Sally Beauty Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
35%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Sally Beauty CEO Chris Brickman
Chris Brickman
377 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, free products, nice people(in 194 reviews)

  • "The employee discount was nice, you almost always learn new things from people who know more than you, regardless if they're a co-worker or a customer(in 108 reviews)

Cons
  • "Disorganized management- hires upper management from outside company(in 118 reviews)

  • "Low pay vs expectations of role(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I love it here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sally Beauty full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Internal advancement Relocation opportunities

    Cons

    It's retail, you are always hiring and training.

    Sally Beauty2020-02-21
  2. "Sally"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Denton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sally Beauty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Discount were good I guess

    Cons

    Micro-mangers didn't trust employees to do their job

    Sally Beauty2020-05-11
  3. "Sally Beauty Supply"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Athens, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sally Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and free beauty products.

    Cons

    Not great pay for work involved.

    Continue reading
    Sally Beauty2020-05-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It’s okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Duluth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sally Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    really nice people and you get to learn about dying hair

    Cons

    They’ll promise hours then cut them. Pay is most acceptable to a teen who just needs extra cash.

    Continue reading
    Sally Beauty2020-04-28
  5. "Great career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sally Beauty full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits if full time. Amazing customers.

    Cons

    Nights and weekends are mandatory regardless of position. We only close 3 days out of the year, so managers are on call 12 hours a day 362 days a year. Not enough payroll hours to sufficiently cover store needs.

    Continue reading
    Sally Beauty2020-04-22
  6. "Not Great"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Consultant 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sally Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -OK discounts -Smaller work place and easy to make friends

    Cons

    -Can be managed by those who are not licensed in Cosmetology, often required to give false advice -Very low pay -Low surveillance in store and employees required to close shop by themselves at night -Register system always down -Expected everyday to reach Sales Goal even if the goal is very unlikely.

    Continue reading
    Sally Beauty2020-05-26
  7. "They don’t care"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sally Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount was good enough

    Cons

    Upper management doesn’t care for their employees, working through a pandemic they weren’t communicating with us as to what was going on and they told people to come in or be terminated and if you take loa you get terminated after two weeks. Completely disorganized and they work you to the bone. Leaving employees to work alone at night as well having to deal with some crazy customers. They don’t show any employee appreciation and they are leaving customers without answers. And most of us aren’t getting paid enough for all that we do.

    Continue reading
    Sally Beauty2020-05-24
  8. "Good site level management, Poor upper management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Columbia, MO

    I worked at Sally Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manager was very flexible and able to re-arrange the schedule based on employee needs. Manager gave reasonable tasks each shift and kept goals and expectations attainable.

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits for part time employees.

    Sally Beauty2020-04-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "RUN AWAY!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sally Beauty part-time

    Pros

    most of customers are a big pro

    Cons

    sally is the queen of the sweat shop

    Continue reading
    Sally Beauty2020-05-11
  10. "Micromanaging business where at every turn, you feel overwhelmed, under appreciated, under paid , and degrading."

    2.0
     

    I have been working at Sally Beauty

    Pros

    Your customers make your job bearable. The staff becomes a true team.

    Cons

    Inconsistent changing every minute every hour. Never know what to expect. Our go to office is always on some kind of crash. So it definitely doesn’t help run more efficiently.

    Continue reading
    Sally Beauty2020-04-19
Found 1393 reviews