Salesforce "salesforce" Reviews | Glassdoor

Salesforce Employee Reviews about "salesforce"

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5057 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Salesforce is really a healthy organization(in 635 reviews)

  • "Excellent company culture with an emphasis on work-life balance(in 376 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "salesforce"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Not what it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salesforce still has some of the best people in the industry especially those out in the front lines. Office environment is vibrant and the space that they have built out is among the best in the industry. Perks are very good as are the benefits.

    Cons

    At the risk of over generalizing, the sales management team above the field level is a disaster. They are far more interested in creating a false narrative and managing "up" then they are assisting those on the ground who are working with customers. The overly aggressive/non-customer focused tactics used at former employers have become the norm.

    Advice to Management

    Get back to the roots that made this company the envy of all those in the industry

    Salesforce2019-07-02
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Bursting with Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, People, Benefits,Career Potential for Growth, Team Selling environment, Salary, Commission, Unlimited PTO, New Benefit that provides up to 6 weeks PAID leave to take care of an Ill Family Member, Medical Insurance (best I have ever had in 25+ career.), telling someone you work at Salesforce and listening to them tell you what a great place it must be to work at.

    Cons

    I couldn’t think of anything worth mentioning.

    Advice to Management

    To Salesforce Management - No advice. To Management of companies other than Salesforce. Measure yourself to the Benchmark of Salesforce. Do you have similar or better benefits and values? Your Boards and Leaders need to evaluate what kind of company and culture they are responsible for & demand more. Step up Companies and see what is means to be a Compassionate Company. This is the Blueprint Company that... will help create a better world.

    Show More
    Salesforce2019-06-29

    Salesforce Response

    July 24, 2019Rachel Courtney, SVP, Employee Success

    It's great to hear that you're loving your experience at Salesforce. Thank you for your review!

  3. Helpful (113)

    "A wonderful company that is starting to not be so wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salesforce is a destination company and there are few places where you will find so many truly interesting and gifted people in one firm. There is a real effort to continue to promote the company's values, including trust and equality. Support for philanthropy is significant (although I would agree with the reviewer who noted that "volunteer" activities are often anything but voluntary but rather expected/required.... (Not to say that giving back is anything other than positive, but it's just worth noting that most company activities include it as part of the agenda.) The customers are interesting and the tech is pretty solid. The benefits are what you would expect from a firm that wants to hire top talent, in other words, extensive and high quality. The company continues to grow at quite a fast rate, and that is an imperative. The acquisitions are part of that and it's quite clear that they are necessary since there is only so much organic growth coming out of the core businesses. If you are in a "good" territory / team / department, this may in fact be a dreamjob. There are quite a lots of employees who are able to devote many hours (days) to volunteer causes, company social functions, training opportunities and so on. This is particularly the case if you are employed in one of the hub offices.

    Show More

    Cons

    The rapid growth and the pressure around quarterly metrics is starting to come at the expense of cohesion and quality. The annual reorganization of the business is quite disruptive and is particularly problematic in business areas where the sales cycles are longer, like the more heavily regulated verticals or larger enterprise environments where aligning stakeholders and building vision takes time. You can work... your &#$# off here and have all that worked handed off to someone else in a new fiscal. Happens a lot. Above the mid management/senior director level, the political environment resembles the Hunger Games. The lack of capable management and the lack of transparency around career progression / promotion are a drag on the business and a significant business risk. The departures of more tenured people should be very concerning to leadership; just look at the difference in the reviews of new (<1 year) employees and those with 5 or more years of experience. It's not a positive marker. There is a reason that the employee survey now asks about the "psychological safety" of our workplace. Leadership should be commended for recognizing that this is a problem, but now needs to actually do something to fix it. Just adding a feedback app and calendar reminders to use it are probably not going to get the job done. Once you are hired, progression within the company can be difficult. There is a policy that all internal transfers should be lateral in terms of grade and compensation, even if an external candidate with the same credentials would be offered significantly more compensation and a bigger title. There is a sense that the only way to get a promotion is often to threaten to (or actually) resign and unfortunately, plenty of evidence that this is an effective strategy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The company's attention to culture, values and social justice are admirable. Recognize that those efforts also create an expectation within the firm that ALL management will demonstrate those values - something that is far from reality. This is not a problem that is going to be solved with Trailhead. Cultivating good people managers who can support and develop talent within the company should be as much of a... priority as sales, and great management talent should be celebrated and rewarded. Likewise, those who treat people poorly, have significant attrition or staff departing for other teams should not be retained in management positions.

    Show More
    Salesforce2019-02-23

    Salesforce Response

    April 1, 2019President and Chief People Officer

    Thank you for leaving us this feedback. Culture is not something we take for granted, and we're continuing to work hard every day to make this a great place to work for all. If you're comfortable, I'd recommend that you connect with your Employee Success Business Partner directly. ...

