Samsung Research America Reviews | Glassdoor

Samsung Research America Reviews

Updated April 3, 2018
194 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Samsung Research America CEO Joon Lee
Joon Lee
2 Ratings

194 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Decent benefits - All bonuses are in cash - I found the work life balance manageable (in 13 reviews)

  • Good benefits, smart colleagues, Silicon Valley management is good (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • Labs report to HQ in Korea, but most employees don't understand what HQ wants (in 11 reviews)

  • Lacking some of the progressive programs in comparison to other Silicon Valley companies (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Richardson, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great people. Management cares about it's employees & very competitive compensation.

    Cons

    The uncertainty year to year on project funding [from Korea]

    Advice to Management

    Keep trying to build strong relationships with different groups and secure longer term funding/projects

    Samsung Research America Response

    Feb 1, 2018 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for the review and we're happy to hear you have been enjoying your time with us! We will continue to work on building relationships between our employee groups and securing engaging... More


  2. "researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time

    Pros

    flexibilities, u have time to learn new things

    Cons

    politics, some dirty tricks all the time. if u r working with some people who are not liked by other politician people, u will be toured by these politician people. Politician means some non-engineer people whose jobs are playing politics.

    Advice to Management

    please trust the people who can deliever

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Hope I can find something better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer
    Current Employee - Software Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great insurance
    - Great team (not sure about other teams)
    - Interesting product

    Cons

    - user activity monitoring, blocking useful web-content because of security policy and other nice features of "corporate culture". I realized that this is the first time when I don't want to even open my work mac at home to not to compromise myself somehow.
    - "Dispatchers" - when someone is looking over my shoulder *how* I'm doing *what* your ordered - this is too much.
    - ugly office
    - no stocks
    - no silicon valley spirit
    - I don't see my future here

    Advice to Management

    Give more freedom to employees, otherwise you'll get robots, but not people.

    Samsung Research America Response

    Mar 24, 2018 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm sorry to hear about some of the experiences you have had with us at SRA. You're definitely correct in that allowing our employees a sense of autonomy and... More


  4. "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time

    Pros

    nice place to work with mobile development

    Cons

    no stock and salary is not higher enough

    Advice to Management

    ok


  5. Helpful (1)

    "I am not sure they know I exist."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance.
    Decent benefits. Nice people.
    Entertaining company nonsense most days.

    Cons

    - Sometimes I wonder why Samsung bothers to keep SRA running because they seem to think all we are is a worthless money pit. Consequently they seem more motivated only to cut costs. They make arbitrary edicts for which we must comply for no reason. Ask why something happens and they'll tell you "HQ said so".
    - We try to do work but management seems to want us to work on nothing most days. It makes no sense.
    - Almost everything is pointless.
    - Low levels of diversity in positions of leadership. (And generally everywhere.)
    - Paperwork.
    - Patent quotas.
    - Good base salary, but you can get better compensation at other companies. Raises are stingy.
    - Approach to funding creates incentives leading to inefficiencies. Stingy budgets. Cheap cheap cheap.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe you should stop telling us that things could be so much worse if HQ implemented all of their terrible ideas. Instead help build trust between us working in SRA and HQ. Learn to make us feel valued, increase autonomy, delegate more decision making ability to SRA.

    Samsung Research America Response

    Apr 24, 2018 – Communications Manager

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback regarding how we can continue to build an inclusive company culture that allows our employees to feel valued and... More


  6. "Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Nice campus, and relatively good benefits. And there are pockets of strong talent, although they seem to be leaving fairly quickly.

    Cons

    Very non people centric approach, and anything different is smoke and mirrors. They really are looking for what they can suck out of you today. I have certainly witnessed that in my short time here, with myself and others.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the rotating expat program at the senior most level, flashing their company paid cars while cutting costs for the rank and file.

    Samsung Research America Response

    Apr 1, 2018 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review and we're glad to hear your approval of our campus and benefits! We appreciate your feedback regarding your experiences with the culture and environment and want to... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Sorry you let us down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good onboarding process and informative orientation - if that's enough to retain you and work at your highest potential

    Cons

    Management plays it cheap against top performing employees who have high work ethics. Mid management cannot tolerate good work ethics, nor the competitive talent. I have worked with a high caliber product manager, well experienced and well qualified, who was thrown under the bus by their utterly unethical leaders. Fault? Highly qualified woman employee, talking the language of competitive advantage, innovation and voice of customers, to incompetent and insecure peers while giving damn to internal politics. This person was treated so badly and was shown the door by misusing her sincerity and trust in human resources. HR has no voice and dances on the music of management, and worst pretends to be in favor of employees. Corporate governance is at total failure, because there is no such thing as corporate governance. Whatever a manager at position of power and politics decides, becomes the HR policy of the day. That's the reason discrimination is flourishing so pitilessly that I hear my peers saying threatening things like 'I will see her outside' and 'throw them out of the door' etc. I loathed when some of my best peers left the company and some were pushed out. It is only the quality of my work that is keeping me here, not sure for how long though. I have to call it a place that has shocked me and often surprises me in all negative ways.

    Advice to Management

    Revive your mid management. Revive your HR department and give them the education and power to develop human capital. HR as your puppets are becoming the reason for irreversible failure of corporate governance. Have your skin in the game when it comes to rewarding and retaining worthy employees out of the pretentious lot. You have a long way to go in creating a culture of people first, at least start by eliminating the demons.

    Samsung Research America Response

    Mar 13, 2018 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback helps flag many important points that we are trying to work on. SRA is dedicated to helping create and maintain an environment where all... More

  8. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, beautiful campus, understanding and supporting managers and leader. Value for views and suggestions. Keep you updated with the management changes. perfect work life balance

    Cons

    heavy traffic in MV
    Miss holiday party

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the support

    Samsung Research America Response

    Feb 1, 2018 – Communications Manager

    Thanks for the review and we hope you'll be able to make the Holiday party next time!


  9. "Fantastic On-Boarding Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Human Resources Operations in Mountain View, CA
    Current Employee - Manager, Human Resources Operations in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    My New Hire orientation was informative, detailed and fun. Was a lot of information, but the follow-up emails sent to me ensured I was set up for success in getting everything covered as needed for new employee.

    Cons

    Bit more info on Samsung subsidiaries would be nice

    Samsung Research America Response

    Jan 25, 2018 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you had a pleasant onboarding experience, welcome to SRA!


  10. "Where everyone knows my name!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Mountain View, CA
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Amazing team. Collaborative culture. Fast-paced environment. Super-smart team members. Strong work-ethics

    Cons

    In order to compete with other SV companies, we need to improve our perks.

    Advice to Management

    More teamwork events. Vending machines with Samsung products. Having our own "Demonstration area" would be wonderful!!! We need to brag about our amazing success.


Showing 194 of 241 reviews
Reset Filters