San Francisco Unified School District Reviews | Glassdoor

San Francisco Unified School District Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
San Francisco Unified School District CEO Richard A. Carranza
Richard A. Carranza
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you want to work in a district that believe equity can be a reality, come to SFUSD(in 21 reviews)

  • "A lot of really dedicated teachers(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "That's what teaching in SFUSD is all about(in 11 reviews)

  • "Low pay if part time, not realistic in the location that I live in(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good district overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher, Secondary School 

    I worked at San Francisco Unified School District full-time

    Pros

    Social justice oriented. Committed to equity and serving a diverse demographic. Support from district can be felt in terms of coaching.

    Cons

    Long hours (usual for any teaching job)

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-06-24
  2. "Teaching in SF is HARD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bilingual Elementary Teacher in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at San Francisco Unified School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, fulfilling work, great district values

    Cons

    Inadequate pay, insufficient support for the stress of the job, doesn't live up to its promises

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-08-16
  3. "Being a classroom assistant gives you a lot of experience for becoming a teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Instructional Assistant 

    I worked at San Francisco Unified School District part-time

    Pros

    There are innovative teachers and alternative schools

    Cons

    Salary does not match cost of living

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-08-05
  4. "Great once you break in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at San Francisco Unified School District full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, flexible hours, benefits

    Cons

    Long waiting list; the process takes months to get hired

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-07-04
  5. "Good benefits but salaries and paternity/maternity leave should be addressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resource Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San Francisco Unified School District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -District folks may support you with challenges if you make enough noise through the proper channels. There are some great behavior specialists, for example, who can really make a difference with high needs students. -It makes a huge difference if you find a school with a strong culture and great leadership. Do your research! -Also helps to have a great school psychologist.

    Cons

    -Special Ed content specialists are hit or miss (it's a tough role to fill, because you're essentially dealing with angry parents and principals all day) -Trainings are hit or miss. The best ones I had were through Goalbook, which is a partner of the district.

    Advice to Management

    Should be better PDs and training opportunities for special ed teachers, as well as a plan for adequately staffing schools based on student need!

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-06-10
  6. "Government job that is behind times in technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IS Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at San Francisco Unified School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you are well versed in Windows and Cisco technology and don't have a passion for learning new skills, then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Massive amounts of tech debt if you're looking to get a job outside of the government circle.

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-06-24
  7. "Adults know better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at San Francisco Unified School District full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids who know how to act are amazing

    Cons

    The kids who don’t know how to act run the school

    Advice to Management

    Discipline is part of equity. Don’t set children up for failure

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-06-24
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Paraprofessional 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at San Francisco Unified School District full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management style. The principal arent using helicopter approach

    Cons

    New employee dont get holiday pay till 6 months and considering the economy we are in and the amount of holidays the district have its not enough pay

    Advice to Management

    Give everyone holiday pay the job is stressful enough

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-06-04
  9. "Poor Management, Difficult Conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San Francisco Unified School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I had my own classroom - I was able to get access to a computer for my IEPs - Teachers were generally welcoming for push-in

    Cons

    - Still writing on a chalk board - Difficult to get technology in the classroom—projector, etc. - High burnout rate among coworkers

    Advice to Management

    Invest in technology and add more administrators to give support to teachers.

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-06-13
  10. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at San Francisco Unified School District full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, no micro managing good students

    Cons

    pay, no holiday and sick leave for new employee

    San Francisco Unified School District2019-06-08
Found 187 reviews