Cover image for SanDisk
Logo

SanDisk

Is this your company?

SanDisk

Add a Review

SanDisk Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 587 of over 655 reviews
3.9
70% Recommend to a Friend
SanDisk CEO Stephen D. Milligan
72% Approve of CEO

Found 586 of over 655 reviews

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
SanDisk CEO Stephen D. Milligan
Stephen D. Milligan
32 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people (generally) to work with and a main reason why I come to work each day.(in 54 reviews)
  • "Good benefit , life and work balance(in 33 reviews)
  • "good culture and surroundings.(in 25 reviews)
  • "4) Good pay with stock options(in 23 reviews)
  • "because of the salaries there was good.(in 22 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    SanDisk was a great place to Work

    Jan 19, 2022 - Diretor in Milpitas, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Team, Great Company, Great Products

    Cons

    After being acquired most of the good people left.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    good place

    Dec 6, 2021 - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    used to be a good place to work

    Cons

    stock price is not good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the SanDisk team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    ok but not great

    Aug 2, 2021 - Marketing in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flash market is a cyclic market but over all if managed correctly is cash cow

    Cons

    managment with limited vision limits teh company future

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Feb 10, 2021 - IT Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great great great great great

    Cons

    Nothing - all was good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Generous Bonus plan, Stingy on PTO, Lacks diversity, Good not Great place to work

    Jul 28, 2015 - Staff Product Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For the most part, reward is equivalent to performance. Motivated teams, very fast paced environment. If you can filter the noise, good learning experience. During regular day to day operations, never felt any discrimination, but there are groups, more like cults that don't like to collaborate.

    Cons

    Lacks diversity, sometimes situations and decision making gets too political. The generous bonus plan i mention equates to abandoning your personal life. They could be a bit more generous with the stingy PTO policy, out of which roughly 4-5 are forced PTO days, which they call shutdown. The only orientation or training that happened was with regards to HR policies and processes. Within most engineering teams, you are thrown in the pool and you learn to swim on your own. Most managers are managers because they run out of engineering titles at some point. A lot of these people need to be taught people management and people retention skills

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful

    SanDisk Response

    HR Communications

    We appreciate your feedback and your comment about our work environment. We strive to reward everyone fairly for their work and appreciate you recognizing that. We pride ourselves in contributing to the competitive environment of the Silicon Valley and believe our motivated teams are a crucial component contributing to this success. Your feedback about our orientation and training programs is very helpful. In our Voice of the Employee (VOE) survey conducted in July 2014, several other employees communicated similar concerns with regards to training. In response, a team of leaders from different departments have spent several months outlining specific issues within their organizations in terms of training, and have now created specific trainings that address the issues found within their organizations. We are confident that the time we dedicated towards this initiative will help solve several of the issues mentioned in the VOE and hope that employees find the new trainings useful! If you have any comments or suggestions, feel free to reach out to any department, as we welcome any feedback that can help us continuously improve our practices!

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Company with a future

    Nov 9, 2014 - Engineering Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Global company with good management of future business opportunities. Solid control of the supply chain with vertically integrated with volume manufacturing of leading-edge development of products ranging from SSD server racks to NAND memory manufacturing. Requires cooperation of a diverse set of technical expertise and job functions. Strong management of company financials. Careful with expenditures, manufacturing efficiency, and product margins. Culture & benefits typical of tech companies. Constantly challenged by impossible design targets and schedules. Company pushes people to work hard. Engineering teams are goal focused with a shared sense of responsibility to deliver results. Company introduced health & wellness programs. Encourages contributions back to the community.

    Cons

    Expectations for results are high. If you're looking for quiet place to settle down, this is not for you. Constant reorganizations. Individuals may experience a lot of churn. If you're not politically astute, you'll be left behind. Work style expects people to toe the line and go along with management. Better to keep your head down and keep your opinions to yourself. Extremely stingy when it comes to reviews and promotions.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Doing the best they can with Enterprise

    Jun 12, 2015 - Systems Design Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management seems to be quick to do what is necessary as they begin breaking out into the enterprise flash market. Customers definitely trust the brand and are eager to get a hold of new products. I came in as part of an acquisition of a smaller flash company who did not have a well-known brand and you can definitely feel the difference with the SanDisk name in meetings with new customers.

