Samsung Research America Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Samsung Research America CEO Joon Lee
Joon Lee
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "2: Decent salaries in cash and good benefits(in 26 reviews)

  • "friendly work environment, lots of freedom(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is no stock for compensation(in 15 reviews)

  • "Time difference with HQ in Korea(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Very happy to be working here

      Jul 23, 2020 - Research Engineer in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are genuinely seeking to improve the experience of employees. Salary and benefits are generous (like many companies in Silicon Valley). They've bred a great culture in my team, as I get along well with my coworkers and manager.

      Cons

      Some business decisions can be opaque and IT systems convoluted due to HQ being in Korea.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Sr. manager HR Ops

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your feedback. Have a great day!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Always working to improve our organization

      Apr 26, 2021 - Lab Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with the company for about 3 years now. SRA makes an effort to hear its employees and creates many opportunities for employees to voice their concerns. Joon makes an effort to improve our workplace and works closely with HR to ensure we are heard. I've gotten to know Joon through some of the meetings I've attended and I think he does his best to communicate with everyone of all different levels. HR does a great job onboarding remote employees and ensuring they have everything they need to get started. It has been really difficult for everyone since the pandemic hit and I've seen the effort everyone makes to keep it going.

      Cons

      There are no cons to note at the moment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Sr. manager HR Ops

      Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's great to hear you're enjoying your time at SRA! We appreciate your feedback.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      high pace and innovative company

      May 7, 2021 - Senior Research Engineer in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lots of new and cutting edge projects to work on , good medical compensation

      Cons

      good salary compared locally, but no stocks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Better than you may think from outside

      May 5, 2021 - Vice President in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to work for industry-leading Samsung businesses. Great work life balance for most people. Competitive Salary.

      Cons

      Cross-team collaboration opportunities are rare if not unavailable

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      SRA Review

      Apr 17, 2021 - Staff Engineer in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pride to work for one of the world's best employers; many opportunities to work on exciting projects across a wide range of consumer electronic devices; very nice and smart colleagues around; most co-workers are hardworking and professional.

      Cons

      compensation is not as good as FAANG mostly due to no stock options

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Sr. manager HR Ops

      Hello and thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Your feedback is very important to us and helps us continue to make SRA a great place to work.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      great place to work

      Apr 19, 2021 - Principal Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and the pay are great! SRA can attract top people and they provide the resources to do good work

      Cons

      The work can be somewhat siloed as it is difficult to know what is going on in other groups at SRA

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Sr. manager HR Ops

      Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear you are enjoying you time at SRA. Have a great day!

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Big Company with lots of resources but toxic culture

      May 4, 2021 - User Experience Designer in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of budget and resources, lots of smart people working on interesting projects

      Cons

      As a subsidiary you have no power to influence the larger company most projects get either scrapped or outright stolen by HQ

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very nice company

      Mar 17, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of interesting project to work on and many opportunities to grow - Up-to-date tech stack - Good work life balance - Job stability -- especially important during the pandemic - Friendly environment and team. - Caring employer, there are a lot of employee support programs for both individuals and families. - In general it is a company willing to invest in long term for its employees and it's family friendly.

      Cons

      - Technical documentation is a bit lacking, - Cross region coordination with other Samsung department could be a little challenging. - Some Samsung internal systems seem to be old and need updates. - No stocks. (Whether if it's a pro or con is debatable)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Sr. manager HR Ops

      Thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear that your time at SRA has been a positive experience. Have a great day!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great team, great leadership

      Apr 26, 2021 - Staff Engineer in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of exciting and ambitious projects ongoing in Standards and Mobility Lab (SMI) at SRA.

      Cons

      Lots of influence and guidance from HQ in Korea

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Sr. manager HR Ops

      Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you are enjoying your projects and thriving at SRA. We appreciate your feedback.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      One of the best places to work for

      Apr 1, 2021 - Engineer, Senior Staff/Manager in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Very cutting-edge innovation and research. -Ability to propose and work on ideas and potentially bring it to market like a startups -Open communication with all high up the leadership

      Cons

      -Heavy paperwork even for a small expense -Multiple HR applications with the headache of remembering and changing passwords every 3 month

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Sr. manager HR Ops

      Hello and thank you for feedback. Please know that we will share your suggestions to the appropriate teams. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 335 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Samsung Research America Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Samsung Research America? Share Your Experiences

    Samsung Research America logo
    or