San José State University Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

San José State University Research Assistant Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
San José State University CEO Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
7 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I job environment is really good to work

    Cons

    No scope to continue the project due to very less funding

    San José State University2019-08-07
  2. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    Gain more knowledge about the related field. Professor always tries to help when stuck at some part during the research.

    Cons

    The advisor is usually busy and not easy to make an appointment.

    San José State University2019-08-09
  3. "Good Research work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Scope for learning new things

    Cons

    Heavy load of work and less pointers to look for.

    San José State University2019-03-23
  4. "Great research projects to get interesting experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young and energetic professors who work on exciting and challenging projects. Freedom to be creative in ways to contribute to the project.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more research opportunities for the students.

    San José State University2019-02-25
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    Get to learn a lot

    Cons

    too little hours to earn money

    San José State University2019-02-15
  6. "Good place to work as student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Research Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for students with classic

    Cons

    Doesn't help much in future

    San José State University2018-12-28
  7. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The faculty is great - It's a great learning opportunity as you get to work on challenging projects - It's in close proximity to all major tech companies

    Cons

    - The research grants are quite few and infrequent

    San José State University2018-10-29
  8. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only worthwhile experience at the school. Check out for Prof. Kaikai Liu if you are looking for RA's as well.

    Cons

    The school has a lot of cons. The job, none.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that your interests are aligned with the students' interests.

    San José State University2018-06-06
  9. "Awesome Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I love this place. Besides learning from the professor, mentors a lot of learning comes from the peers who are always ready to help.

    Cons

    Pretty much nothing. Its been a great learning experience.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, it is awesome already.

    San José State University2018-05-14
  10. "SJSU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Research Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    its great working at the IT Service Desk at SJSU

    Cons

    No cons working at SJSU

    San José State University2018-05-03
Found 20 reviews