Salem Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Salem Media Group Reviews

Updated February 6, 2019
376 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Salem Media Group CEO and Director Edward G. Atsinger III
Edward G. Atsinger III
195 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great people and a great positive work environment" (in 33 reviews)

  • "Emphasis on a healthy work/life balance" (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Awful benefits, Low pay, Very old mindset, Everyone I know there struggled financially" (in 13 reviews)

  • "No work life balance - you should be available to be contacted all the time" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Job Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in North Quincy, MA
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in North Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Love the atmosphere and the community, it's great to work with a team that are at a same mind level of enriching God's kingdom with our individual contribution to the company. Managers are great people who Love God and is reflected in the loving care for their employees. I praise God for this job!!!

    Cons

    None, praise God for this

    Advice to Management

    Continue bringing God's name on high with your dedication!

    Salem Media Group Response

    Feb 7, 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for the review! We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to know that you are happy working for Salem Media Group. Keep up the great work!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Transparency at it's Finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Efficient, explanatory, open, relaxed environment

    Cons

    There are no cons currently

    Advice to Management

    Please keep being honest and open regarding the company and position. That really sets you apart from the other companies.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you are happy working for Salem! We greatly appreciate your feedback.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Positive work environment where people feel valued and appreciated. Great people at all levels of the company . Excellent leadership.

    Cons

    I can't think of a single one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the Positive working culture.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Human Resources

    We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you feel the appreciation we have for all of our employees! Thank you again for reviewing Salem Media Group.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Environment - Cube Land - Decent Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Henrico, VA
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Henrico, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They take you to lunch and spoil you as an employee with snacks. They do a good job at training you to do your position and are reasonable with expectations.

    Cons

    Don't go expecting a "ministry" atmosphere, you will be disappointed. It is more about money than faith...which it is a business but go in with the right expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate Expectations Better

    Salem Media Group Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience with Salem Media Group. We wish you all the best.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Ostracized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Integrated Account Executive in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Integrated Account Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    If you share their "mission statement" and are a champion for the cause, maybe an ok place to work.

    Cons

    Depending on where you live, a large percentage of businesses do not want to align their brand with Salem so sales can be tough.

    Advice to Management

    That would be pointless.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time review Salem Media Group. While Salem’s content may be Christian, family themed and conservative, we are a publicly traded, for-profit company that has a fiscal... More


  6. "Media Strategist (Account Executive-Sales)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eagan, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    The Stations represented are a positive voice for the Minneapolis St. Paul area.

    Cons

    Income, - you may have a small book of business but there will be account turnover almost as fast as you close, Management tactics create a toxic environment in the sales department, causing a high turnover - 8 sales turnovers in 24 months in a sales team of 4.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from your history of sales turnover, change your toxic style of management. See if you can keep sales people longer then 6-12 months by treating them as an important part of your organization, take some management classes and practice the faith that you hold.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to discuss your concerns. Our goal is to try to provide our employees with work that suites them and utilizes them to their full potential. If you are interested in... More


  7. "What happens in Miami stays in Miami"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working in Media. Most are really cool people that just want to get into the industry. Tickets to events.

    Cons

    Executive Producer in Miami... Mike would bring his girlfriends in to show how important he is. If any of us did that we would be fired. Pay is def not enough to survive.

    Advice to Management

    Come to Miami once in a while since we are a Christian Broadcast Station and see how Christian our EP is.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to review Salem Media Group and for your feedback regarding the work place environment. We are aware of reviews that address issues with compensation but we as a... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    I love the environment, its more like a family than colleagues. I'm from Michigan so I don't have immediate family here, they took care of that!

    Cons

    None! Everything is awesome thus far

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work with the way you're running Salem!

    Salem Media Group Response

    Nov 9, 2018 – HR Department

    Welcome to the family! Your words of praise mean so much to us, so thank you for sharing!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Work With Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service and Ecommerce Manager in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Customer Service and Ecommerce Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A faith-based team of people working to fulfill God's purposes through work excellence, relationships, inspiration and compassion.

    Cons

    Small staff requires wearing multiple hats, but it allows personal growth and purpose so it's not really a CON.

    Advice to Management

    Management sets the tone and example for staff, so I'm thrilled to see that lived out every day in our organization

    Salem Media Group Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – HR Department

    Here at Salem, we strive to always set a positive tone and example for our staff, so it’s wonderful to hear we are hitting that goal. We do want to say that while our content may be Christian... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "New to Salem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    The positive culture is truly lived daily.

    Cons

    I Cannot think of any.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Nov 9, 2018 – HR Department

    We are so happy to know you enjoy our positive culture here at Salem Media Group! Thank you so much for sharing your kind comments on Glassdoor!