San José State University Reviews | Glassdoor

San José State University Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 582 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
San José State University CEO Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
77 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Nothing no cons about this company(in 24 reviews)

  • "Professors and courses not that great(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Assistant 

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management that cares about students school and works life

    Cons

    Nothing no cons about this company

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-08-23
  2. "A bit detached, but otherwise a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Resident Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San José State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free r&b, free food, and priority registration

    Cons

    Disconnect from coworkers, cliques are very prevalent

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-08-23
  3. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I job environment is really good to work

    Cons

    No scope to continue the project due to very less funding

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-08-07
  4. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    Gain more knowledge about the related field. Professor always tries to help when stuck at some part during the research.

    Cons

    The advisor is usually busy and not easy to make an appointment.

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-08-09
  5. "Great Working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leaders, working environment and flexible schedules

    Cons

    Pay rate is way too low

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-07-18
  6. "spanish tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Spanish Tutor 

    I worked at San José State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros are being able to teach new students, and improving my own spanish skills at the same time

    Cons

    The cons are lots of students and works need to do, you need to meet them individual sometime.

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-07-01
  7. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good, friendly and very good support

    Cons

    No cons hard to find any

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-06-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience, easy-going work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a student employee, I was able to get my foot in the door in the industry I was majoring in. I learned valuable skills and practice in the field without the crushing pressure and high-stakes of a full-time job.

    Cons

    My boss was a micromanager and never trusted their student employees' decisions. While this aspect made me want to pull my hair out, it was also an on-the-job lesson on how to maintain composure.

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-06-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job I’ve ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at San José State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I can not think of one thing

    Cons

    Everything is terrible not a great place to work

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-07-11
  10. "Adjunct labor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Lecturer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Being a teacher is a meaningful profession. Each day is an opportunity to grow personally and learn from students.

    Cons

    Higher education in this country is in need of serious reform. The average cost is too high for most lower to middle class students and is based on unstable, part time, temporary, conditional adjunct labor that undermines the health, integrity, and vitality of what it means to earn an educational degree in America.

    Continue reading
    San José State University2019-06-17
Found 582 reviews