Sarasota County Government Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Sarasota County Government County Administrator  Jonathan R. Lewis (no image)
Jonathan R. Lewis
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sarasota County a Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Building Codes Inspector in North Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Good Experienced Supervision

    Cons

    I have not experienced any at this position.

    Continue reading

    Sarasota County Government Response

    September 30, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for being a valued member of the Sarasota County team and sharing your feedback!

  2. "Disappointed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Analyst in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and good work, life balance

    Cons

    Employees and managers involved in internal politics

    Continue reading

    Sarasota County Government Response

    October 7, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, and previously sharing your talents with us. We would like to learn more about your experience to improve in the future. Please contact us at AskHR@scgov.net or 941.861.5353 to discuss. Thanks!

  3. "Sarasota County Employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Building Plans Examiner in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment including those you work with is excellent.

    Cons

    County pay rates and possible rates of advancement are less than private businesses.

    Sarasota County Government Response

    September 30, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for sharing your feedback on our excellent team! Please contact your HR Business Partner to discuss advancement opportunities for your career path. AskHR - 941.861.5353. Thank you!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Right of Way Agent in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly intelligent co workers, a good work / life balance, great wellness program

    Cons

    Its a public sector job so there are required steps to follow, which the public at large generally is unaware of, that means it takes longer to get tasks accomplished.

    Sarasota County Government Response

    September 9, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for sharing your talents with the Sarasota County team and sharing your feedback!

  5. "Not the best work environment"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Communications Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sarasota County Government full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and generous paid time off.

    Cons

    The Communications Department needs a lot of improvement regarding management.

    Continue reading

    Sarasota County Government Response

    July 22, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We would like to learn more about your experience. Please email us at AskHR@scgov.net to schedule a time that works best for you.

  6. "Good Culture and Decent Pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grants and Contracts Specialist in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Training Opportunities, Retirement Plan.

    Cons

    Not great management, lack of transparency, good old boy network alive and well.

    Continue reading

    Sarasota County Government Response

    July 22, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for sharing your feedback - especially as a current employee. We would like to learn more about your experience. Please email us at AskHR@scgov.net to schedule a time that works best for you.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Employment so far at Sarasota County"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Building Inspector 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy working with the group of coworkers that I have. Everyone is easy to work with.

    Cons

    At this point of my employment, I don't have any cons.

    Continue reading

    Sarasota County Government Response

    June 4, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for sharing your experience; we are happy to have you as part of the Sarasota County team!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employer!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Sarasota County Government promotes a culture of teamwork; diversity; and excellent customer service. The organization offers great benefits and promotes healthy lifestyles. It's an organization where you can grow and retire.

    Cons

    Would like to see a mentorship program implemented

    Sarasota County Government Response

    May 13, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for your review and for your service. We are exploring a mentor program at this time!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Dedicated, hardworking and friendly employees. We have fabulous benefits and opportunities for growth

    Cons

    I can’t think of any.

    Sarasota County Government Response

    May 13, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for your review and for your service to make Sarasota the best place to live, work and play!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Landscape co"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Bryan, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn great skills like time management and communication

    Cons

    Nothing I would highly recommend working here

    Continue reading
Found 38 reviews