San Jacinto College Reviews | Glassdoor

San Jacinto College Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
San Jacinto College CEO Brenda Hellyer
Brenda Hellyer
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, fair pay, good leadership, excellent students(in 5 reviews)

  • "Very goal focused and offers employees great benefits including professional development and training to continue to improve and promote(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have not seen any posting for full-time teaching positions in the two years I have been employed at San Jac(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Library Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at San Jacinto College part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great Place to work and Management is Flexible

    Cons

    There is nothing wrong.

    San Jacinto College2019-04-29
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty 

      I have been working at San Jacinto College part-time

      Pros

      The people are very friendly and welcoming.

      Cons

      Not enough full time positions.

      San Jacinto College2019-02-28
    • "Great work place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at San Jacinto College full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      They love the students and care about their success.

      Cons

      Work loads vary all the time

      San Jacinto College2019-01-25
    • "Clinical Faculty"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at San Jacinto College part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Autonomous work, rewarding, good team

      Cons

      Somewhat disorganized at times, programs changing.

      San Jacinto College2018-11-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at San Jacinto College full-time

      Pros

      Provided Lots of helpful training

      Cons

      Little room for promotion unless you are a favorite with management

      San Jacinto College2018-10-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Little to no opportunity for advancement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at San Jacinto College full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Generous holidays, state benefits and retirement.

      Cons

      Little opportunity for advancement. Chancellor publicly says the college likes to grow their own. Couldn't be further from the truth. Most are stuck in the same position in which they're hired until they resign or retire. Most higher level positions are filled via appointments instead of following college hiring practices including hiring external candidates. I had subordinates who applied for multiple internal...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The board needs to wake up. Get your heads out of the sand. You are elected to your positions not appointed. You need to ask questions. You need to read documents. There's so much going on in the day to day operations about which you aren't informed. Why is admin spending so much time on Aspen award? Your main job is educating students, not chasing an award that means nothing to the community. All it does is fluff...

      Show More
      San Jacinto College2018-10-30
    • "Financial Aid Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at San Jacinto College part-time

        Pros

        Flexible schedule, great working environment, good benefit,

        Cons

        Salary, expected to work extra

        San Jacinto College2018-09-17
      • "Preschool teachers aide"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at San Jacinto College

        Pros

        The kids, sometimes you're offered scholarships, and I received a lot of really good opportunities.

        Cons

        The staff can be catty.

        San Jacinto College2018-08-16
      • Helpful (1)

        "Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at San Jacinto College full-time

          Pros

          Provides many degrees and certificates to the community, a great community college. Very innovative, not afraid to try new processes.

          Cons

          Too many initiatives and goals coming down from top leadership, although intentions are good.

          San Jacinto College2018-07-01
        • Helpful (1)

          "No Stress for me."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Dual Credit Coordinator in Pasadena, TX
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at San Jacinto College full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          I honestly love going to work in the morning and sometimes hate that I have to go home at 5.

          Cons

          Some things are odd...like other managers have input on my evaluation. Nothing major.

          San Jacinto College2018-06-08
        Found 75 reviews