Sam's Club "good pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Sam's Club Employee Reviews about "good pay"

Updated Dec 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Sam's Club CEO John Furner
John Furner
770 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and insurance is about all(in 262 reviews)

  • "Decent pay, chances for advancement(in 163 reviews)

Cons
  • "If your full time you have a block schedule(in 238 reviews)

  • "Wanted full time and offered part time only(in 190 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Order Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sam's Club full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and insurance is about all

    Cons

    Poor management and horrible members

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better they will work harder for you ...

    Sam's Club2019-10-06
  2. "Do not apply here if you are a student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sam's Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and free plus membership for employees.

    Cons

    Manager did not work with my school schedule. No manager and associate relationship whatsoever. I didn’t even know what my club manager looked like. Supervisors did not have associates back at all with aggressive customers. Horrible scheduling of associates, only 3 cashiers closing on heavy days. Would sometimes go my whole shift without taking my lunch because there was no coverage.

    Advice to Management

    Please work with associates who are students and keep in mind that going to school in the morning and not going home until 12 pm because of work is not ideal. Rules that apply to associates should also apply to management. It is important to have a relationship between associates and management.

    Sam's Club2019-12-02
  3. "Good Pay but too much stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cake Decorator in Springdale, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sam's Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sam's offers good pay and flexible hours

    Cons

    Extremely stressful environment and difficult to have a decent work-life balance. Both members and management cause a lot of stress and anxiety. It is an extremely fast pace and hard on the body.

    Advice to Management

    Have more understanding for your associates.

    Sam's Club2019-11-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It’s a great job, management is not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontline in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sam's Club part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, fun engaging job

    Cons

    Management not very reliable. They try to get you fired or make you quit. You can voice your schedule concerns without ever being heard. They won’t honor your availability even if you’re working two jobs. But they honor kids schedules for school. They don’t hire enough ADULTS who have more flexibility in their schedule, so you end up taking on what the kids can’t work. Your schedule will change out of no where and... then they won’t fix it. Probably going to end up losing one of my jobs because of Sam’s club and their heartless, careless people they call management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites, listen to your HARDWORKING employees and stop picking on the ones who actually do the work. Not standing around chitchatting like other employees. HONOR the schedule you agreed to when you hire a new employee.

    Sam's Club2019-11-04
  5. "Could’ve been better (Clearwater)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Clearwater, FL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sam's Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, made a few friends

    Cons

    Managers don’t care about their employees especially cashiers!!! You are forced to go and work in other parts of the store. Supervisors have their favorites and whenever you need them to help out with customers they are never around. Some managers are racist and they constantly pick on people of color. While some people got to move to different departments and get higher pay they constantly told the African American... cashiers that there wasn’t any open positions. The managers also have gossip sessions where they talk about the employees. Their biggest issue was the fact that they only care about theirselves and getting people to apply for a credit card. Don’t get sick or have a family emergency while you’re at work because they don’t care. Oh and don’t get me started on the roaches and rats that were in the building that everybody looked past!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Every Manager acts like they hate their jobs and honestly need to talk a hospitality class

    Sam's Club2019-11-08
  6. "Good part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TBC Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sam's Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can easily transfer departments inside the store, good pay, yearly bonus (Sam's Share).

    Cons

    Management can be frustrating at times, and it is a very corporate feeling company.

    Sam's Club2019-09-17
  7. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sam's Club part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, lot of hours

    Cons

    Always understaffed Didn't give cashiers a lot of power

    Advice to Management

    Fix the system

    Sam's Club2019-09-30
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sam's Club full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced Friendly management Good pay

    Cons

    Strict on not going over on time

    Sam's Club2019-09-07
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Brandon, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sam's Club full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Closed some holidays, good pay for some positions

    Cons

    Busy and very short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Assist in areas that need help and answer management calls

    Sam's Club2019-08-27
  10. "Typical Nightmare Retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sam's Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, I made some good friends at work

    Cons

    Micromanagement, always rude and irate members, management never has your back

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to your own employees' concerns and ideas instead of throwing them under the bus any chance you get. They actually know what happens on a day to day basis instead of sitting in a cushy office all day.

    Sam's Club2019-09-09
Found 262 reviews