Sapphire Digital Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Sapphire Digital Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Sapphire Digital CEO Heyward Donigan
Heyward Donigan
6 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sapphire Digital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee-centric company. Flexible hours. Comfortable work environment. Excellent work-life balance. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Sapphire Digital2017-11-17
  2. "Loving my time at Vitals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sapphire Digital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back, helpful, friendly, work at home opportunities, learning opportunities. Great work life balances. Usually okay deadlines to meet.

    Cons

    Maybe not a con, but embracing new technologies and dropping technologies just as fast. Be ready for a learning curve.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back cheaper insurance premiums.

    Sapphire Digital2017-11-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lyndhurst, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sapphire Digital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vitals is committed to their employees. The engineers are well respected by the executive team. Teams are distributed and effective--wide array of languages and tooling. Engineers can look forward to an extremely generous PTO policy. Nobody is micromanaging you at Vitals. There is freedom to explore new technology while expecting to uphold best practices during development. The executive team is composed of veterans...

    Show More

    Cons

    Complex codebase can make onboarding challenging for new engineers as well as difficult to untangle and improve.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Sapphire Digital2017-11-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great to their engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sapphire Digital full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Vitals doesn't micro-manage its engineers, trusts their judgment, gives them a good team setup and light-touch management to produce some really great results. Also, no big egos - everyone works well together. Unlimited vacation, flexible time-off policy, excellent work-life balance.

      Cons

      E-suite people are a bit out of touch with what everyone else is doing/saying/thinking. We only get a "Here's how our company's doing" meeting once every 4 months or so. Also no matching on 401k.

      Advice to Management

      Get us a match on our 401k's already. And let us know what's happening - we shouldn't have to wait till company gossip gets to us to know whether or not we're doing well.

      Sapphire Digital2017-05-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great times at Vitals"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sapphire Digital

      Pros

      Relaxed, inspiring, and happy people.

      Cons

      Meetings and communication would be better.

      Sapphire Digital2016-07-20
    • Helpful (4)

      "Nice place to work, esp. as an engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sapphire Digital full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Coworkers are smart, talented people who are really dedicated to working as a team. Engineering team can work from home or the office, option of NY office or NJ office, and lots of small things like bean bag chairs and snacks are nice. Agile working environment means good organization and planning. Most teams collaborate well with each other, and leadership is competent and moving us in the right direction, I think.

      Cons

      The higher-ups seem kind of out of touch with their employees. Yes, they show up to bowling night, but their big exciting announcements always seem to be about what they're doing and not what we're doing. No 401k match, which is a major bummer. Hiring in leadership positions always seems to come from outside, rather than within.

      Advice to Management

      Get working on 401k match, and add some time for Q&A to pulse meetings. Talking with > talking at.

      Sapphire Digital2016-04-08
    • Helpful (9)

      "Run far, run fast"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lyndhurst, NJ
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Sapphire Digital for more than 3 years

        Pros

        None. Come here at your own risk. YOU WERE WARNED!

        Cons

        Company is about to go bankrupt. Most people are interviewing (They don't have cash to last to end of year) including some of management. Horrible people. Any good review you see is written by management. They are so slippery you can't trust them. They are busy trying to stab each other in the back. Do not come here or you will regret it!

        Advice to Management

        What's the point? You won't listen.

        Sapphire Digital2015-08-19
      Found 7 reviews