Sammons Financial Group Companies Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Good Benefits / Compensation / Work Life Balance(in 68 reviews)

  • "Great culture and company benefits(in 44 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "None that come to mind at this time(in 13 reviews)

  • "I don't really have any cons of working here(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Employment at Sammons

      Apr 27, 2021 - Case Manager in West Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management takes care of employees

      Cons

      I have no current cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Review

      May 12, 2021 - Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, ESOP program that is pretty amazing. Ability to work from home.

      Cons

      They are all about productivity and really don't care about what other things you have to do that aren't being calculated into your numbers. It's the quantity, not focused on quality and the true ability of an individual while taking account of accuracy. A lot of management don't know how to do the work they are managing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent Company but Less Than Excellent Departments

      Apr 4, 2021 - Correspondence Specialist in Sioux Falls, SD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits at the time were good, ESOP made it easy to ensure you had something to retire with if you didn’t make sufficient wages to put away money for retirement. Company culture was overall good, I enjoyed the Sammons Leadership Series (SLS) as that helped shape me as a young employee. Some departments were very close and would often hold team potlucks or participate in onsite games (note: precovid). Volunteer opportunities were abundant.

      Cons

      Pay was not sufficient for living, raises were nearly nonexistent often being less than 10 cents per hour for a year. Some of the departments did not follow the culture of the company, my department was an unfortunate example of this. Issues and delays with implementation of accommodations for medical. Applying within the company requires approval from supervisors (HR actually contacts them to inform them of the application).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company - Culture and Benefits

      Apr 22, 2021 - Assistant Vice President, IT Data Analytics in Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic Culture - Love working with people who take accountability and have a lot of pride in the products we deliver. I trust this organization to look for the best situation for our agents, employees and policy holders. I also appreciate half day Fridays!

      Cons

      I can't really think of any right now. I feel very fortunate to be at a place that values the work we do each day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Highly Recommend

      Apr 23, 2021 - Sales Desk in West Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Comp, culture, employees, willingness to help, friendliness, kindness, atmosphere, inclusion, values.

      Cons

      I am on day 60, as of right now, and I truly haven't found any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I love working for Sammons

      Apr 26, 2021 - Regional Vice President in West Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company has a great culture

      Cons

      I haven't found one yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 18, 2021 - Service Effectiveness Manager in Sioux Falls, SD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture that all employees truly live by, great benefits, and many opportunities to grow within the company.

      Cons

      I can not think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sammons Financial Group Companies Response

      Senior HR Specialist

      Thank you so much for your feedback! We are very grateful for the strong culture that our employees create. We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Apr 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, great focus on employee development

      Cons

      Can’t think of anything that is a con.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Took me awhile, but I found the ideal company

      Jan 29, 2021 - Data Analyst in West Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture. We live our values here. They are not words you read from a poster on the wall. These are real life daily events. Respect for one another is incredible here. The levels of understanding, commitment, accountability and encouragement are unlike any other company I've been associated with. It is truly a refreshing change to be treated with so much respect and encouraged to give it right back. I love it here.

      Cons

      I haven't been here long, but I can honestly not think of any.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sammons Financial Group Companies Response

      Senior HR Specialist

      Thank you so much for providing a review! It is great to hear such positive remarks regarding our culture. It is very much a focus for our incredible employees. We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      "Wow! That's unheard of!"

      Oct 7, 2020 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This employer shines on a normal basis. The culture, the values, the diverse and inclusive nature of our workforce stands out in our industry and in our communities. For an organization to shine even brighter during a crisis is simply unheard of. That is the response I received time and time again when I shared the care and concern Sammons Financial Group demonstrated for our employees during the company's pandemic response. As I shared the laundry list of details including technology updates, benefit updates, pay, flexibility, communications, and the health & safety protocols the company so diligently and quickly stood-up during this COVID crisis with my peers and external colleagues, every response was: "Wow! That's unheard of!" Thank you Sammons for reiterating, in action, how our culture and our employee "family" is the foundation of our business success even in an unpredictable and unstable climate.

      Cons

      As with any organization, there will be individuals who see the "glass" as half empty. Nothing that can be done about this. Managers and culture counsel are great and trying to help these individuals see what a great organization this is.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 470 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sammons Financial Group Companies Job Seekers

    Vice President & Chief Technology Officer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Assistant Actuary - Valuation
    Learn About the Job
    Director, IT Service Management
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sammons Financial Group Companies? Share Your Experiences

    Sammons Financial Group Companies logo
    or