San José State University Instructional Student Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

San José State University Instructional Student Assistant Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
San José State University CEO Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair compensation for part time student work, some freedom in scheduling and faculty is all very accommodating.

    Cons

    Sometimes you can't get as many hours as you want.

    San José State University2017-12-27
  2. "Flexible working hours but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work hours are very flexible and convenient

    Cons

    The pay is very low

    San José State University2018-10-21
  3. "Depends on Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Student Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    It's wonderful to be able to work while in school, to make some money to support myself without committing to an outside entity. The professors I work for are amazing; they understand that the students that work for them are almost as busy as they are. As long as the work gets done, they are happy. The work I'm grading is also almost entirely turned in online, so I don't have to pick up and drop off work at... classrooms during my personal time.

    Show More

    Cons

    It does depend on the professor you work for. My pros aren't necessarily universal. It is only part-time work and on top of the schoolwork you already have, because you have to be a student to be an instructional student assistant.

    San José State University2017-04-28
  4. "Instructional Student Assistant(ISA)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Instructional Student Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at San José State University for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly professor, nice working environment

    Cons

    No cons, job is very stress free

    San José State University2016-07-08
  5. "SJSU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Instructional Student Assistant in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at San José State University

    Pros

    good experience working on the research project

    Cons

    I donot have any for cons

    San José State University2016-07-07
  6. "Instructional Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I worked at San José State University for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning experience if working under good professor

    Cons

    The pay is a bit on the lower side and less working hours.

    San José State University2016-01-07
  7. "Instructional Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly work environment good management ISA job gives good pay, chance to learn while helping students

    Cons

    less number of hours per week

    San José State University2015-10-31
  8. "Teaching assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University for less than a year

    Pros

    it was great to teach and also to learn from student's doubts

    Cons

    none, i have nothing to say

    Advice to Management

    none

    San José State University2015-10-04
  9. "Instructional Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The time could be very flexible. And the working environment here is very comfortable. I like the university culture here.

    Cons

    The management is kind of messy. As an assistant, you may have students who come from different professors' classes, and they are in different progress.

    San José State University2015-04-23
  10. "It is a nice experience to have. how the work culture on campus would be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a part time job on campus, it is a nice experience working with professors. It is kind of learning outside the class feeling. Which is good.

    Cons

    Not enough opportunities to serve such a large community of students. There are about 32000 students on campus, with only few hundreds of jobs. Tough competition to find one.

    Advice to Management

    No funding opportunity for Computer Engineering Department. Reason being which, the Student Assistants or Teaching Assistants doesn't get paid enough, nor get any fee reimbursements. Other departments like Electrical Engineering has this opportunity.

    San José State University2015-04-05
Found 17 reviews