    Show More
  4. "Business Value Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time

    Pros

    Visibility to a lot of companies and their use of Salesforce

    Cons

    Growing pains as we become a mature company

    Salesforce2019-06-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salesforce is a great place to work

    Cons

    Too much manual tracking of data

    Salesforce2019-06-10
  6. Helpful (27)

    "Not all it’s cracked up to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salesforce’s products are for the most part the best in class. They are constantly innovating on the product and it usually delivers well for customers. Coworkers here are great, some of the smartest people you will come across and best in breed sales reps. You feel pride working at Salesforce. For the most part leadership is talented.

    Cons

    The media has an image that Salesforce is the number 1 place to work. This is not the case for sales. Many of the sales reps are unhappy with many things but stay because of how well the company performs/innovates. Base salaries are extremely low. There are very few people that are hitting their annual numbers and the overall compensation plus base is just not there. So much of it is based on territory but... leaders will say to their graves that all territories are even. We would have much more appreciated it being called out vs. lying to our faces that they are all spread equally. Overall there is a lot of negativity here and much of this stems from the unhappy customers. Salesforce customers, especially in the SMB space don’t have the money to spend to implement Salesforce so their orgs are bad and adoption is extremely low. Account executives are responsible for selling - but also dealing with all unhappy customers, cancellations, technical support questions, etc. It doesn’t help that the renewals and billing teams are both outsourced to foreign counties and are extremely hard to work with (both internally and externally). You might close a huge deal but you’ll then have to deal with the repercussions of all the above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what your sales people are saying. Many top sales reps are throwing in the towel and leaving for other companies.

    Salesforce2019-04-19

    Salesforce Response

    May 7, 2019Linda Aiello, SVP International Employee Success

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. As you know, customer success is our top priority so it's great to see what you've mentioned about our products evolving. What you've listed in the cons is concerning however, and we do take this seriously. If you're comfortable, ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great job at a great company! PERFECT FOR NEW GRADS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Ambassador in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love this job because I get to meet people in every department and learn about their jobs and career paths. The perks at this company are great and are the best I have ever experienced. The leadership at Salesforce is great and you will feel like part of the Ohana (family). It's a great culture to be in, very relaxed environment, with a company that actually lives and stands by it's values.

    Cons

    The facilities team is entirely useless and lazy and are not friendly at all. There are a lot of TERRIBLE middle managers here that have no experience in leading a team. The lack of personality allowed at the front desk, I cant store anything at the desk that I sit at all day every day. I am being force to start wearing a uniform now and I feel like I am losing my individuality and personality.

    Advice to Management

    Please vet the people who get into manager roles and have them take a class or training because it's the biggest way to lose top talent. Anyone who leaves here says to me that their main reason was their manager. It can make or break your experience and really ruin a good team.

    Salesforce2019-05-17
  8. Helpful (22)

    "Politics, Bias, Appearance Over Substance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best reasons to work at Salesforce are the same for a lot of the elite tech peers; Decent benefits, great offices, fast growing (esp. valuable if you have stock), viewed as elite on resume, general salary levels, decent technology portfolio, vibrant culture, focus on volunteering / giving back to communities

    Cons

    As Salesforce has grown from 10K to 40K employees over this past decade, the politics, bureaucracy, and all forms of bias from race to gender to not being part of the "SF/Bay area type" or "Salesforce OG type" employee has permeated detrimentally to everything from compensation (salary and RSUs) to promotions to general respect in the business. What makes this worse is the outward perception of equality Salesforce... is generally known for, is not a reality for most of these underserved groups. There was a recently an ask from the top to stop being so political and "back-stabbing" in nature to senior leadership. The irony being those in that room in the vast majority were successful at Salesforce by being just that way. They have no business being responsible for fixing the culture they created and benefitted and continue to benefit from every day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For once actually hold people accountable for their actions in being discriminatory. Stop retaliating against those who bring up the clear cases of bias esp. when they are putting themselves at great personal and career risk in doing so. Stop proclaiming to the world that we are leaders in equality when our top-level leadership is dominated by white men and generally in top four layers of the organization by white... people generally. If we are going to run twice annual surveys, then actually take action or just don't bother wasting everyone's time. The tenured employees have had the lowest scores for years and they are only getting worse. Promotions is also one of the lowest or lowest score every year. Our response is to add more layers of process and so called "transparency". All that has done is reinforce the same inner circle feedback loop and same (type of) people getting rewarded. Bottom line is you can't fix any of the systemic issues, if the people you are tasking to rectify it, are the same people who cause the issue every day and have benefited greatly from the current situation.

    Show More
    Salesforce2019-05-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive - Growth Business in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing People Good Work-Life Balance Easy Sales - everyone answers the phone for Salesforce

    Cons

    Low pay compared to the market

    Advice to Management

    Right set everyone's pay

    Salesforce2019-05-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Manager Product Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salesforce is an amazing company to work for. That being said, your happiness is HIGHLY dependent on being on the right team with the right manager and leader.

    Cons

    Sometimes the promotions are questionable. The process is 100% questionable - but this is a big initiative from our CMO - to offer more visibility into this.

    Advice to Management

    A lot of managers need sensitivity and management training.

    Salesforce2019-05-06
Found 5057 reviews