    Cons

    A few of the products could be better thought-out. There's definitely one or two situations where a product was created without a problem for it to solve. Building new products that don't directly support some current software is a definite no-no these days, so that will have to be addressed ASAP.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Aging semi conductor manufacturer

    Dec 15, 2015 - Staff Test Development Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Used to have good benefits and culture. Can be a good learning career if the employee is active and aggressive. Working environment is well maintained, plus employer sponsored free cell phone. Good exposure to both engineering R&D and mass production systems.

    Cons

    What made SanDisk great is starting to fade away and SanDisk is becoming more average. People are very conservative and everyone is rather protecting the status quo than taking a risk of making real changes for the benefits of being more efficient. SanDisk typically follows a 3 year up/down cycle and right now it is in the down phase. One year of free dinner every evening can be followed by another without a single one. Not sure if there will be another up phase since it is being acquired by WD. Management is rigid with lots of politics. The management team is not adapted to technology changes and the business model isn't working out any more.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SanDisk Response

    HR Communications

    We appreciate your honest feedback. We have developed a performance review system that allows us to evaluate and promote individuals in an unbiased manner. Our goal is to have a superior management team that is continually developing and learning the best ways to manage their teams, which is why we have implemented a Manager Feedback Survey this year. The survey results have been used to spark these developmental discussions with managers. If you have additional feedback for management, we recommend you reach out to your manager, or the head of your department. Thank you.

  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Firmware Engineer

    Aug 6, 2015 - Principal Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent compensation, bonus paid regularly if decent market. If you end up with supportive management (and there are some), means good opportunity for RSU's, extra compensation. company position as one of few captive suppliers of Flash memory could offer good long term prospects..

    Cons

    Hard silos, hierarchical management. As political as I've ever seen, even within groups. Getting on the wrong side of some senior manager by doing things like disagreeing with the party line can result in severe career consequences, which can be unrecoverable. Information and good opportunities, including what is needed to progress in your career, are tightly managed to create a class system of haves and have-nots. Information transfer between groups (Enterprise products, memory team, consumer products) is virtually non-existent at the engineer level, controlled tightly by management, and funneled through a favored few engineers. In some 'teams' communication is non-existent (one group communication within organization in nearly two years?).

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Sr Sales Operations Account Manager

    Jun 6, 2015 - Senior Sales Operations Account Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I liked being a part of a large company. There was a lot of room to learn and grow. I liked that they had development webinars. The people that I worked with were nice.

    Cons

    There were a lot of meetings so supervisors were always busy on the phone or in a conference room. Most people would do their job and then throw the task over the fence to the next person and not give it another thought. The next person may or may not have known the task was in their court. A lot of things slipped through the cracks on their way through the system. Lots of long processes where multiple people had to be involved to get anything done. No work life balance. You are just a number.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 586 Reviews
</>Embed

SanDisk Reviews FAQs

SanDisk has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 655 reviews left anonymously by employees. 70% of employees would recommend working at SanDisk to a friend and 51% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SanDisk employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SanDisk. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

70% of SanDisk employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SanDisk 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SanDisk to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with SanDisk Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SanDisk? Share Your Experiences

SanDisk logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

SanDisk Photos

+ Add Photo
SanDisk photo of: SanDisk emloyees donate 25,000 pounds of canned food and $125,000 to SHFB with CANstruction event.
SanDisk photo of: Winners of SanDisk's Second Annual Hackathon
SanDisk photo of: SanDisk employees helped our CEO, Sanjay Mehrotra, complete the Ice Bucket Challenge to raise awareness and funds for ALS
SanDisk photo of: Employee spelling bee and silent auction as part of our Light the Night fundraising campaign to benefit the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society
SanDisk photo of: Jean Bozman kicks off our Flash Forums at Oracle Open World with the business benefits of database acceleration with SSDs
SanDisk photo of: Welcome to Open@SanDisk!
SanDisk photo of: Ribbon cutting ceremony for our newest research and development facility in Massachusetts
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Fusion-io, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

SanDisk Job Seekers Also Viewed

Intel Corporation Logo
Intel Corporation

4.2

26,226 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 655 SanDisk reviews submitted anonymously by SanDisk employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if SanDisk is right for you.