appreciation for its hard workers.

    Cons

    Upward mobility very hard, promotions generally happen if someone either leaves the company or the position, can be a heavy workload with many responsibilities placed on one individual.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for your review. First off we find it amazing that you enjoy your career with Salem enough to include “Great Place to Work” in the title of your review. We strive to create an atmosphere... More


  2. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Great vision, team-oriented, values company.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Salem Media Group Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – HR Department

    Thanks for taking the time to review Salem. Thank you for all your hard work.

  3. "Account Executive/Marketing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Staff is very friendly.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive and is way lower than what the cost of living in Los Angeles reflects. You are not given a book of business and are responsibility for creating all of your own leads and developing all new business which is very challenging to do working for a Christian/Conservative organization in a liberal city like Los Angeles. The prices for assets are higher than competitors which also makes it difficult to close sales. You do not inherit any accounts so you won't see commissions until about a year or more after working here.

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't even know where to start. Be honest about the pros and cons of the positions during the interview process. Give new AE's accounts to allow them to have a shot at making commissions.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for your review of Salem Media Group. We understand that building a book of business in sales can be challenging. We have shared your concerns with local management regarding sharing the... More


  4. "I've been employed with Salem for 3 months and love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Omaha, NE
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's a low key environment and everyone is so helpful! They appreciate you as an employee and do what they can to accommodate your needs.

    Cons

    It's a challenge in the sales side not to belong to Arbitron. Agencies use this tool a lot to place buys so we don't get a lot or any agency business. We do what we can to try to get in on the buy(s) but it's hard.

    Advice to Management

    It's not easy to get into management unless someone leaves.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank for taking the time to review Salem. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your first 3 months! As you mentioned we do appreciate you as an employee, and we encourage you to share your... More


  5. "Promotions Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good people, variety of events. Higher paying than most p/t promotions positions.

    Cons

    Not enough hours/ only part time. The devout conservative and Christian content is not for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Work on ways to ensure employees are treated respectfully by event attendees.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for your review. We always strive to make sure our employees are compensated fairly for their work and we are happy to hear that that is true in your situation. While this position may... More


  6. "account exec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Greenville, SC
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Stations in the market offers an excellent opportunity

    Cons

    The Answer needs a more local feel

    Advice to Management

    I have a highly recommended manager, from some people who I have worked for many years.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for taking the time to review Salem Media Group. It is great to hear that you and your fellow employees are happy with management and hope that you continue to find your employment at... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Salem = Excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, good, consistent message, solid company support for employees. This is my second time working for Salem and I shouldn't have left.

    Cons

    No glaring problems.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for your review. We truly believe our greatest assets are our employees and we are happy to have you back! Keep up the great work.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "My dream job and place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people who work here are amazing! The positive environment, the down to earth attitude, the fun characters, the heart of the place is beaming!

    Cons

    So far no cons, keep doing what you guys are doing!

    Advice to Management

    No advice to give.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for taking the time to review Salem. We appreciate the kind words and love that you have found your dream job with us! Keep up the great work.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Salem Media Group is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Salem is the best place I have worked. There are many opportunities to advance your career. The office atmosphere is great - all of the employees are very close and willing to lend a hand when needed.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear that Salem is the best place you have worked! Keep up the good work.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Salem Philly is awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work! Staff is like family in Philadelphia. Most employees have been here over 15 years which says it all! A company with a purpose!
    The company is always looking for new media products and fresh ideas.

    Cons

    Many deadlines...can be stressful but that is the nature of the media business.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Great team!
    Building for the future.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jun 27, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for taking the time to review Salem. Happy to hear that you believe we are a great place to work. We think so too! Keep up the good work.


Showing 304 of 311 reviews
Reset Filters