San José State University Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
San José State University President Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
184 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment and nice teachers(in 35 reviews)

  • "welcoming & helpful community, flexible hours(in 31 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay (salary reported is for one class, which is 20% full-time)(in 23 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage for student employees(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of San José State University and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Centre

      Jun 14, 2021 - Computer Engineering in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Encourages New Ideas for deep learning

      Cons

      Bit hectic but would get around

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent

      Jun 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice, amazing, great, awesome, best

      Cons

      no cons, best school, great place

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Treats you right

      Jun 11, 2021 - Student Library Assistant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly everything. This was a great place to work.

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of. Maybe we were a little far from the bathroom

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      good

      Jun 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good place to work in sjsu

      Cons

      nothing to say for now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      Jun 12, 2021 - Undergraduate Research Assistant in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Experience to have in research

      Cons

      Professors are great to work with!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall great experience

      Jun 8, 2021 - Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      exposer to various issues and functionality of tools

      Cons

      Time-consuming have to mantain balance between study schedule

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Its Great working with San Jose state university.

      Jun 7, 2021 - Graduate Teaching Assistant in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best environment and friendly staff.

      Cons

      Lack of exposure and communication.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I love working here!

      May 19, 2021 - Lecturer in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been a lecturer at SJSU for about 6 years and I have loved every minute of it. They have always taken care of me and I love my department (Education). We have a an excellent Teacher Ed Program!

      Cons

      There really are no cons. They pay isn't great for lecturers anywhere and so this isn't a con for SJSU.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Bureaucratic, but incredibly supportive work culture

      Apr 6, 2021 - Student Affairs in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best work environments I've experienced. My colleagues appreciate my contributions and accomplishments, and my work truly gives the sense of directly accomplishing something meaningful and towards an important cause. I don't have a bad word to say about anyone.

      Cons

      -There's a frequent lack of understanding of new technologies, as the pandemic has brought to light. Many efficient processes and solutions go unused because it takes a while before they're even recognized as an option. -Cross-departmental efforts take twice as much effort as anything internal. You often need a meeting to learn and understand what another team's standards and expectations are, then another meeting to come to an agreement that works for everyone. There's generally a lot of red tape that one must learn to tolerate and adapt to, because it's usually justified.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      ITSD

      Jun 2, 2021 - ITSD Student in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment and co-workers.

      Cons

      Customers can be very rude and hostile.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 878 Reviews

    Popular Careers with San José State University Job Seekers

    Assistant Professor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Instructional Student Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    Administrative Support Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    Director of Maintenance and Operations
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Director, IT Program Management
    Learn About the Job

    Work at San José State University? Share Your Experiences

    or