Salmon Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

Salmon Companies Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Don Salmon
6 Ratings
  1. "operations supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Salmon Companies

    Pros

    Great place to work, everyone is very friendly

    Cons

    They are not sure yet if I can be permenant

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to what goes on around you

    Salmon Companies2015-09-16
  2. "Very good company to work for. senior management very caring and co-operative ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salmon Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good pay. you know where you going for loads.

    Cons

    Health insurance little too high

    Advice to Management

    I love random drug test for all employees especially dispatchers .

    Salmon Companies2019-06-11
  3. "Time to listen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Salmon Companies full-time

    Pros

    Family environment, decent pay for administrative personnel

    Cons

    Benefits are lacking. People would stay and come work if the benefits package was excellent. Insurance costs are way too much. It's easy to burnout quickly due to the workload.

    Salmon Companies2018-08-31
  4. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Salmon Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    dedicated run, year around work.

    Cons

    insurance is very high. this company doesn't care about its drivers at all. years of loyal service means nothing here. shut up and drive should be their slogan

    Advice to Management

    your drivers are actual people. not parts you just replace

    Salmon Companies2018-03-09
  5. "good customer service nice friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Salmon Companies part-time

    Pros

    Long hours for full time

    Cons

    Great pay and love co workers

    Salmon Companies2018-01-10
  6. "Administration & Dispatcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salmon Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, I have an Excellent Team mate Pay is OK Lots of Over Time (Which I will do every minute I can)

    Cons

    Location not that good No where to grow to A dispatcher can get away with bad behavior to co-workers and drivers Party with the Terminal manager will get you what you want (Office employee IE. Dispatcher and drivers)

    Advice to Management

    I am looking to work for a company that has room to grow. I want to work where there are rules and they are followed. To work in a place that has team work and everyone looks after each other. I want to work where you are reward for your successes and informed how to make your self more value to your employer.

    Salmon Companies2017-11-13
  7. "Mail carrier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Salmon Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can bank 10 paid holidays per year. You don't have to worry about not being home often. Friendly staff in dispatch office. You can make more money on extra board.

    Cons

    You have to take their health insurance - $248 out of each paycheck, raggedy trucks, 60-63 mph. It takes around 2 weeks to get reimbursed. Runs are seniority based.

    Advice to Management

    The company should get rid of all the prostar trucks and get freight liners. The company should issue out company uniforms for employees. The company wouldn't lose so many contracts if it wasn't for breakdowns and 63 mph trucks.

    Salmon Companies2017-10-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Glad to be gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Salmon Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are none unorganized company

    Cons

    High priced insurance no bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes turn those slow trucks up and get some cheaper insurance because your going to lose more good Driver's

    Salmon Companies2017-10-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Decent pay, unbearable deductions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Salmon Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid hourly as a contractor company to the postal service. Work is pretty easy and pay is decent.

    Cons

    Contacts are awarded by seniority, not service level. This company forces you to buy their health insurance which I'm not sure is even legal. Their premiums are so high they can't afford for anybody to opt out, however. That decent paycheck isn't so decent after deductions. I can get much cheaper insurance through my spouse.

    Advice to Management

    Don't Force drivers to buy your overpriced insurance when they don't need it.

    Salmon Companies2017-08-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "This company is unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fueler in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Salmon Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No overtime i it is straight pay

    Cons

    Work allot of hours everyone who does who is not a driver benefits are paid for

    Advice to Management

    Be more organized

    Salmon Companies2017-08-16
Found 27 reviews