Salesforce Employee Reviews about "no cons"

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great benefits (free food/drink kitchen big plus)(in 468 reviews)

  • "Great Culture and Diverse Workforce(in 435 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Typical big company problems, can be sometimes lost in the shuffle of things(in 131 reviews)

  • "Fast Paced, High Expectations etc(in 127 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Salesforce and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "no cons"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Best place to be during the pandemic

      Dec 11, 2020 - Partner Sales in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Huge focus on work/life balance, flexible working hours, good pay, solid company, lots of room for growth and opportunity

      Cons

      Lots of pressure to perform

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to learn and grow.

      May 11, 2021 - Technical Architect in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and learn.

      Cons

      Lots of politics that come with large companies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Still a lot of opportunity to learn, connect, and chart your own course, but Big Company culture is encroaching.

      Jul 9, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've spent over 8 years with Salesforce in various management and individual contributor roles, all customer or partner facing. Some of the pros: - vibrant, fast paced culture - smart, fun, aggressive colleagues - management is focused on latest tech trends and staying or becoming a leader for many of them - by and large, customers and partners are very positive about the technology - good benefits and perqs - hip urban culture at HQ - a chart-your-own-course mentality that rewards those who aggressively seek out the job they want and pursue it, or sometimes even create it

      Cons

      After my long tenure and many Dreamforce conferences, I'm nearly fried. To say the culture is fast paced and the focus is always changing is an understatement. The reason Salesforce always seems on top, and chasing the latest trend, and in the press, is because employees are expected to run harder, carry more, cheer loudly, and pivot constantly. It's the world's biggest startup in behavior. But at the same time, with the recent influx of top career sales leaders from Oracle and what appears to be a board-level mandate for doubling revenue, employees are being asked to do even more with even less, fill higher quotas with smaller territories, less help, and the big company bureaucracy is rearing it's ugly head. Worse still is the politics. When you hire a bunch of smart, aggressive people, and put them in an environment of outsized expectations, throw in a bunch of re-orgs and changing management, and sprinkle with uncertainty and constantly changing priorities, you inevitably get people back stabbing each other and throwing others under the bus to appear smarter and more worthy of promotion. The few at the top will get very, very rich. The rest will lose the sense of personal ownership and start to wonder why they've given up health and family

      Continue reading
      515 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      What a disappointment...

      Nov 30, 2020 - Account Executive- Core Team in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Benefits are top notch - Perks in the tower and holiday party are impressive - Sales tactics and strategies are great for growth even as an experienced rep - You’ll meet very talented sales rep with a wide variance of styles -ESPP - generous maternity/paternity leave. Although this will affect your likelihood of be promoted

      Cons

      I came into Salesforce like every rep, excited and eager to get my “MBA” in sales. Working here you’ll have to be prepared to give up everything just to stay afloat. In the first year you will most likely be given a terrible territory and what you do with it will decide your future here. Things you will need to juggle effortlessly or will lead you down the road of being let go are: - Activity- lots of calls. People who fib numbers here are celebrated by leadership but frowned upon by reps - Opp rigor- the amount of fields you will need to update are mind numbing - Pipeline- with a terrible territory be prepared to pipe aspirational pipeline that will be highly scrutinized - Prep meetings- there are endless prep meetings before calls. Due to schedules each person involved will require a prep meeting, leaving your day with little time for anything else. - Team selling- be prepared to sell with folks much junior than you and not held to as high of standards. If the deal falls through, it’s on you. There are a few coprimes that are skilled sales reps - Your “brand”- It’s important to maintain appearances, even on bad days. Your brand is determined by how involved you are in diversity, volunteer work, and leading the team, which requires tenure. -Manager 1:1’s- these are a trap to look out for. Salesforce preaches trust as one of it pillars, but beware that everything said in those meetings will be used against you when they have soured on you - Time management- working a 12 hr day is table stakes. There are endless distractions you will need to navigate and make hard decisions on “brand”/ appearance maintenance vs selling The work/life balance is very heavy on the work side. The exec team repeatedly say their biggest regrets are not spending enough time with family. This will never change if they don’t take it serious. There is a lot you can learn here but at the expense of your self confidence as some managers make you feel worthless when your awful territory isn’t performing. If that isn’t enough to make you steer clear, the pay is very low and less than 20% of reps hit their annual numbers The “Ohana” culture is a mirage. There is nothing remotely familial about the culture. It is an ultra competitive pressure cooker. I just had such higher hopes for my experience left disappointed...

      Continue reading
      156 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Disorganized and bad management

      May 10, 2021 - Solution Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Name recognition and smart coworkers

      Cons

      Bad, bad manager. Her methods of management all seemed to revolve around poor performers and she could never cross that bridge and learn how to handle high-performing employees. Moving goal posts was far too common. She was THE worst manager out of my entire career and I’m almost 50. As a teenager I worked with inexperienced retail store managers who acted with more professionalism and human empathy than she showed. I was too “accommodating” to my team and never thought “strategically” enough. I think telling her that our team needed cross-trained and that I needed backup was very strategic. The red flags I can think of to potential employees - all in my experiences: underpaid comparatively to industry and expected breadth of knowledge, no stock offerings whatsoever at any time (except for when I turned in my resignation as part of a botched counter offer that only materialized two weeks after I quit 🙄), and no where to go where I felt safe to discuss my concerns in confidentiality without fear of retribution. To current employees in similar situations: I’m sorry and you are not alone. You can and will find better and start to feel better too, I did.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hard work, but amazing!

