Sam's Club "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sam's Club Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Sam's Club CEO John Furner
John Furner
770 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and insurance is about all(in 262 reviews)

  • "Decent pay, chances for advancement(in 163 reviews)

Cons
  • "If your full time you have a block schedule(in 238 reviews)

  • "Wanted full time and offered part time only(in 190 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sam's Club part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good to it’s employees most the time

    Cons

    Wanted full time and offered part time only

    Sam's Club2019-02-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, great benefit and pay, bad management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Associate in Clarksville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sam's Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great and so are benefits for a part time work or fulltime.

    Cons

    Management at my particular store doesnt schedule appropriate and used to take it out on me when I had to skip because they'd schedule me during my college classes, even though I gave them my schedule months in advance.

    Sam's Club2019-11-26
  3. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various Positions 

    I worked at Sam's Club full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family feel and ok pay if you are a leader

    Cons

    If full time only few schedules to choose from, part time fills in the gaps. No more overnight crew so afternoon shift ends up staying super late

    Sam's Club2019-11-23
  4. "Toxic Class Warfare Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Member Support Representative 

    I have been working at Sam's Club part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Part-time work schedule is very good. Most co-workers are a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    Management policies need much to be desired. Training and support is a serious problem. Some managers are draconian. Others are surprisingly ruthless, and frequently break and cover up well established labor law violations.

    Advice to Management

    Hourly employees should not be coerced to enforce Membership Policies that unfairly pits Members against staff and staff against Members. Give Plus Members more benefits but don't stop Savings and Business Members from shopping before 10:00am. Example; Mother has to drop off kids at daycare and meet her first client at 8:30am. She has a Business Membership and spends at least $100.00 per week. She cancels her... Membership because she's being prevented from shopping early all of the sudden, Sam's Club loses $5,200.00 per year simply because they tried to force her to spend $55.00 more on an upgrade fee! Also, hourly employees have to encounter angry Members who they must refuse entry to if they do not possess a Plus Card. Meanwhile, Management does little to solve the problems caused by putting their staff in this contentious situation. Some even allowing them to shop anyway after hourly employee told them they couldn't unless they upgraded their Membership to Plus. Makes no sense.

    Show More
    Sam's Club2019-11-15
  5. "I like working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Decatur, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sam's Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced environment Good coworkers Sams share If your part time you get random hours

    Cons

    If your full time you have a block schedule Stressful High turnover rate

    Advice to Management

    Pitch in to help your area when they need the extra help. For my area my manager is always pitching in and going above and beyond.

    Sam's Club2019-10-29
  6. "eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wireless Sales in Vienna, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sam's Club part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hourly wages At times as a part time you can get more hours, you just have to try and get into other departments and volunteer.

    Cons

    90% part time 10% full time It is very hard to get full time status here. as part time you can get smashed with a nice 4 hours a week.

    Sam's Club2019-10-30
  7. "Great job for college students!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Frontline Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sam's Club part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great part time job for college students because they'll work with your school schedule.

    Cons

    It's retail so you'll occasionally have to deal with a difficult member.

    Sam's Club2019-10-10
  8. "Flexible Schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Associate 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sam's Club part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was working another job and attending school while working at Sam's, so it was a nice part-time job to have that was flexible with my schedule. The company did have a nice bonus system in place. Getting paid time off was a nice benefit as well. The club I worked at had some cool managers and employees. If you like working on your feet and moving around a lot, this is a good place for you.

    Cons

    The company as a whole has been having financial issues. It seems like every month there is some drastic change to policies. Bonuses paid out to hourly associates got reduced. Positions are always getting cut. They closed down many clubs in my area so ours became extremely busy and overly-crowded. The pay is very low compared to competitors such as Costco and Target. This reflects the attitudes and motivation of... the employees. Many are just slow and do not give great customer service like how the company tries to say what the company's core values are about. It is like a revolving door with hiring and quitting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give better pay to employees other than managers. This will help with the workplace atmosphere and keep more enthusiastic workers with the company.

    Sam's Club2019-08-22
  9. "Great Open Environment If You're Willing to Work Well With People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Desk Representative in Elyria, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sam's Club part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sam's has an open environment, plenty of growth opportunity, paid time off for full-time and part-time employees, fair pay.

    Cons

    You should expect to sell upgrades to a members membership and credit cards whether it's busy or not. You will be expected to help out wherever they need it, even if it's not the area you were hired to.

    Advice to Management

    Work with your employee's. Turn on your walkies!! If an employee feels that they are noticed and valued, working harder will not be a burden.

    Sam's Club2019-08-06
  10. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker 

    I worked at Sam's Club part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to learn and do

    Cons

    Too many hours for part time

    Sam's Club2019-07-24
Found 310 reviews