Salix Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor

Salix Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
48%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Salix Pharmaceuticals CEO  Joseph C. Papa (no image)
Joseph C. Papa
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay, benefits, family atmosphere(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great company with fast response times to reps needs(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance could be better(in 6 reviews)

  • "The bonuses are forced ranked, some teams have better products than others, territories can be large(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "They're continuing to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 

    I have been working at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    The products seem like good drugs, and the company is focused on growth

    Cons

    Insurance coverage could be much better.

    Salix Pharmaceuticals2019-07-28
  2. "Improving culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High energy. Mostly good management

    Cons

    Large and constantly changing territories

    Salix Pharmaceuticals2019-11-27
  3. "Fear and Loathing at Salix Pharmaceuticals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent. Not top of the industry like it used to be. More middle of the road since Valeant bought us. Bonus is good if you are among the top 25%. The rest get more standard bonus. Healthcare is expensive but comprehensive. They do offer stock.

    Cons

    Leadership the last two years has really gone downhill. The VP leads by intimidation and that rolls down to the managers and field. we are all, constantly in fear of losing our jobs. Most no longer care and go through the motions waiting to be put on a plan or managed out. There is no culture because most people don't stay long. Constant turnover. The bonus plan seems to change monthly. Bag mix changes every quarter. one quarter you are up, the next you are in the bottom. It is cut throat here. We are pit against each other and nobody is interested in working together. Oh, and rifaximin is going to go generic so the number one product in the BHC portfolio is about to disappear.

    Continue reading
    Salix Pharmaceuticals2019-10-09
  4. "It was great, when it was standalone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Phenomenal culture, wonderful coworkers, the most challenging but rewarding place I've ever worked. Up until the layoffs.

    Cons

    It was great until the acquisition.

    Salix Pharmaceuticals2019-02-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The week of Christmas the company closes so you don't have to use PTO

    Cons

    Field ride with DM monthly, sometimes more frequently, a mountain of admin that will take you hours to do every single evening and all weekend long

    Salix Pharmaceuticals2019-02-22
  6. "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Great company before merger with Valeant

    Cons

    After merger with “big pharma” Valeant culture totally shifted.

    Salix Pharmaceuticals2018-12-20
  7. "Pharmaceutical Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Representative in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with fast response times to reps needs.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of currently.

    Salix Pharmaceuticals2018-10-28
  8. "Great products, poor managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Excellent portfolio of products and robust pipeline.

    Cons

    Management tends to get in the way of allowing Territory Managers to just go out and sell. Too many spreadsheets, admin, business plans and fire drills to be efficient out in the field.

    Continue reading
    Salix Pharmaceuticals2018-11-07
  9. "Great Company, Eventually Bought By Valeant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Company really looked after their employees and cared about them. At Salix you felt valued by everyone. More importantly Salix was big on having the patient come first and always believed in a patient-centric philosophy.

    Cons

    Company ended up getting bought out.

    Salix Pharmaceuticals2018-09-09
  10. "Cut throat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Salix Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    They had a good bonus structure for top ranking employees

    Cons

    I couldn’t stand my manager.

    Continue reading
    Salix Pharmaceuticals2018-10-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 70 reviews