San José State University "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

San José State University Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 542 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
San José State University CEO Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
69 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Nothing no cons about this company(in 24 reviews)

  • "Professors and courses not that great(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not very stressful, casual work environment

    Cons

    Expected to work independently, with little training given

    San José State University2019-05-07
  2. "Slow pace environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I worked at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Did internship with SJSU, good work environment.

    Cons

    unfortunately group was not every helpful. too swamped to actually get any work done.

    San José State University2019-02-20
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it's good environment to work.

    Cons

    There's no downsides i can tell about this place.

    San José State University2018-11-12
  4. "Customer service, printing and graphics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department AssistantII in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at San José State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, encouraging to access educational advancement. Regular salary increases. Location was very close to home. Very diverse environment no decrimnation.

    Cons

    State employees occasionally where not paid because of state government shut downs. Had to pay for parking. And no 401k contribution.

    San José State University2018-11-09
  5. "Multimedia Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multimedia Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    - Encouraging and constructive work environment - Work with fellow students - Bathrooms throughout the building - Snacks provided - Uplifting staff and upper authority

    Cons

    - Internet is slow at random times

    San José State University2017-12-18
  6. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at San José State University part-time

    Pros

    It was a fun environment to work in the department I was admitted into. I learned a great deal of experience from this place and was able to learn how to prioritize my tasks, partition my schedule, and communicate with others on a whole new level.

    Cons

    Working with a large number of people is not the brightest part of the day, especially with a huge influx of unhappy requests. The staff and faculty are trying their best to accommodate students and their needs. It takes time to work through the process and a lot of people don't know the struggles of having to stay after hours at work to sort through every issue.

    San José State University2017-06-29
  7. "Good source of income and learning for Masters Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, Great colleagues

    Cons

    No cons (at least for me)

    San José State University2017-06-25
  8. "Intramural Sports Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Matthew Lee is the best supervisor

    Cons

    - budget not enough - a more sophisticated application process is required

    San José State University2017-06-08
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Network Administrator in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment and good benefits.

    Cons

    did not found any such cons of working here.

    San José State University2017-05-24
  10. "Web Design Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Design Student Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I worked at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very friendly work environment. The supervisor understands and provided good opportunities for personal and professional growth.

    Cons

    Not full implementation and utilization of skills at times.

    Advice to Management

    Please allow exposure to more industry updated methods, especially in using tools and technologies.

    San José State University2016-11-09
Found 542 reviews