San Mateo County Library Reviews | Glassdoor

San Mateo County Library Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
San Mateo County Library CEO Anne-Marie Despain
Anne-Marie Despain
1 Ratings
  1. "Lead Outreach Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at San Mateo County Library part-time

    Pros

    Variety of activities and projects to do for the library system. Fair expenses reimbursements Able to schedule myself Great supervisors

    Cons

    Projects were spread out too thin at times. Career opportunities were somewhat minimal. Felt like a temporary paid position rather than an internship.

    San Mateo County Library2018-09-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Customer centric, with little concern for employees and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Assistant in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at San Mateo County Library for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - pro customer approach - emerging technology - updated technology for staff & patrons - can be fun - interactions with patrons - ability to develop programming - ability to transfer between branches (mostly due to vacancies)

    Cons

    - Constant turnover due to low pay and over reliance on extra help (sub staff). - High school interns lacking life and professional experience frequently hired just to fill in gaps. - new jobs are posted externally days to weeks before being announced internally. Common complaints from those who’ve been around for decades & those recently hired: - more than 1/2 staff at a branch are subs who change daily, rather...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find managers and supervisors with actual management experience. Work on retention. Hire from the well qualified staff within, especially for permanent PT/FT positions. Stop using subs daily to fill in work permanent staff do.

    San Mateo County Library2019-03-09
  3. "Youth and Outreach Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at San Mateo County Library

      Pros

      Loved interning here. The staff at my location was very nice and helpful. They tell you exactly what you need to know to do your job and I loved working with the kids. Fellow interns were also really friendly and nice. We made flyers and did some outreach at the Farmer's Market.

      Cons

      Not a lot to do on some days. Some days were packed and very busy and other days were slow.

      San Mateo County Library2018-11-26
    • "Great Time at the Sanchez library"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Library Aide in Pacifica, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at San Mateo County Library part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Both the staff and management have been great to work with. I've really enjoyed helping out with some of the various events we have at the library such as family movie night or musical story time. Also I get easy access to free books, CDs, and movies when I want them.

      Cons

      The building itself is rather small. This leads to issues of managing space for equipment and staff. Its very easy to bump into other staff or patrons when working there.

      San Mateo County Library2018-04-08
    • "Good experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Youth Learning and Outreach in Redwood City, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at San Mateo County Library for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible schedule Gain experience communicating with guests and children, managing activities

      Cons

      Not very busy or exciting tasks Can get repetitive

      San Mateo County Library2018-01-28
    • "Not for everyone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Library Assistant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at San Mateo County Library full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      People need libraries, especially poor people, homeless, kids.

      Cons

      Can be monotone and unappreciated work.

      Advice to Management

      It's hard to attract diverse people to libraries because the materials are not there. San Jose has some great programs that we could copy.

      San Mateo County Library2017-11-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lead Learning Facilitator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lead Teaching Facilitator in San Mateo, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at San Mateo County Library for less than a year

      Pros

      Really supportive and helpful to develop skills and manage tasks.

      Cons

      No overtime for interns, there is an abundance of work that would be don't but theres no downtime ever if you are a go getter and have the right attitude to completing tasks

      Advice to Management

      Keep your expectations high with interns. Theres much for the people that apply to work and be willing to be supportive for the needs of the organization

      San Mateo County Library2017-01-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Very humbling experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at San Mateo County Library part-time

        Pros

        Flexible hours and the staff is very kind and welcoming. Basic training lasts a week or so and the quiet environment makes it a great place to work.

        Cons

        Can get roudy at times due to sessions with kids whether it be reading or helping them find books in the database.

        San Mateo County Library2014-09-08
      • Helpful (1)

        "Aide"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at San Mateo County Library

        Pros

        Mostly a relaxed and fun environment, great colleagues that feel like family. My supervisor and branch manager were flexible and willing to listen to concerns, pay is decent, every day could have something different going on and lots of community projects and events that make the workplace vibrant and fun.

        Cons

        Long hierarchy, decisions can take a long time and some problems aren't ever addressed, doesn't really have a clear structure dealing with issues.

        San Mateo County Library2018-05-29
      Found 9 reviews