Salem Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Salem Media Group Reviews

Updated August 14, 2017
151 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Salem Media Group CEO and Director Edward G. Atsinger III
Edward G. Atsinger III
105 Ratings

151 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • It's an overall positive work environment (in 27 reviews)

  • Emphasis on a healthy work/life balance (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Long hours for low pay is typical and absolute dedication is expected (in 11 reviews)

  • Pay is generally low for non-commission-based employees, especially considering the long hours necessary to meet company goals (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Henrico, VA
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Henrico, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Low stress environment, great family oriented culture, overall fun atmosphere, work is very challenging but yet rewarding and management shows appreciation for its hard workers.

    Cons

    Upward mobility very hard, promotions generally happen if someone either leaves the company or the position, can be a heavy workload with many responsibilities placed on one individual.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for your review. First off we find it amazing that you enjoy your career with Salem enough to include “Great Place to Work” in the title of your review. We strive to create an atmosphere... More


  2. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Great vision, team-oriented, values company.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Salem Media Group Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – HR Department

    Thanks for taking the time to review Salem. Thank you for all your hard work.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Salem = Excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, good, consistent message, solid company support for employees. This is my second time working for Salem and I shouldn't have left.

    Cons

    No glaring problems.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for your review. We truly believe our greatest assets are our employees and we are happy to have you back! Keep up the great work.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "My dream job and place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people who work here are amazing! The positive environment, the down to earth attitude, the fun characters, the heart of the place is beaming!

    Cons

    So far no cons, keep doing what you guys are doing!

    Advice to Management

    No advice to give.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for taking the time to review Salem. We appreciate the kind words and love that you have found your dream job with us! Keep up the great work.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Salem Media Group is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Salem is the best place I have worked. There are many opportunities to advance your career. The office atmosphere is great - all of the employees are very close and willing to lend a hand when needed.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear that Salem is the best place you have worked! Keep up the good work.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Salem Philly is awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work! Staff is like family in Philadelphia. Most employees have been here over 15 years which says it all! A company with a purpose!
    The company is always looking for new media products and fresh ideas.

    Cons

    Many deadlines...can be stressful but that is the nature of the media business.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Great team!
    Building for the future.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jun 27, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for taking the time to review Salem. Happy to hear that you believe we are a great place to work. We think so too! Keep up the good work.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Producer Relations Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Culture is amazing; family-first company; Emphasis on life/work balance and community; Company strives to keep employees happy and healthy through programs and company events; You feel support from management and teams

    Cons

    Opportunities for improvement would be pay and less of a burden on employees' paychecks for health benefits

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jul 3, 2017 – HR Department

    Thank you for your review. Our most valuable assets are our employees and we work hard to emphasize that through our company culture. We appreciate your input. Keep up the good work!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "The Greatest Company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly environment, great co-workers, peaceful place to work. I'm more than happy working here. We take care of each other, it feels like we are a big family.

    Cons

    As I don't have any cons to say, this will be a pro. One of the best thing about Salem Media Group is that you are always learning something new.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! We are happy to have you as part of the family and hope you continue to learn and grow with us.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Salem Media Group Boston is a wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Salem puts God first, your family second and the work you do for them third. It is a family environment. They sincerely care about you.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons at Salem media Boston.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep doing what you are doing!

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – HR Director

    Thank you for your review… However to clarify, Salem puts its employees, and the work they do first, regardless of their beliefs. Thank you for your personal opinion!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Board Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Board Operator in Greenville, SC
    Current Employee - Board Operator in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salem Media Group part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Incredible team to work with. Everyone is helpful when I have questions.

    Cons

    I haven't experienced any negative situations. I would like to see more opportunities in the company.

    Advice to Management

    I would enjoy having an online newsletter for our local team.

    Salem Media Group Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – HR Director

    Thank you for your review of Salem! We do have many opportunities available within the company and post all open positions... Please check our job boards regularly and let us know if there is an... More


Showing 151 of 311 reviews
Reset Filters