Sapphire Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Sapphire Energy Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sapphire Energy

    Pros

    Incredible leadership. Fantastic company culture. Powerful vision.

    Cons

    Sapphire ran out of money and couldn't keep the doors open. Sad that they didn't make it.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from mistakes.

    Sapphire Energy2017-10-11
  2. "Excellent Company All Around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Scientist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sapphire Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sapphire energy offers exciting research and development challenges to tackle, while working along side very skilled scientists and engineers. The company structure is very well organized, and promotes focus on company goals in a safe environment. All equipment or software required for a smooth success is provided. Professional development is also encouraged, and many people are able to participate in outside training...

    Show More

    Cons

    Although the hours can be long, there is a communal sense of ambition that helps motivate everyone to do their best. Similarly, deadlines are always coming just around the corner, but everyone participates to achieve success.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job! And, Thank you for an excellent opportunity to work with you all.

    Sapphire Energy2017-01-27
  3. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sapphire Energy

    Pros

    Well these guys were all cool to chill out at the bar with and stuff like that funny

    Cons

    Well these guy unfortunately we're not the most organized yards know wrk out of town and no permits

    Advice to Management

    Keep trucking

    Sapphire Energy2016-12-31
  4. "Short but sweet. Fun, small company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Prep in La Jolla, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sapphire Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    -very flexible -decent lunch provided by a local catering agency -diverse, awesome coworkers with interesting backgrounds -great work culture with occasional celebrations and company bonding events

    Cons

    -high stress work environment: plenty of deadlines and meetings -very little room for growth -repetitive work and with no satifaction

    Sapphire Energy2014-10-16
  5. "Exciting startup that is held back mostly by negative attitudes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sapphire Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome technology, people work hard as part of a start-up mentality.

    Cons

    There is a lot more cynicism and negativity than I had expected, even for a start-up. People are tired, jaded, and/or don't care. This doesn't help with the lack of a stellar success in the technology so far, and vice versa.

    Advice to Management

    This is a tough one. Keeping things positive! A startup is a gamble, fine, but it's also a day job, so make it enjoyable. Also, it's a marathon, not a sprint. Be really clear about the overall strategy and then choose the best tactics. Management can also try to connect more with the rank and file.

    Sapphire Energy2014-10-06
  6. "My review of Sapphire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sapphire Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great Boss and coworkers, enjoyed working with them

    Cons

    Inexperienced senior management, CEO, in particular

    Sapphire Energy2014-09-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It is a pretty rewarding experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sapphire Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with really talented people willing to make an impact in the world. My boss always listens to my opinion and gives my credit in front of C level executives

    Cons

    Although it is a big start-up it obviously does not have as many resources as a big corporation and sometimes you need to get really creative to get things done

    Sapphire Energy2014-02-20
  8. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sapphire Energy full-time

    Pros

    Gives you hands on experience to prepare you for the work place

    Cons

    Much work, few staff and no salary increase in comparison to the work responsibilities

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to look into adding more staff to prevent staff wear out

    Sapphire Energy2018-11-06
Found 8 reviews