San José State University Graphic Designer Reviews | Glassdoor

San José State University Graphic Designer Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
San José State University CEO Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
1 Ratings
  1. "Nice place to gather experience as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time according to the class schedule Nice supervisors and mentors

    Cons

    Not very competitive working experience

    San José State University2019-04-25
  2. "Great Opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web/Graphic Designer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to get first hand experience with reputable mentors. I was instilled with trust to figure out creative solutions for tasks completed.

    Cons

    No cons to report, other than I wish they would pay more, but thats what you can expect from a student working position.

    San José State University2019-08-25
  3. "Great Working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leaders, working environment and flexible schedules

    Cons

    Pay rate is way too low

    San José State University2019-07-18
  4. "Designer Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The interview was straightforward

    Cons

    Marketing collateral for events are almost the same every year.

    San José State University2019-03-22
  5. "Interning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Graphic Design Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at San José State University for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible on hours with students' class schedules.

    Cons

    Limit on how many hours you can work if you plan on working a lot because of work study.

    San José State University2019-02-09
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graphic Designer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff is very friendly, creative, helpful, and they do amazing work that elevates the university.

    Cons

    Have not had any negative experiences.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job!

    San José State University2018-03-25
  7. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University

    Pros

    relax, friendly people to work with

    Cons

    not good for learning, benefit and salary is not so good as well

    San José State University2015-08-05
  8. "Gain valuable experience as designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Design Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gained experience in graphic design while having the flexibility to change my schedule when class projects were too hectic. Great community of faculty and staff members, as well as students.

    Cons

    There honestly weren't many cons about working for San Jose State. The thing I wish I could change was the amount of hours I worked, but the budget didn't really accommodate.

    San José State University2015-05-09
  9. "Graphic Design Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Graphic Design Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at San José State University for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment and nice people. iHouse has a wide range of activities and events, students could get experience there, which may build up their confidence.

    Cons

    There are many traditions and rules that might be the challenge to do creativity projects. In addition, the majority of residences are exchange students, learning the good way to communicate with people who have different background is not a easy thing.

    Advice to Management

    Organising more activities for current residents. Moreover, reinforce the relationship with alumni, it could through sending newsletter, social media messages and so on.

    San José State University2014-04-10
  10. "Excellent place for students to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful in environment to work in with like minded people. I work for Associated students doing graphic design. There is great flexibility as it relates to scheduling and I am given the opportunity to be a self starter and work independently as well as collaborate with vendors and colleges. I am allowed to be as creative as I want. There is much respect for the creative process of the designers.

    Cons

    Hours are capped due to budget and I only get paid once a month.

    Advice to Management

    Acquire more Mac computers for design stations

    San José State University2014-01-02
Found 10 reviews