Salvation Army Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Salvation Army Commissioners Clive and Marianne Adams (no image)
Clive and Marianne Adams
191 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The Salvation Army is a non-profit which means that they are often unable to competitively compete in the area of salaries(in 57 reviews)

  • "Demanding, upper management slow to respond to needs(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I actually had a good time at it."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Supervisor in Heber Springs, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salvation Army part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a good time with making different accents to the customers as they were coming into the store.

    Cons

    The stress it put on me for being around so many people.

    Salvation Army2020-05-07
  2. "Flexible schedule"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Fitness Attendant in Grand Rapids, MI

    I worked at Salvation Army part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work if you need a flexible schedule You get a free membership

    Cons

    Some members can be pretty dismissive when you try to enforce the rules and guidelines

    Salvation Army2020-06-01
  3. "Intrinsically fulfilling"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Programs in Green Bay, WI
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salvation Army full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping Others is very fulfilling

    Cons

    Can't teach an old dog new tricks sometimes.

    Salvation Army2020-05-11
  4. "Great place for entry level employment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Sales Associate in Ann Arbor, MI

    I worked at Salvation Army part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Store managers are very helpful in training Most customers are very nice Great place for entry level employment

    Cons

    Low pay and inconsistent work hours High turnover rate Some customers are very rude

    Salvation Army2020-05-06
  5. "HR Generalist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources resources 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salvation Army full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible work schedule is a plus

    Cons

    no diversity in executive level managers

    Salvation Army2020-05-18
  6. "Line cook"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programming in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salvation Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I am a people person, I love working but I focus on doing it for the Lord , more of a good helper, I do it out the kindness of the love of God ,

    Cons

    So much positivities I love it ❤️🙏🏽🙌🏾

    Continue reading
    Salvation Army2020-05-01
  7. "If you need a job."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salvation Army full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I would only ever work here again if I needed the money, not like "need it" cause no where will hire me. But $14 an hour starting didn't seem to bad. Sure beats minimum wage.

    Cons

    In this job I have seen favoritism and people never considered for an interview for something they're completely qualified for. Myself and others have been promised: reimbursement, overtime, pay raises, certifications; all while 'Doing the most good.' Only to be disappointed every time. While this may be their mission statement as well. They care more about the donors than the employees. We sort of "know" this going into it, but they will take advantage of you, if you let them. Watch yourself, use this only as a stepping stone for something better. There's my 2 cents.

    Continue reading
    Salvation Army2020-06-02
  8. "Excellent opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Youth Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salvation Army full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freeedom flexibility hours good pace

    Cons

    Management boss Bad culture Unrealistic

    Continue reading
    Salvation Army2020-04-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Seasonal worker"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ringer in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salvation Army full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The salvation army treats their employees great, feed you breakfast and a sack lunch everyday

    Cons

    Working in all weather conditions, long days inside or out side

    Continue reading
    Salvation Army2020-04-15
  10. "Depending on your officer, it will be great or terrible"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Salvation Army full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great friends made, lots of opportunity

    Cons

    sometimes very mismanaged and toxic

    Continue reading
    Salvation Army2020-04-17
Found 1710 reviews