Sammons Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Sammons Financial Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Employees are treated well with a great work life balance(in 44 reviews)

  • "You don't feel like just a number here at SFG(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons to working at Sammons(in 9 reviews)

  • "I would say the only thing I would like to see SFG improve is the option to work from home(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Amazing Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President Sales and Sales Support in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sammons Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sammons walks the walk when it comes to culture. It's the people and an amazing culture that make this such an amazing place to work!! Having a casual work environment and Friday afternoons off doesn't hurt either!

    Cons

    I can't complain about a thing!

    Continue reading
    Sammons Financial2019-12-11
  2. "Best place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sioux Falls, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sammons Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, the people, endless opportunity, work life balance, employee owned

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Sammons Financial2020-02-15
  3. "Amazing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sammons Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture, everyone is very nice and makes you feel welcome. Most of the year you get out at 12:30 on fridays!

    Cons

    There aren't any. They really listen to their employees and their customers.

    Sammons Financial2020-02-14
  4. "A growing company that can provide your career path lots of doors instead of walls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Wholesaler in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sammons Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sammons is a company that continuously strives to grow, but its not about being the biggest, rather its about being the best. As the company continues to grow and evolve, there are countless opportunities for personal and professional growth and development. In the 15 years of working here, I've yet to hit a wall in my career path. What I have found have have plenty of doors. Doors that can be easily opened with keys forged by embracing and living our companies core values.

    Cons

    If you're the type of person that really enjoys working a full eight hours on Friday, then you may consider that we close at 12:30 on Friday's a con.

    Sammons Financial2020-02-14
  5. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sammons Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The ESOP structure helps drive an open and engaged culture. The ESOP retirement benefit is great, and unique in the financial services sector. Lot of talent top to bottom, which shows in the consistently strong financial results. Strong management which encourages collaboration is a strength. Comp and benefits are competitive, with some good perks like Friday afternoons off year-round. After nearly 7 years, I'm still energized and look forward to coming to work every day.

    Cons

    There can be challenges with having four locations. But the company has leveraged video meetings as a way to keep teams engaged across sites, as well as with remote employees.

    Sammons Financial2020-02-11
  6. "Sales Development Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sammons Financial full-time

    Pros

    Good coworkers, amazing benefits and opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Very short leash for certain sales positions. Sales Vice Presidents are very out of touch, but are very good at "CYA".

    Sammons Financial2020-02-19
  7. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sammons Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place and people. Everyone loves working here.

    Cons

    None so far. Everything is good.

    Continue reading
    Sammons Financial2020-02-17
  8. "Great Place to Further Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Analyst in Sioux Falls, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sammons Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SFG is a great place for a career! Some of the following are things to love: a company that TRULY lives their mission and culture! Many companies tout their mission/culture however this is the only company I see this demonstrated by ALL team members through each day! It is awesome to work for a company who respect and listen to their team members along with providing competitive salaries and phenomenal benefits such as ESOP, full spectrum benefit package and an awesome work week with only a 1/2 days on Friday!

    Cons

    I would say the only thing I would like to see SFG improve is the option to work from home.

    Continue reading
    Sammons Financial2019-12-30

    Sammons Financial Response

    January 9, 2020Senior HR Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback! It's so great to hear such kind remarks around our healthy, high performing culture. We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company to work for ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contracting Representative in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sammons Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Half-day Fridays. Great Culture. Responsible leaders. Employee Stock Ownership Program.

    Cons

    None that I can think of .

    Continue reading
    Sammons Financial2019-12-23
  10. "A Caring Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sammons Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company truly cares about the team members. I received support and compassion while dealing with my spouse's cancer and death. Leaders listen to input from team members and make changes, when possible. Excellent benefits. Recognition for good performance.

    Cons

    The only "con" I can think of is dealing with some legacy technology.

    Continue reading
    Sammons Financial2019-12-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 265 reviews