San Francisco International Airport Reviews | Glassdoor

San Francisco International Airport Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
San Francisco International Airport CEO Ivar C Satero
Ivar C Satero
2 Ratings
  1. "Nice environment and people, diverse work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Traffic Engineer Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San Francisco International Airport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Great place to learn new and fresh things 2. Gain responsibility on big project even as a intern 3. Very good culture and working environment

    Cons

    1. Exciting project got pushed back frequently by Higher Authorities. 2. No more.

    San Francisco International Airport2019-03-12
  2. Helpful (4)

    "If your going to ITT, dont."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San Francisco International Airport full-time

    Pros

    Lots of untapped potential in terms of interesting projects Location Retirement benefits Easy, so easy most staff watch videos all day or nap.

    Cons

    Senior ITT leadership demonstrates significant competancy issues. If your coming here to learn, you wont, you may actually unlearn. Pay and vacation entitlements are significantly behind anywhere else in the area. No bonuses or any performance incentives at all. Employees are not cared for or grown. There is no career here, just desk filling until you retire. Projects start but never finish and this... manifests itself as constant frustration for other people in the airport.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Turn over the entire ITT senior leadership (Rene may be the possible exception). Adjust your comp scales so you can hire and retain good people. Empower the people you hire, especially when you have no idea what your talking about. Take projects from start to finish.

    San Francisco International Airport2018-10-25
  3. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San Francisco International Airport full-time

    Pros

    Fair and true work/life balance, work is on forward-thinking projects.

    Cons

    As with most positions in government, there is a bit more red tape, which can slow down momentum. Must have a bit of patience as well as persistence to push through.

    Advice to Management

    Great job so far! Qualify future employees that will continue to add to the changing culture!

    San Francisco International Airport2018-02-14
  4. "Guest Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Internship 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at San Francisco International Airport

    Pros

    Awesome Environment to work for.

    Cons

    Some passengers were a bit rude.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    San Francisco International Airport2017-11-21
  5. "Slow and steady but many growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at San Francisco International Airport part-time

    Pros

    little overtime, good benefits, can do what you are interested in

    Cons

    work is slow and often changes priority, leaving projects unfinished

    San Francisco International Airport2017-11-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for aspiring airport professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at San Francisco International Airport

    Pros

    Lots of interesting projects happening in the near future. Great time to be a part of a dynamic organization that has a bright outlook.

    Cons

    It is a large organization. Even with strong leadership and lots going on, it is possible to fall by the wayside. Each department has its own culture, which could be a good or bad thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep setting a high bar, striving for excellence, and recognizing your workers. Open up new ways for departments to cross-pollinate and nurture well-rounded airport professionals.

    San Francisco International Airport2016-07-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at San Francisco International Airport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It really is a great place to work with a cohesive supportive culture of excellence. Very nimble for a government entity. Great wellness programs and free gym on site. Highest paying for any County government in the Bay Area. Great medical and retirement plan. Hugh growth in the travel/airline industry keeps us every moving and 20 years set in the master plan for capitol projects.

    Cons

    No major cons. It is still a government entity so pay scale is set and there are no bonuses. Only 8-5 schedules for most staff unless it is shift work job.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back programs for work/life balance like alternate schedules like 9/80 or 4/10's.

    San Francisco International Airport2016-06-09
  8. "Summer Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at San Francisco International Airport

    Pros

    They care a lot about interns and want them to have a good learning experience.

    Cons

    Can get boring at times

    San Francisco International Airport2015-11-11
  9. "my review wouldn't be justified if I spoke my true feelings."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at San Francisco International Airport for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I am getting a check and that's what keeps me motivated to keep it moving and smiling. My faith allows me to see past what some people can't. I believe prayer and my work ethics will surpass what I believe to be an uphill battle.

    Cons

    It's not what you know it's who you know. I have seen people get moved in and moved up without having any type of education. If you know someone you will be able to be placed right in front of someone who worked the job for years without having any experience. Ask any employee who worked here over 10 years they will tell you this is true.

    Advice to Management

    Start hiring within. This helps with morale issues and will prevent stressed out employees.

    San Francisco International Airport2015-10-13
  10. "student design trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Design Trainee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at San Francisco International Airport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relaxed environment, low stress, slow paced, low-key upper management, friendly ambiance, nurturing for a an entry level position, good learning enviroment

    Cons

    traditional practices, blurred structure, very very limited upward mobility, conservative and older staff, everyone seems like they lack senses of urgency and relax past deadlines

    Advice to Management

    Keep things fresher

    San Francisco International Airport2015-02-18
Found 16 reviews