San Bernardino County Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
69%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
San Bernardino County CEO Gary McBride (no image)
Gary McBride
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay compared to private sector(in 7 reviews)

  • "We are treated like overworked robots and expected to manage extremely high caseloads(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Like it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Eligibility Worker II in Victorville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at San Bernardino County full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health care and co workers

    Cons

    TAD doesn’t work with student schedules

    San Bernardino County2020-05-28
  2. "Your Boss & Coworkers Matter Most"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Specialist in San Bernardino, CA

    I worked at San Bernardino County full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, solid work/life balance, decent pay.

    Cons

    Stuck in a silo. Hard to collab.

    San Bernardino County2020-05-11
  3. "Work is steady, training can be difficult"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Specialist 

    I worked at San Bernardino County full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and separation of workload among staff

    Cons

    Training can be stressful due to so many rules

    San Bernardino County2020-05-15
  4. "San Bernardino County"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Sheriff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San Bernardino County full-time

    Pros

    Incredible people to work for.

    Cons

    Not the newest of equipment.

    San Bernardino County2020-04-19
  5. "Do not take this job go to another city or department,I’m happier at my new city and department have no problem"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Park Services in San Bernardino, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at San Bernardino County part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Looks good for another job , you’ll work all holidays and weekends ,you’ll spend your time with old grumpy men all the time,you’ll make minimum wage for cleaning trash,poop,and homeless people needles and beds,you’ll get odd ball hours ,in 5 years maybe they’ll give you a promotion once some of the old dudes retire. Some good people and coworkers there .

    Cons

    NO VETERANS DISCOUNT ,Boring,bad management clueless low motivation because of old workers ,no innovation or imagination ,no hazard pay for cleaning human feces or heroine needles,no pay for monitoring county assigned workers,no movement,NO VETERANS DISCOUNT.

    Continue reading
    San Bernardino County2020-04-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Productivity"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Accounting Technician 

    I have been working at San Bernardino County full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and friendly knowledgeable all the good stuff.

    Cons

    Week two I was evaluated without my knowledge of job low productivity. One week later given a memo of concern for productivity. Then, I emailed my progress three times throughout the day. Eight days later was terminated for low productivity.

    San Bernardino County2020-02-19
  7. "Wouldn't Recommend"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at San Bernardino County full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping clients, the team I work on, clerical staff are very helpful and kind and the benefits with pension.

    Cons

    Supervisors do not train and expect you to know how to do things. Then, they keep adding to your caseload but do not provide helpful supervision or any sometimes. I'm doing jobs that are not in my job description. Relativity low Pay. Some Staff have boundary issues.

    Continue reading
    San Bernardino County2020-01-07
  8. "Quite part time position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Upland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at San Bernardino County part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Usually you work with only one client at a time, there really isn't a lot to do, this of course depends on the Client.

    Cons

    Part time usually. The pay is very low

    Continue reading
    San Bernardino County2019-12-01
  9. "ISD not greatest place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer/Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San Bernardino County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The pay is somewhat reasonable

    Cons

    Management keeps creating unnecessary layers, but don't do much for the employees They don't have vision.

    San Bernardino County2019-12-12
  10. "Great opportunities to advance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Analyst II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San Bernardino County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. Huge organization, so lots of opportunities for advancement or career changes 2. Professional organizations for networking and professional growth (County Women's Network, Executive Secretaries Forum, Hispanic Employees Alliance, and many more) 3. Great benefits

    Cons

    1. Many departments have had huge increase in demand for services but hiring of staff has not kept up with needs 2. Although supervisor and management training exists, it is not utilized by all and there are some rotten leaders sprinkled around.

    San Bernardino County2019-10-24
Found 194 reviews