Samworth Brothers Reviews | Glassdoor

Samworth Brothers Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Flor Healy
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours when working, Long travel, Sometimes other staff don't work as hard, Could work longer shifts, Better communication needed(in 3 reviews)

  • "Pension scheme has been changed several times in the last couple of years and is no longer all that(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Harwroke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sandwich Artist in Melton Mowbray, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Samworth Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nicely and frankly managements

    Cons

    Good jobs nicely managements

    Advice to Management

    Nicely managements and help fol work

    Samworth Brothers2019-08-18
  2. "Chilled Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Opeative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samworth Brothers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have got a good team. You get sufficient breaks. Supervisors and the shift manager are cool. They all will help you and won't put any pressure.

    Cons

    It is a chilled warehouse. Temperature would be 4 degree Celsius.

    Samworth Brothers2019-08-15
  3. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Production Operative in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samworth Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pros is that there is free and secure parking.

    Cons

    Worst place to work, so many bullies.Not welcoming place for a new starter. Day1 & 2, those were training days which were good, Day 3&4 was a nightmare, Put on a slow machine for a starter, then moved to a faster machine and if you not doing things correctly, team leaders start shouting at you, agency staff shout at you also. If you disagree, they start talking in their own language about you. People that have...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to look into this!!!!!!

    Samworth Brothers2019-08-17
  4. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Auditor in Melton Mowbray, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samworth Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cares for its employees with opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Slightly antiquated systems in place

    Samworth Brothers2019-06-28
  5. "Growing and Developing in a Friendly Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Partner in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samworth Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Teamwork Communication Flexible - good work life balance New Opportunities Lots of potential and open to change

    Cons

    You need to recognise that change takes time but the plans and determination are there and good progress is being made

    Samworth Brothers2019-06-20
  6. "Great people / Poor Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personnel in Melton Mowbray, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Samworth Brothers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are fantastic. The benefits were amazing but that's changing, as you would expect. Kettleby Foods a lovely environment aesthetically.

    Cons

    Change is good but Kettleby Foods is becoming disorganised and People are not put first by the Senior Management. Such a shame as the people are brilliant!

    Advice to Management

    Group management should take note of why people are leaving and how long serving line managers are treated. If Group won't listen, then Samworths will lose the fantastic reputation it once had. The reasons reported by the site for people leaving is not always accurate. I would beware of Unions attempting to get in again in the near future. Stop giving the surveys lip service.

    Samworth Brothers2019-07-01
  7. "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Administrator in Leicester, England

    I worked at Samworth Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working Evironment. Flexible. Helpful people within the Business. Great teamwork.

    Cons

    Communication from sites could be more smooth.

    Samworth Brothers2019-04-11

    Samworth Brothers Response

    April 26, 2019Talent & Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Communication is definitely something that we are always looking to improve as it is a challenge across a large group, so thank you for picking this up as an area of focus for us.

  8. "Production planning and team supervision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Samworth Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Good working hours and ok pay

    Cons

    A l l o k

    Samworth Brothers2019-03-25

    Samworth Brothers Response

    April 8, 2019Talent & Resourcing Manager

    Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review and for recommending Samworth Brothers as a place to work!

  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Degree Apprentice in Leicester, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Samworth Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Profit Share scheme Good development opportunities

    Cons

    Traditional culture can sometimes backfire.

    Samworth Brothers2019-02-13

    Samworth Brothers Response

    April 8, 2019Talent & Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review the company and recommend Samworth Brothers as a place to work. We do recognise the need to be more agile and whilst we are proud of our tradition we must ensure that we honour this whilst continuing to build on our success and move forward.

  10. "Closing down soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Samworth Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Mostly great people to work with here, and the work itself is typically very easy.

    Cons

    Work is very repetitive, and sometimes it feels like managers take advantage of you.

    Samworth Brothers2019-01-30

    Samworth Brothers Response

    April 8, 2019Talent & Resourcing Manager

    Thank you very much for your review. We do take all feedback on board but appreciate that there are aspects that could have improved your experience of working for us.

Found 54 reviews