Sallie Mae "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sallie Mae Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated 24 de Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Sallie Mae CEO Raymond J Quinlan
Raymond J Quinlan
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You will work long hours frequently(in 15 reviews)

  • "Work in call center that has no windows(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sallie Mae Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sallie Mae full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, easygoing and respectful atmosphere, yearly salary increases, and a lot of holiday pay.

    Cons

    Small organizational ladder in my department.

    Sallie Mae2017-02-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Newton, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sallie Mae full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission, helping enable education for students. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Has a soul sucking culture.

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen to your employees. This is something you're not doing much of right now.

    Sallie Mae2017-08-27
  3. "Collector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Collections Agent in West Grove, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, we'll run company, nice employees.

    Cons

    Low pay, high pressure job.

    Advice to Management

    Get to know employees better, more socializing.

    Sallie Mae2016-12-02
  4. "Review is based on pre-split from Navient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Newark, DE
    Recommends

    I worked at Sallie Mae for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have good benefits, they pay fairly well and the medical benefits were reasonably priced. I did like the fact that at the time they tiered the cost of medical insurance placed on the employee based on income so that call center people were not paying the same as executives for the same insurance.

    Cons

    Tied too closely to political environment which drives their ability to do their jobs as needed.

    Sallie Mae2016-09-27
  5. "GOOD job, BAD management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, great bonuses/incentives, free lunches

    Cons

    micro-management, management shows favoritism, mandatory overtime, stressful enviroment

    Sallie Mae2016-05-08
  6. "trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sallie Mae full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, great employee support, supportive leadership

    Cons

    high turnover and high standards to maintain as entry level

    Sallie Mae2015-10-14
  7. "Overall an okay place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Resolutions Specialist in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sallie Mae full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and bonuses with an above average hourly rate for the area, there are some opportunities for advancement. Overall an okay place to work.

    Cons

    Poor direct and indirect management, there is a lack of continuity and you will get different answers from different people.

    Sallie Mae2014-06-01
  8. "Awesome Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UCM in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay and Good Benefits

    Cons

    Poor Growth Potential and Management

    Sallie Mae2014-04-05
  9. "Collections Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collector I in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sallie Mae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good place to start - You get a secret clearance that you can use to get jobs with other government contractors - Tuition reimbursement up to 4k per year, good benefits

    Cons

    - low pay - advancement opportunities are rare - inexperienced floor managers

    Sallie Mae2014-04-09
  10. "I had a good experience working for Sallie Mae."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Sallie Mae

    Pros

    Great Environment, decent pay and good benefits. Also, there is plenty of opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    The hours for Collections specialists are rough.

    Sallie Mae2014-02-07
Found 21 reviews