Sallie Mae Collections Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Collections Specialist

Sallie Mae Collections Specialist Reviews

Updated Mar 4, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
Sallie Mae Chairman & CEO Raymond J Quinlan
Raymond J Quinlan
0 Rating
  1. "I love this job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sallie Mae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing management, from Team Leads to Supervisors to upper management. The starting pay is excellent, the monthly bonuses are great, they give retroactive overtime bonuses every quarter, and the top 10% of reps get to make their own schedule. Any 40 hours, coming and going as they please. Plus all the overtime you could reasonably ask for, lots of free snacks given out by supervisors, and when we as a company were the top servicer for the quarter, we were treated to an amazing Thanksgiving-style buffet. They really care about their employees and it shows.

    Show More

    Cons

    You are required to work 4 hours of OT one Saturday morning each month. I don't have a problem with this personally, but I can understand how it wouldn't be looked upon favorably by some.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! This is the best job I've ever had and it's all because of you!

    Sallie Mae2013-10-10
  2. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sallie Mae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonuses Caring management Numerous raffles for prizes like tv's and kuerigs

    Cons

    Location is around high traffic Short breaks Night hours can be long

    Sallie Mae2017-03-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I enjoyed the job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a potential for unlimited overtime, bonus incentives for exceeding goals, the training for the job was tremendous, I liked helping educate people so their credit was not affected long-term.

    Cons

    It was second shift, you felt restricted to your desk, some customers were over the top with their anger

    Sallie Mae2016-06-08
  4. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Collections Specialist in Lawrence, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae

    Pros

    Family environment. Clean surroundings and friendly management. I enjoyed all of the people that I worked with. Lots of bonding events like company parties, etc.

    Cons

    Unhappy Customers, Low wages and complicated computer system. Sometimes schedules would change without notice.

    Advice to Management

    continue to care for workers.

    Sallie Mae2016-02-17
  5. "Collection Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros of this job are the bonuses and benefits. Some benefits started the first day of employment. A top performer can make really good money. Always having contest.

    Cons

    They do not care about their employees. If you are spending day in and night there, then they love. But as soon as you dont hit bonus, they will fire you. The overtime was unlimited. You had to work over 40 hours in order to make goal.

    Advice to Management

    Stop changing things so frequently. Start caring about your employees, especially the good, dedicated employees.

    Sallie Mae2014-11-21
  6. "Colletions Specialist I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Specialist in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at Sallie Mae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, competitve pay, nice co-workers and facility

    Cons

    No work/life balance, the production goal necessitates a lot of overtime

    Sallie Mae2014-03-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worked in loan servicing in "Student Assistance Corporation." Wouldn't advise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist in Fishers, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you could actually hit your goal of brought current loans the bonus was nice.

    Cons

    Everyone who made goal stole loans from other people. Also very depressing when you couldnt help someone.

    Advice to Management

    give people who cant make goal every month a chance instead of firing them.

    Sallie Mae2014-03-04
  8. "Collections"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collection Specialist III in Wilkes Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sallie Mae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexable hours and good monthly bonus's

    Cons

    Some policies should be changed.

    Sallie Mae2014-01-12
  9. "avoid collections"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, the team work and the parties or get together that were had. It was a nice break.

    Cons

    skip tracing, pushing people into unaffordable payments. Not letting people know when they are allowed to file for loan to be paid off due to permanent disability.

    Advice to Management

    Stop making the goals be so high and focus on the loan holder, take a close look at your collections dept. & those who really do well...FDCPA is there for a reason

    Sallie Mae2013-11-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Job OK, Management TERRIBLE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job is easy as a collections agent. The benefits are really good and premium isn't bad.

    Cons

    The training is terrible and extremely short. What you learn in training and what management wants is completely different and changes daily. Management is a disgrace, especially my manager. She was 20 years old, which wouldn't normally be a problem, but she was completely incompetent and had NO people skills. The co-workers are miserable, but I can understand why. Their systems and SOP's are beyond messed up. No leadership or communication. Just really a bad place for someone who has a brain.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourself and every manager below you and start fresh. You have some great collections specialists but morale is so low because management is so bad.

    Sallie Mae2013-09-14
Found 11 reviews