SandRidge Energy Employee Reviews about "sandridge"

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 107 reviews

4.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
SandRidge Energy President and Chief Executive Officer 	James D. Bennett (no image)
James D. Bennett
53 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "sandridge"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Assistant superintendent work over

    Nov 30, 2016 - Work Over Superintendent in San Angelo, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work, great people, inclusive culture

    Cons

    No cons that I have within SandRidge Energy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Good job for a long time

    Aug 15, 2019 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best part about Sandridge is the people

    Cons

    Job security over the last few years

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Geologist I

    Aug 15, 2018 -  in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SandRidge cares about their employees and has very good benefits.

    Cons

    Company has gone through several restructurings.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Sad To Leave

    Dec 16, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great community, awesome benefits, lots of community outreach. SandRidge cares about their employees.

    Cons

    The downturn of the industry has lead to many cutbacks and hundreds of layoffs.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Company, Bad Economy

    Nov 14, 2016 - Senior Systems Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SandRidge takes care of their employees. The work environment is great and the salaries are above the industry average.

    Cons

    The oil industry is really bad right now so they have been laying off people.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Accountant I

    Aug 4, 2016 - Accountant I in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really liked working for SandRidge in the accounting department. Like at any company there are personalities that are easy to get along with and then therefore those that are challenging. Luckily for me my immediate coworkers and supervisors were the former. I would have continued to work at SandRidge, but I had to move cities for personal reasons. When I left in 2015 my salary was a little below the market rate, but the benefits made up for the difference. However that was before price of oil tanked.

    Cons

    Former management made some interesting choices on the company's acquisitions and divestitures during my tenure. They probably should have held on to the offshore business and diversified out of the MidCon region.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Oil & Gas

    Mar 15, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SandRidge was an excellent company to work for. Everyone was pleasant to work alongside and they strove to make their employees happy with a variety of benefits.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons, except that maybe there were some bad managers on various floors so each floor had a very different feeling to it.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work!

    Dec 29, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've really enjoyed working here. SandRidge is a great group of people, and they've really made an effort focus on work-life balance in the past couple years

    Cons

    There aren't very clear avenues for development or promotion. After a while you can sometimes feel stuck in your role.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Freelancer

    External Oil & Gas Title Attorney

    May 11, 2015 - Oil & Gas Attorney in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked with/for a wonderful, dedicated group of young oil and gas professionals that made me want to work on SandRidge projects to develop our Oklahoma natural resources.

    Cons

    As an outside attorney, management does not know who I am, and cuts in the 2015 budget effectively eliminated my position. I never had an opportunity to present an argument to retain my services. I miss working with the six LandMen and women on our Western Oklahoma prospects.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Going on one year and wondering if I should have made the transition

    Jun 12, 2014 - Measurement Tech in Alva, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I believe the pros and cons directly depend on your position and what area you work out of. To say dropping the 401k match from 15% to 10% is no big deal either shows that if you make 200k a year it wont really affect you. However someone like myself that works in the field from the Alva office that makes less than half of that a year it is a really big deal. Also Sandridge has made several changes in the structure of the company. From a field standpoint the changes we have experienced have only added confusion and more work to the employees in the field. I am sure that there are several people that the changes made a positive impact on, but I guarantee for every one person that is happy with these changes their are five people that are unhappy. On a brighter note their are probably more changes to come however when upper management is so far out of touch with what is going on in the company at the field level you cannot expect your field teams to be happy. I was promised things when i was hired that never happened and I have little faith in the management of my department. Midstream is a mess and I wish I could transfer out of the measurement group I am in. I will try and stay positive and hope that things will improve up here before we lose the last few knowledgable techs we have in our group.

    Cons

    I feel like the blind is leading the blind. Its not what you know to move up in this company. Its who you know. My views are strictly based on what I have experienced in the group I work in. But it goes all the way up the ladder. Midstream measurement or now the field automation group is managed by people with no knowledge in what we do. And this is true in OKC as well. The most qualified employees for the positions were bypassed by the least knowledgable that had friends in all the right places.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with SandRidge Energy Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SandRidge Energy? Share Your Experiences

SandRidge Energy logo
or