San Diego Zoo Global Reviews | Glassdoor

San Diego Zoo Global Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
San Diego Zoo Global President and CEO    Douglas Myers    (no image)
Douglas Myers
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "I really enjoy working for this conservation organization(in 14 reviews)

  • "My experience with SDGZ: Safari Park (Safari Experiences) was as a tour guide; and they equipped me well in training(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "can take several years to be offered a full time position(in 9 reviews)

  • "Non-profit limitations, long tenures, favoritism(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great experience and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shuttle Driver in Escondido, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San Diego Zoo Global part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, great pay, enjoyable work environment, bonded employees

    Cons

    no guaranteed hours, hours fluctuate with seasons,

    San Diego Zoo Global2020-01-24
  2. "fun place with a hint of danger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San Diego Zoo Global part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was really enjoyable to be apart of the San Diego Zoo

    Cons

    Many times the work environment was improvised and sometime dangerous

    Continue reading
    San Diego Zoo Global2020-01-30
  3. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Ambassador in Escondido, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San Diego Zoo Global part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People and animals were always great to work near fun atmosphere they usually promote from within good management

    Cons

    extremely busy on some busy days can be somewhat stressful working for a non-profit at a low level means low pay (fair pay)

    San Diego Zoo Global2020-01-14
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Continuous Improvement Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San Diego Zoo Global full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and proactive communications.

    Cons

    Require working weekends for some employees.

    San Diego Zoo Global2020-01-24
  5. "Cool place to work but little to no room for career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San Diego Zoo Global part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A really cool place to work. How many jobs exist where you walk by parakeets, gorillas and sugar gliders on your break? Nice coworkers.

    Cons

    Management clearly has favorites and if you aren't one of them your hours/where you are positioned for the day are crap. Toxic work environment at times. Supervisors hold you back from other opportunities that you are given.

    San Diego Zoo Global2019-11-21
  6. "The Zoo is a great place to work at and i really enjoy being there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Staff in San Diego, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San Diego Zoo Global full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the staff is really friendly and the people that attend the zoo are really great

    Cons

    slow hours on occasions and the hours are all over the place

    San Diego Zoo Global2019-10-31
  7. "Cool job... Bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at San Diego Zoo Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is unique and rewarding. Highly stimulating and variable work and lots of time outside.

    Cons

    The pay is low. Even higher positions seem to have unsatisfactory pay.

    San Diego Zoo Global2019-10-21
  8. "Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dishwasher in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San Diego Zoo Global part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly workers, fun environment, lots of people to talk to

    Cons

    hard work, long hours, dirty work

    San Diego Zoo Global2019-10-24
  9. "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAN Diego Zoo in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San Diego Zoo Global part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very unique and pristine landscape surrounds, you get to see animals every single day. Employees are passionate about conservation and the environment.

    Cons

    From the mood and culture of the workforce, career growth is limited and unfortunately good, qualified employees tend to get overlooked.

    Continue reading
    San Diego Zoo Global2019-09-11
  10. "Good environment, not enough hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at San Diego Zoo Global part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leads were nice, most of the managers were nice, job isn't that difficult if you're lucky enough to work indoors, always on time with making sure you get breaks.

    Cons

    Really hard to get enough hours. Worked there for almost 3 years and I was lucky if I got an average of 15 hours a week, then they want you to have full availability so it makes it difficult to get a second job.

    San Diego Zoo Global2019-08-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 132 reviews