KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sally Beauty

Engaged Employer

Sally Beauty

Add a Review

Sally Beauty Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,209 of over 2,288 reviews

3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Sally Beauty President and Chief Executive Officer Denise Paulonis
Denise Paulonis
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free products everyone couple months(in 254 reviews)

  • "I loved the beauty products and my employee discount was very nice considering I do hair outside the job on the side(in 176 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Little appreciation from upper management(in 163 reviews)

  • "a little stressed out because of low pay(in 149 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sally Beauty and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Overall good job

      Sep 8, 2021 - Beauty Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid vacation/holiday time. Laidback Easy work

      Cons

      Scheduling hours change. One week I’ll have 35hrs next week I’ll have 25hrs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      nice job !

      Jan 19, 2022 - Sales Associate in Peoria, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly coworkers, smaller stores not nearly as hard as working in a bigger retailer

      Cons

      Lower pay, but it’s just minimum wage

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      sad

      Jan 19, 2022 - Beauty Advisor in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      hours aren't too bad and easy to handle the store independently, management seems desperate so will negotiate with you, honestly when things are going right its pretty peaceful

      Cons

      not enough management will not allow anyone to have a set schedule, its different each week seems like whoever is in charge of shipments/inventory/promotions does not care at all about quality over quantity. my store had 4 employees and we were all part time, how are we expected to change every single price tag under all products, when they send these as unorganized stacks of paper where we have to sift through thousands of tags just for half of them to not even have a price change....its a waste of our time another thing, when shipment comes in, again very disorganized, around 30% of product has to be damaged out and thrown away due to items spilling. Lids just falling off and lathering hair extensions in crusted shampoo... How does this happen... There is also the issue of never getting the correct shipment either, as well as getting stuff that we dont even sale anymore but not getting the stuff we've waited months to get, and then when we do get it, its damaged and empty.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Credit Cards over Profit?

      Jan 16, 2022 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved the relationships with our customers. Most were repeat customers and over the years you build friendships with them. Helping them was the rewarding part of the job.

      Cons

      Sally's acts like it really cares about the employees, but in the long run, it is like any other corporate entity. They use statistics to tell you as a manager how to run your store, when they have probably never even rung up a customer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Started out okay but fell off the rails quickly

      Dec 15, 2021 - Beauty Advisor in Victor, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Free products and samples of new/debut products for employees -niche product knowledge -fairly open dress code -schedule flexibility

      Cons

      -It depends on your coworkers. There’s always a few girls who are too lazy to do anything and you end up carrying the load most of the time -Meeting ridiculous metrics. Especially credit cards with an abhorrent interest rate and APR. Its not in the same league as Ulta and Sephora so why act like it -Management. Store managers sit constantly in the back rooms on meetings and calls and hardly ring, upper management expects numbers and for one person to do about four peoples worth of work. They do not view customers as people but rather as wallets. They view employees and stores as numbers to inflate their own egos. -The customers are outright uneducated and dumb. They expect us to educate them. -The pay. At my current job that I left Sally’s for, I make more now than what my old manager was making. I was a loyal employee for four years who (mostly) made metrics and was making at most $0.50 above minimum wage. Get real. This job will work you to the bone and emotionally tire you out as there is always drama going on. Apply to Ulta and Sephora instead.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ehh

      Oct 29, 2021 - Beauty Advisor in Syracuse, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Able to make new friends which you'll often meet people of different types/backgrounds, can surprise you. Discounts! Learning knowledgeable info that anyone can use, can help you move forward as a cosmetologist whether licensed already or not. Good pay for easy tasks

      Cons

      Lots of drama everywhere. Lots of pressure in some areas. Lots of demand from customers. Lots of inconsistencies in many areas (employee/boss, locations, policies, etc).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Loved it

      Jan 17, 2022 - Sales Associate in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Getting super familiar with new hair products! Monthly freebies!

      Cons

      Lower pay but that’s not the managers fault.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      New hairstylist

      Jan 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good way to learn products if you went to beauty school

      Cons

      Not very flexible for days worked. Was constantly scheduled to work for days I had asked off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job for a college student

      Dec 26, 2021 - Beauty Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer a generous associate discount, monthly samples, and overall you meet lots of lovely clients every day. Some of the encounters I have had and the regulars are the best things about working at Sally Beauty

      Cons

      Managers really range from whether they are a joy to have or they sit on their behinds and do practically nothing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun

      Jan 13, 2022 - Beauty Advisor in Massillon, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun energetic no late nights

      Cons

      Hrly pay part time work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful