San José State University Teaching Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Teaching Associate

San José State University Teaching Associate Reviews

Updated 8 Jun 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
San José State University CEO Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
1 Ratings
  1. "Graduate Teaching Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    San Jose State offers competitive compensation for teaching associates, especially for graduate students, who have a portion of their tuition reimbursed each semester they are teaching.

    Cons

    There have been a few instances in which I felt overwhelmed between my studies and my work. As a student myself, it was only natural that certain parts of the semester (e.g. midterms and finals weeks) were extremely busy in both my own courses and the course I was helping teach.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you're doing by developing the resources available to teaching associates. By making sure your staff is comfortable with their workload and compensation, you're setting up employees for success.

    San José State University2018-01-22
  2. "Great people trapped in bureaucratic disfunction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Teaching Associate in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at San José State University for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Co-workers, bright student body, amazing variety of equipment.

    Cons

    Most dysfunctional bureaucracy I have every worked with.

    San José State University2018-06-08
  3. "Teaching Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a student and working as a TA in the same college is an added benefit.

    Cons

    Time management is a must.

    Advice to Management

    It is pretty good to work and study at SJSU.

    San José State University2016-02-12
  4. "Awsome University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super talented, kind and supportive lecturers.

    Cons

    They should offer the PhD program.

    San José State University2015-11-13
  5. "BEST TA EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They provider money and tuitions waiver for teach one class. 3 hours/class. 2 classes a week

    Cons

    really really really really have nothing to say about the down side!!!!!!!

    San José State University2015-10-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Communication Studies Wonderful Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great community and highly respectful and professional chair

    Cons

    No cons to comment on .

    San José State University2015-08-11
  7. "Teaching Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teaching Associate in San Jose, CA

    I worked at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been an great experience working at San Jose State University. I had my communication skill improved a lot. I know better how to organize my opinion and express it clearly and efficiently.

    Cons

    Parking lot is always crowded when I worked at San Jose State University. There is no other disadvantages working at San Jose State University.

    San José State University2015-06-01
  8. "My experience at SJSU was a positive one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best reasons to work here: central to Silicon Valley, get to meet a lot of people, campus constantly being updated, amazing library on campus, well organized, smooth processes in paperwork, and overall just a solid organization.

    Cons

    Buying my employee parking permit was difficult the first time I tried, because my paperwork didn't go through yet and I needed my pass that day.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management, please be sure that you try to actually do what the websites and media say about how good SJSU is. Sometimes, reality versus what is advertised is slightly skewed.

    San José State University2014-06-23
  9. "It helps pay for tuition..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Associate in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked as a graduate assistant (less pay) and a teaching associate (tuition waiver and a few employee benefits); the positions have some built-in support and give you direct experience with teaching undergraduates at SJSU. You also get to work closely with professors and some of your peers, and it looks good on your resume if you're moving on to a PhD or if you'll be teaching after you graduate. Teaching... associates also tend to get their desired class times and days and have the freedom to plan their own lessons/syllabus (as long as it fits university requirements).

    Show More

    Cons

    Bureaucratic system often makes things harder than they need to be; the classroom technology often doesn't work, and sometimes the classroom doesn't have a projector at all. Students at SJSU tend to care less about their education and more about finishing the degree in order to find a better job; it is a commuter campus.

    Advice to Management

    Upper level administration needs a complete re-vamp to reduce corruption and increase accountability to the students and the professors/lecturers/staff. If they return the focus to delivering the best education possible to the students, instead of on pocketing the most profits, we might have a reason to be proud of the university.

    San José State University2014-03-20
Found 9 reviews