Samsara Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Samsara Founder and CEO Sanjit Biswas
Sanjit Biswas
313 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits are fantastic - employee growth fund, insurance, free lunch, company funded clubs, etc(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great company that makes you feel included and has so many great benefits(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Typical growing pains, which is being addressed(in 22 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is hard, especially in Hardware when working with teams overseas(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Diverse and on the precipice of something big

      May 3, 2021 - Senior Program Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Samsara is just the right size if you're aiming to make an impact somewhere

      Cons

      We're still only a couple years old, so nimbleness and patience are to be expected

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The checks do not bounce but much of the internal practices are a joke

      May 11, 2021 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Decent money but still below the industry average for SaaS offering. -Fast-growing company, product, and growth do most of the selling if you have the right accounts.

      Cons

      -Sales Ops try to run every single part of the internal processes, but they have been mismanaged due to not listening to feedback from AE's who are going through the processes. -Internal teams do not work together, you have to send five individual emails to close a deal -Lack of Sales Support -Post sale process for customers is a joke - Unless you are top 10% you aren't making much money

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, bouncing back from hardships, tons of growth ahead

      Mar 30, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sanjit is an incredible CEO. We just significantly adjusted cash compensation and equity to compete with FAANG. Also our equity is undervalued right now, our valuation is old from the peak of the pandemic. Company still feels flat, all levels of engineering have a voice and can make significant impact across the org. Management is very receptive to feedback and continuously invests in making the company a better place to work. Interesting and fun tech stack (Go, GraphQL, React, React-Native, AWS, cool real-time scalable ingestion pipeline, all devs have access to data lake) Transparency, all employees can see board slides and salesforce numbers. We all cheer for the sales team at the end of each quarter. People are great, we have a lot of fun together. Made many friends at the company.

      Cons

      There have been tough times, I’ll detail some of them here. I still rate Samsara highly because many of the negatives were transient and have been resolved. The layoffs due to the pandemic in 2020 were rough. It’s taken a long time to recover from that. There was a long string of attrition due to lack of growth opportunities in leadership, general negative sentiment since our friends were laid off, and we needed to work hard to pick up the slack with less headcount. We’ve hired / are hiring like crazy now though so this problem is quickly disappearing. We have tons of growth ahead of us. I’m excited to see what new business markets we enter besides fleet, industrial, and connected sites. Cash compensation in the past left something to be desired, though this has since been fixed and strongly rewards top performers (top 10% TC across all software and hardware tech companies, including FAANG). I believe equity comp will be excellent by the time we exit, easily beating FAANG. In 2020 we had a lot of new inexperienced managers due to high growth in 2019. There were problems with micromanagement and challenges managing up to execs. This has been fixed, in part due to change in attitude at the VP/exec level and in part due to an extensive six month leadership training that all managers were required to go through. Things are much better now. Our internal employee happiness survey results are back to pre-covid levels and very positive. In 2019-2020 we experienced a lot of hypergrowth and reliability was an issue. There were periods of long hours in order to stabilize our products for the new scale of customer base. We’re in a pretty good spot now, WLB is super reasonable I never work more than 40h per week now. The company always listens and changes for the better when there are dips in happiness, but some of the changes take awhile (usually 3-9 months). You’ll need to have some patience to be happy during those times (not a problem for me but it was for others).

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent people, bad management

      Jan 4, 2021 - Recruiting in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Decent perks like parties, lunches, beverage and snack on stock, team outings - In general, most of the people at Samsara were/are very friendly, outgoing, helpful. My team was awesome and supportive, but other departments (certain recruiting or sales team) were cut throat and very back-stabbing.

      Cons

      Did a 300 person layoff in May 2020, and announced a huge funding the following day to hide the layoff. Very distasteful in my opinion since they continue to make themselves look better on paper but there are a lot of negatives about this company: - Management is not great whatsoever. People who have no leadership or management experience are promoted. Only had one good manager who actually cared about the team while there. (Also, management is traveling a lot during COVID....) - Mobility to promote is ok, not great. Structure is there, but seems like its a lot of favorites. - Salaries are LOW!! For a company that put so much money into a holiday party (Cal Science Museum), salaries are very low to competition. Contract roles pay better than Samsara. - No work-life balance. Pre COVID, there was no flexibility to work from home (frowned upon) and the week where SF started to shut down, we were only given one WFH as a "test run". Also, people were working late into the evenings to meet quota or fix issues.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A place to achieve your goals

      Feb 18, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exceeding your target is the norm and expected. Accelerators are generous and they just bumped them up again. Product is best in class and needed in the industry. If you have earnings goals, at Samsara you can put in the work to make it happen. Also, never felt more supported in the sales process. Sales Ops team is amazing and I have tons of resources available to make sure I can get my job done.

      Cons

      It is easy for new AEs to get shortsighted about their pipeline. I’ve seen my friends get some quick wins to start, blow out their ramping quota, they think it will always be that easy, take their foot off the gas creating/nurturing pipeline - then won’t have enough chips fall to hit a fully ramped target in their 4th qtr. Then... a few months later they’re here on Glassdoor acting like it was all Samsara’s fault.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Solid

      Apr 15, 2021 - Account Development Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Industry leader, high growth company. Super competitive yet supportive. Everyone wants to win, but everyone wants to see others do just as well, if not better. Great team mentality at the ADR level.

      Cons

      -Its a grind. You make your own luck in sales, especially when making cold calls. -because its still a young company in Q1 '21 there's just certain things that don't click cross departmental wise. In other words, still some growing pains but really due to its hyper growth.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      CAUTION if in Sales

      Mar 2, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great products and engineers Very helpful and talented colleagues

      Cons

      The Sales Organization has a lot of work to do. Constantly watch Top Talent leave because of initial expectations being way off from reality. Management has a lot to be desired, as there is no development. For an industry that takes time to build relationships (especially in pandemic), you would think they would allow their employees to foster client relationships for long-term success. Instead, Sales Reps are pressured at an unreal rate which leads to a terrible Customer Experience. (Half of our CRM Database is full of notes stating client is tired of being "harassed" and won't buy from Samsara specifically because of all the calls and emails) This could easily be avoided, but with the micromanagement world of Samsara it is the norm. It seems there was once a Gold Rush at Samsara, but once they over hired and saturated the TAM, all bets are now off.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company with great opportunities

      Apr 30, 2021 - Account Development Representative in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Attainable quota, great accelerators, great management thus far, motivating team and healthy competitive balance. GREAT benefits (free health insurance + more)

      Cons

      Won't be back in office until January

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Rampant favoritism and lip service to diversity

      Feb 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Opportunity to do high impact work

      Cons

      - Favoritism is the name of the game at Samsara, if you look like people at the top and are liked by them you can get ahead - Lip service to diversity, in the time I was there the excuse of "talent pipeline" was always the reason for subpar representation across everything - Boys club culture all around, sexist in some instances I know everyone keeps pointing to the layoffs as the turning point in Samsara's sh1tty culture, but the issues were there all along. People were just too enamored by free lunches and busy drinking the koolaid to see it. Beware of the positive reviews, I would bet anything they're coming from the people that benefit from the very culture that rewards the fratty clique-y attitude.

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Bad management is systemic

      Mar 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, growing company with large future

      Cons

      Toxic leadership, favoritism in employees and lack of transparency

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 387 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Samsara Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Account Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Mid Market Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Samsara? Share Your Experiences

    Samsara logo
    or