San José State University "professors" Reviews | Glassdoor

San José State University Employee Reviews about "professors"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 541 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
San José State University CEO Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
69 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Nothing no cons about this company(in 24 reviews)

  • "Professors and courses not that great(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "professors"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Working as student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexibility with time. The time availability is highly negotiable.

    Cons

    - 40-hour limit imposed on all students working part-time. As a teaching assistant, my professor needed more hours from me to properly assist him. His request was rejected, and I am currently working more hours than I am actually paid for.

    Advice to Management

    Please focus on the quality of the education as an institution for knowledge.

    San José State University2019-03-02
  2. "What does the readonly keyword mean in c#?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    On-campus jobs are always better being a student. Working under the professor of your favorite course gets you more attached to the course and its content.

    Cons

    As most of the san jose state professors are part-time, to get hold of them is a little tricky

    San José State University2017-10-20
  3. "Head Bloomberg SA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    Being a student this was an amazing and rewarding job I'd recommend to anyone

    Cons

    You are working for your professors so don't do anything stupid, they'll remember.

    San José State University2017-04-30
  4. "Depends on Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Student Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    It's wonderful to be able to work while in school, to make some money to support myself without committing to an outside entity. The professors I work for are amazing; they understand that the students that work for them are almost as busy as they are. As long as the work gets done, they are happy. The work I'm grading is also almost entirely turned in online, so I don't have to pick up and drop off work at... classrooms during my personal time.

    Show More

    Cons

    It does depend on the professor you work for. My pros aren't necessarily universal. It is only part-time work and on top of the schoolwork you already have, because you have to be a student to be an instructional student assistant.

    San José State University2017-04-28
  5. "Teaching Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    A great experience to have along with student life. Teaching has always been my passion

    Cons

    Sometimes I have to be dependent on other labs and professor

    San José State University2017-04-02
  6. "Student review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great University. Lower fees and great value for money

    Cons

    Professors and courses not that great.

    Advice to Management

    Please try to appoint better professors and to keep class strength low.

    San José State University2017-01-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Tenure line faculty at SJSU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at San José State University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits one of the last companies with a real defined benefit pension plan beautiful campus in downtown San Jose

    Cons

    The SJSU motto: we get our money's worth out of our faculty. The place will work you to death. If you're an assistant professor starting out and have other options, take them. Your research will be crippled by the back-braking amount of work (4/4 load) and then you won't be fit for a job any place else. The administration functions with a scarcely concealed contempt for the faculty and stays up night coming up with... more regulations for you to follow. At least Mo Qayoumi is gone!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Considering the cost of recruiting talented professors, and the challenge convincing them that they can actually survive in Silicon Valley on an assistant prof's salary, you should treat them better when they start work at SJSU. A little moral support would be nice, since certainly the financial support is not forthcoming.

    San José State University2016-05-21
  8. "Research associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University

    Pros

    Working with professor on a project of your interest will provide you hands on experience and in depth knowledge of the subject.

    Cons

    As long as you can manage your subjects and working simultaneously, I don't see any problem in working under any professor as TA or RA.

    San José State University2016-04-05
  9. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University full-time

    Pros

    In San Jose, silicon valley. Some professors care about the students success. There seems to be a lot of Job opportunities.

    Cons

    Most professor do not care about the students well being. Most are smart and intelligent but are not good communicators or teachers.

    Advice to Management

    Need to hire more young professors, or professors who care about the students learning success.

    San José State University2016-02-26
  10. "student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at San José State University full-time

    Pros

    Good faculty good facilities good infrastructure good atmosphere good mix of cultures

    Cons

    too many admissions less classes less professors need more exposure runs like a family business, same set of

    Advice to Management

    Nothing in specific

    San José State University2015-12-21
Found 541 reviews