KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sandia National Laboratories

Engaged Employer

Sandia National Laboratories

Add a Review

Sandia National Laboratories Employee Reviews about "pay"

Updated Jun 29, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 245 of over 1,178 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Sandia National Laboratories Laboratories Director James Peery
James Peery
151 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "poor management, very risk adverse which impacts mission accomplishment(in 35 reviews)
  • "It's hard to advance without becoming a manager, which is basically an HR position.(in 21 reviews)
  • "pay a little substandard and raises are small(in 19 reviews)
  • "Big and very bureaucratic, amateurish upper management, some really bad managers, lots of really poorly managed projects, lots of projects that should never have been funded.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Endless corporate training(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sandia National Laboratories and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Intern

    The best government money can buy

    Mar 2, 2021 - Internship in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very interesting project work and flexible hours

    Cons

    Low pay and government red tape

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Decent place to work

    Mar 9, 2022 - Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay for interns and others

    Cons

    Strict management and micro managing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Was a great place to work 10 years ago but ever since NTESS (Honeywell) took over it sucks

    Jun 26, 2019 - Computer Engineer in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart technical people; pay above average for the area.

    Cons

    ABQ has a big crime problem. But that is the least of your worries. Ever since Honeywell (NTESS) took over management they have started running the place into the ground. No parking. Limited office spaces (you get to work in a mobile shed). They are cutting benefits and they don't want to pay to upgrade your computing equipment. Internet is slow. It is harder to get promoted because NTESS doesn't want to spend the money on good technical talent. Too much money is wasted on meaningless research like machine learning. Honeywell seems hellbent on turning this fine institution into the Kansas City Plant (Kansas City National Security Campus). Consider any other place for a career -- you will be happier.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good benefits and work/life balance, but lots of red tape

    Jun 30, 2021 - Postdoctoral Researcher in Livermore, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work/life balance and benefits. Coworkers and management are friendly and smart. Having techs to help with your workload is a nice perk too.

    Cons

    Little diversity, lots of red tape, too many meetings, and hard to get access to specialized equipment unless your boss owns it. Pay is lower (when adjusted for cost of living) than New Mexico site. I often feel stretched thin.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Intern, more than 1 year

    Great Internship

    Apr 6, 2013 - Clerical Support in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and time flex

    Cons

    Managment was poor and tasks were unclear

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Full-time hire EE

    Jan 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My previous employer was a government job which was nice but the pay and bonuses were not really good. When I started with Sandia my pay was more of what I expected and I'm pretty happy with were I am. I only just started but I believe the end of the year ratings and bonus are on par with the industry so I have no complaints . As far as work Sandia it is diverse so there is a lot of things you can do and branch out in. They have good training and are not reluctant to do so.

    Cons

    I'm not sure if its just my group or if its a thing here but I find myself working alone a lot. I mean I work on group projects but the only time I see other members is when we have meetings other than that I work on my own and share the results. Before I was used to working side by side with my team and spit balling ideas in the lab instead of just meetings.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great People but Terrible Pay for California

    Nov 30, 2021 - Senior Project Controller in Livermore, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working schedules (9/80 and 4 10s)

    Cons

    The pay across the board at the Livermore location is terrible based on cost of living.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    an excellent place to work

    Feb 11, 2021 - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great people and very interesting work

    Cons

    pay a little substandard and raises are small

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company

    Sep 4, 2018 - Senior Electrical Engineer in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Starting pay is great and so are the benefits. Almost every person I've worked with is great! very nice and fun to chat with

    Cons

    Raises suck and have gotten worse each year so eventually the high starting pay will lose out to other companies who give non-cost of living pittances. They are lowering the bonuses too. Documentation and training is awful so bring your best wit and ability to extrapolate information from nothing to learn how to do your job.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Intern

    Student Intern

    Aug 30, 2015 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - If you are an Engineer or Scientist the experience is second to none - Great pay for student interns; pay rate is based on completed # of course hours - OK networking opportunities for students - 9/80 work weeks provide good work/life balance

    Cons

    - VERY real divide (hierarchy) between the scientist/engineers and business/HR - Senior Manager's could not care less about their departments; only focused on climbing the ladder - Mentor programs are beyond lacking - Year round interns are only allowed to work 25 hrs/week, BUT you are expected to work more than 25 if you want a chance to be considered for FT employment later on

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 245 Reviews

Popular Careers with Sandia National Laboratories Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sandia National Laboratories? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Sandia National Laboratories

4 days ago

Company News
Researchers from Sandia, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology are testing how explosives could help harness geothermal power and create underground networks of geothermal wells. https://bit.ly/3NaUMNC
Shared image - Exploring explosives for expanding geothermal energy
Exploring explosives for expanding geothermal energy
newsreleases.sandia.gov
See all

Sandia National Laboratories Photos

+ Add Photo
Sandia National Laboratories photo of: Diagnosing supercomputer problems.
Sandia National Laboratories photo of: STEM Mentoring Cafe
Sandia National Laboratories photo of: Pulsed power.
Sandia National Laboratories photo of: Chemical engineer doing lab work.
Sandia National Laboratories photo of: Supercomputing.
Sandia National Laboratories photo of: Aerial view of Sandia's Albuquerque site.
Sandia National Laboratories photo of: Robtics range.
See All Photos