Salesforce Senior Member of Technical Staff Reviews | Glassdoor

Salesforce Senior Member of Technical Staff Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Truly unique"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture and founding principles are inspiring. The idea of 'Ohana' makes you feel like you are part of a global community and not just another faceless corporation. Work-life balance is maintained.

    Cons

    Can be overwhelming at first, but there are tools available to walk you through the process.

    Salesforce2018-10-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    FTO Great Parental leave Understanding low level management

    Cons

    Lack of vision to push through large infra projects at the senior management level

    Advice to Management

    Hire better executives for your infrastructure

    Salesforce2019-04-20
  3. Helpful (6)

    "YMMV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits in tech Access to all Salesforce buildings

    Cons

    I know a lot of ppl who are very happy, but I can only speak about my team and that there are teams at salesforce that are very bad culture and don't value or follow a lot of guidelines that Salesforce has in place. Also overall, Salesforce has a lot of internal politics.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure management have proper training, people brought from other companies can bring their toxic culture with them too.

    Salesforce2019-02-05

    Salesforce Response

    February 12, 2019President and Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. As you know, we're a company committed to having a great culture. Some of the experiences you've described are contrary to that effort. If you haven't already, could you please reach out to your ESBP for a confidential conversation? If you'd rather, you ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Left for a faster learning environment and more robust engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Palo Alto, CA

    I worked at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Tends to move slow in order to get things shipped. Top-level management and sales oriented culture, does not optimize for engineering.

    Salesforce2019-01-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, a little corporate for my tastes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of trust, fantastic social impact on the world, change is slow (in a good way).

    Cons

    Lots of verification of trust. Non–competitive pay.

    Salesforce2018-04-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It's a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time

    Pros

    We cherish work life balance a lot, and company culture is great

    Cons

    No lunch provided? maybe that's the only thing i could think of, but we are helping the community. :)

    Salesforce2018-03-13
  7. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of learning opportunity - Excellent pay and benefits - Give back and the Ohana culture - Customer first

    Cons

    - Fast pace and can be stressful to keep up - Not many other cons that doesn't also exist in other companies I've worked for

    Salesforce2017-05-02

    Salesforce Response

    May 5, 2017EVP, Global Employee Success

    Thanks for your review. We really appreciate the positive feedback! Making sure our employees are always learning — whether that's on Trailhead, at the office, or taking a course — is very important to us. I hope you continue to take those opportunities as they come and have a long ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "All is good till Benioff is around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance Great culture Competitive compensation Great vision and top leadership

    Cons

    Dearth of good middle managers Your experience at Salesforce may depend on the team you work. With acquisitions comes new teams that may take time to adopt the Salesforce culture.

    Advice to Management

    Attrition being Lowe doesn't mean it always going to be that way.

    Salesforce2017-05-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A good place but not perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    paid volunteer time off, good benefits, company does good in the world and community

    Cons

    not a lot of transparency, CEO brings politics into the workplace.

    Advice to Management

    be a bit more transparent and don't have as many cliques in various management roles, also please try to stay out of politics. there are many trump supporters who work at salesforce but we know it is not a safe space for us.

    Salesforce2017-03-27
  10. "Great company with right values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -CEO Marc Benioff and his thought leadership -Company values -Work-life balance -Company's growth

    Cons

    -Some engineers who are at and above principal/architect levels have antiquated skill sets and (strongly) tend to stick to the old ways of doing things, which can clog the fresh ideas. When a word comes from the people with these job titles, it can carry more weight, and sway the product decisions toward old ways keeping the company from trying out new things

    Advice to Management

    Give the top level engineers a beat on the head and tell to be more open minded and let the fresh minds try out new things

    Salesforce2017-02-07
Found 75 reviews