      Oct 21, 2016 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The 1-1-1 Model here (google it) and a tangible benefit that results of it is 7 full days of VTO (volunteer time off) to be used responsibly at your discretion. Matching gifts to a non-profit of your choice. - Benefits here overall are incredible - ESPP is attractive - Time off is generous - comp package works in your favor- i.e. hard work does in fact = revenue. - equipment is all up-to-date and excellent (iPhone as work phone, and MacBook as laptop) - Training that consists of bootcamp in San Francisco, and further training at a local hub. Ongoing trailheads and updates also keep you on your toes. - Fast-paced environment - Great culture - Talented professionals - Collaborative environment across different segments - Brand recognition - Smooth employee processes in the background (payroll, time logged, benefit tracking, incentive tracking, employee profile, etc). - Continuous acquisitions of companies continues to strengthen our products and offerings. - Snacks, events, and happy hours - Flexibility and autonomy given to consult with your clients - Networking opportunities here are endless

      Cons

      - You can feel "left-behind" here at times, so it's crucial to stay organized to keep up with the pace, especially early on. - Work-life balance (self-induced): it's easy to become attached to your work and your accounts, and it trickle over into your personal life after hours, or on weekends. - Difficult quota to hit, but that's for a reason. if this were easy I suppose they would let anyone in. Can't think of anything else. It's hard to find things wrong with Salesforce, in fact this section took me a lot longer to provide the bullet points above then the pros section.

      Continue reading
      166 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Gaslighting

      Apr 8, 2021 - Director of Infrastructure in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with some really cool people, some really smart people.

      Cons

      This is a severely toxic organization - reorgs and a lot of political fighting, posturing and sabotage between the VPs as they try really hard to get noticed by the EVPs. What's worse is that it appears that the HR folks are either powerless and so they go along or they are in on it. Several coworkers described experiences of being horribly berated by hatchet folks in HR based on "complaints" that HR would not clarify or explain. They described being pulled onto phone calls and told they have to "apologize for what you did", and when asked what they were talking about, would be told "it's impossible that you don't know what we're talking about and if you don't then it's even worse than we thought." Some have hypothesized this is how Salesforce rattles employees they, for whatever reason, decide they want to leave ( inside scoop indicates this is another maneuver by some VPs to create "opportunities" to shape an org the way they want when they get key folks to self-select out) but have no reason to push them out or worse yet, the employees were actually considered high performing by prior managers. I highly recommend anyone considering Salesforce to stay away unless it is the best you can get because its a huge company, if you get on the wrong side of just about anyone it could get really bad for you and there is nothing you can do.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Is this becoming the Wild West?

      May 4, 2021 - Web Experience Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - PEOPL E: Talents pool and International Growth Strategy always keeps things interesting and exciting - RESOURCES: The V2MOM is an amazingly useful tool, that can truly allow teams to align on leadership values and priorities, and maximize team performance. - VALUES: Community volunteering is very much encouraged

      Cons

      After multiple reOrgs, acquisitions, and quarantine: - VISION: Leadership misalignment is on the rise, as illustrated by the recent departure of many OG leaders, and increasing feedback from the battle grounds - CULTURE: Self-serving employees mobbing mentality is trending UP, due to competition and despite HR policies, and psychological safety is most definitely trending DOWN

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Mid-market RCG: Leadership is a pack of narcissistic liars, this place is like the hunger games

      May 7, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is decent, benefits are good, work/life balance is OK (not great),market leading product will continue to sell and stock price will increase despite tremendous dysfunction

      Cons

      Lying and talking out both sides of their mouths constantly, all kinds of politics, backbiting/backstabbing, meaningless busywork, have to be a public SJW and kiss lots of @$$ to get anywhere vs. do the job well. Diversity and inclusion are buzzwords, this is a company run by a bunch of greedy white men.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Salesforce truly supports and values family priorities

      Apr 27, 2021 - Senior Security Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salesforce has posted the benefits its offers employees online so I will not cover those here. What I want to share is Salesforce actually walks the walk when they say they support employees to find a work life balance especially where family is concerned. Over and over again I have been able to flex my schedule to meet family obligations. The on-going pandemic has really brought to the fore front the huge advantage of SalesForce as a company that actually support employees. Recently I needed to drop a project to be with a sick parent. Working with my manager I was able to be there with my family without thinking about work.The only feedback I received from my manager was "go be with family and there is no project that supersedes that"

      Cons

      As the company grows we are creating silos.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 8,034 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Salesforce Job Seekers

    Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Salesforce? Share Your Experiences

    or