San José State University Graduate Student Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

San José State University Graduate Student Assistant Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
San José State University CEO Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
2 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work as student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Research Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for students with classic

    Cons

    Doesn't help much in future

    San José State University2018-12-28
  2. "SJSU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Research Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    its great working at the IT Service Desk at SJSU

    Cons

    No cons working at SJSU

    San José State University2018-05-03
  3. "Graduate Student Assistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Likeable work culture, and great mentoring !

    Cons

    Not that I know of.

    San José State University2016-04-19
  4. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is really a good place to work. I like the flexible schedule which they opt me to choose at start of each semester based on my class schedule.

    Cons

    At times there will be full work and they expect you to do without any others help. You also need to extend to complete it without the extra compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Please inform student assistants if there are any change in the schedules. Sometimes i see many of them doing nothing just because a class has been cancelled.

    San José State University2015-11-21
  5. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, great learning opportunity.

    Cons

    No cons as such. Only thing is you have to manage your study schedule and work schedule

    Advice to Management

    A more flexible work schedule for the students

    San José State University2015-10-20
  6. "Great for Entry Level Postion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graduate Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University for less than a year

    Pros

    Great starting point for career. Laid back work environment

    Cons

    Benefits are minimal. No PTO.

    Advice to Management

    None

    San José State University2014-10-22
  7. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Student Assistant 

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefit, and good salary. meeting lots of good people.

    Cons

    nothing bad about this job

    San José State University2014-09-13
  8. "Excellent Learning and Research oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location : Silicon valley, very good to have industrial exposure along with studies Also Good faculty and good labs and coursework

    Cons

    All courses are not offered in every semester Also summer classes are not there which will sometime delay your graduation

    Advice to Management

    None

    San José State University2013-10-29
Found 8 reviews