San José State University "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

San José State University Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
San José State University CEO Mary A. Papazian
Mary A. Papazian
74 Ratings
  1. "Web Design Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Design Student Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I worked at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very friendly work environment. The supervisor understands and provided good opportunities for personal and professional growth.

    Cons

    Not full implementation and utilization of skills at times.

    Advice to Management

    Please allow exposure to more industry updated methods, especially in using tools and technologies.

    San José State University2016-11-09
  2. "Instructional Student Assistant(ISA)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Instructional Student Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at San José State University for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly professor, nice working environment

    Cons

    No cons, job is very stress free

    San José State University2016-07-08
  3. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Convenient for student to live and work on campus. Relaxing working environment.

    Cons

    Compensation can be improved a lot.

    San José State University2016-05-06
  4. "student assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice working environment, friendly stuff, a lot of opportunities if you are willing to make extra miles.

    Cons

    can't think any.. really enjoyed it

    San José State University2016-02-26
  5. "Teaching assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a professional working environment where professors are motivating and willing to answer any questions.

    Cons

    The number of working hours is limited.

    San José State University2016-01-20
  6. "Instructional Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly work environment good management ISA job gives good pay, chance to learn while helping students

    Cons

    less number of hours per week

    San José State University2015-10-31
  7. "UNKNOWN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Analyst in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at San José State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment. Great Benefits...

    Cons

    No cons that are meaningful enough to state

    Advice to Management

    No advice that are meaningful enough to state

    San José State University2015-08-03
  8. "Instructional Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Student Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The time could be very flexible. And the working environment here is very comfortable. I like the university culture here.

    Cons

    The management is kind of messy. As an assistant, you may have students who come from different professors' classes, and they are in different progress.

    San José State University2015-04-23
  9. "nice university with lots of good faculties."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good working environment and nice work

    Cons

    need to have deep knowledge of what we are doing

    San José State University2014-02-27
  10. "Excellent place for students to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at San José State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful in environment to work in with like minded people. I work for Associated students doing graphic design. There is great flexibility as it relates to scheduling and I am given the opportunity to be a self starter and work independently as well as collaborate with vendors and colleges. I am allowed to be as creative as I want. There is much respect for the creative process of the designers.

    Cons

    Hours are capped due to budget and I only get paid once a month.

    Advice to Management

    Acquire more Mac computers for design stations

    San José State University2014-01-02
Found 549 reviews