Santa Rosa County School District Reviews | Glassdoor

Santa Rosa County School District Reviews

Updated Nov 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
Santa Rosa County School District CEO Tim Wyrosdick
Tim Wyrosdick
0 Ratings
  1. "Instructional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Santa Rosa County School District full-time

    Pros

    The work hard to meet the needs of students and staff

    Cons

    None that I can currently think of

    Santa Rosa County School District2018-03-07
  2. "School district needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Santa Rosa County School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interview process was easy.

    Cons

    Reciprocity from out of state is not an easy process. They do not give you credit for all years of experience. No planning period in middle school. Pay is low and teacher have to buy all classroom supplies. Discipline is lacking as well as consistency.

    Santa Rosa County School District2019-12-01
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paraprofessional CBSA in Gulf Breeze, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Santa Rosa County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No weekends, good hours, benefits

    Cons

    Can be emotionally draining work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up a good work.

    Santa Rosa County School District2018-10-31
  4. "Great School District"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paraprofessional in Navarre, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Santa Rosa County School District full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Administrators and Staff Early Start, Early Off

    Cons

    More Volunteers are needed in the classrooms

    Santa Rosa County School District2018-02-25
  5. "A great school district, but not perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Santa Rosa County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great spirit, support, students, and coworkers; the area is generally good for cost of living and family oriented, with many good churches from which to choose.

    Cons

    As with other places, we keep getting more state mandates, testing and reporting so that we have less time to prepare effectively and get rest in order to be energized in the classroom.

    Advice to Management

    If we had more planning time either during the day (as we did with block schedule when many administrators were teaching) OR on regular half days planning days like MANY school districts in the state do, teachers could be more effective.

    Santa Rosa County School District2018-02-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Job Security. . ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Navarre, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Santa Rosa County School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is definitely a beautiful place to work in the south end of Santa Rosa County.

    Cons

    Each principal of each school is able to not renew a teacher's annual contract every year without warning, cause, or accountability. The pay in Santa Rosa County is lower than the surrounding counties (Okaloosa or Escambia). Professional Development opportunities at Holley Navarre Primary within the county are awarded to teachers by a lottery type drawing of those who submit their names as interested.

    Advice to Management

    Principals should have an oversight committee from the county level to evaluate terminations of employment. An outside, impersonal source should be able to review whether there is just cause for not renewing a teacher's contract. As it stands, a principal can terminate an annual contract for a teacher after multiple years of service (with only "highly effective" evaluations) due to personal feelings. If you are... planning your career in education, I would strongly advise against working in Santa Rosa County if you would like job security.

    Show More
    Santa Rosa County School District2017-11-24
  7. "Elementary teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Santa Rosa County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Same days off as my children

    Cons

    Asks and expects too much outside of work hours

    Advice to Management

    Support teachers

    Santa Rosa County School District2017-09-07
  8. "high school teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Santa Rosa County School District full-time

    Pros

    county employees extremely helpful and supportive. great physical environment. mostly great teachers.

    Cons

    not much support for teachers. administration not interested in evaluating or mentoring teachers. too much emphasis on sporting programs over academic needs.

    Santa Rosa County School District2017-07-10
  9. "Teacher, Secondary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher, Secondary School in Pensacola Beach, Escambia, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Santa Rosa County School District

    Pros

    School Level Admin, Instructional, Support, Parents- all very supportive of the common goal.

    Cons

    District Management continues to draw out contract negotiations and salaries are suppressed below surrounding counties.

    Santa Rosa County School District2017-05-24
  10. "I loved working in Santa Rosa County"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Santa Rosa County School District full-time

    Pros

    Amazing administration at East Milton Elementary. Great schools all around.

    Cons

    The pay could be better. Hard to get a job there, but once you are in- you are good.

    Santa Rosa County School District2017-05-08
Found 19 reviews