Sarasota County Government Reviews | Glassdoor

Sarasota County Government Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jonathan R. Lewis
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Dedicated, hardworking and friendly employees. We have fabulous benefits and opportunities for growth

    Cons

    I can’t think of any.

    Sarasota County Government2019-05-09

    Sarasota County Government Response

    May 13, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for your review and for your service to make Sarasota the best place to live, work and play!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Sarasota County Government promotes a culture of teamwork; diversity; and excellent customer service. The organization offers great benefits and promotes healthy lifestyles. It's an organization where you can grow and retire.

    Cons

    Would like to see a mentorship program implemented

    Sarasota County Government2019-05-09

    Sarasota County Government Response

    May 13, 2019Manager, Workforce Planning

    Thank you for your review and for your service. We are exploring a mentor program at this time!

  3. "Landscape co"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Bryan, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You learn great skills like time management and communication

    Cons

    Nothing I would highly recommend working here

    Advice to Management

    Great management

    Sarasota County Government2018-08-25
  4. "Transit Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sarasota County Government full-time

    Pros

    Great benifits if thst is what you are looking for.

    Cons

    Cut troat,environment, if you are prepared to babysit grown people this is the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    support your leadership

    Sarasota County Government2018-08-22
  5. "Multiple positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multiple in Sarasota Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consistent workload offers security

    Cons

    Cannot prove but age discrimination certainly present in hiring process. Applied dozens of positions exceeding all experience requirements with no response.

    Advice to Management

    Stop age discrimination !

    Sarasota County Government2018-08-14

    Sarasota County Government Response

    October 18, 2018Recruiter & Outreach Professional

    I am sorry you had a negative experience. Sarasota County Government is an equal opportunity employer, which is evident in the diversity of our workforce! We strive to hire the most qualified candidate for every position. Although you may have met the minimum qualifications there ...

    Show More
  6. "Hazardous Waste Technichian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time

      Pros

      I want to know about the environmental impact

      Cons

      What is the pay in this field?

      Advice to Management

      What kind of advancement opportunities are there?

      Sarasota County Government2018-07-05

      Sarasota County Government Response

      October 18, 2018Recruiter & Outreach Professional

      Have you spoken to your supervisor about advancement opportunities? Even when additional openings are not available in your area, employees willing and ready to take on more are certainly able to do so! In the meantime, visit our career page at scgov.net/careers to see current opportunities ...

      Show More
    • "Librarian"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time

        Pros

        Rewarding. The community appreciates the work we do.

        Cons

        Low pay. Minimum chance of upward or lateral movement (without taking a substantial pay cut).

        Sarasota County Government2018-06-26
      • "Family Friendly"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Sarasota County Government full-time

        Pros

        Competent, professional staff (mostly). Generous vacation and time off.

        Cons

        Raises of 1 to 2%, not much room for career advancement, unless you leave the County

        Sarasota County Government2018-01-22
      • "Wonderful place to work!!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Human Resources in Sarasota, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Excellent benefits and focus on work-life balance. Lots of paid holidays and time off (even for new employees.) Stand-up senior leadership with great values. The ability to work each day with purpose and be an integral part of a beautiful community. After being a part of the Sarasota County team for six years, I couldn't imagine finding a better place to work.

        Cons

        Differing cultures in each department. That being said, departments still work well together, and at the end of the day, all 2100 employees come together as One Team.

        Advice to Management

        Less hierarchy, more boots on the ground approach.

        Sarasota County Government2017-10-31
      • "Great people, unethical leadership and poor HR"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager II in Sarasota, FL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Sarasota County Government full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        life work balance, benefits, training.

        Cons

        Dishonest and unethical leadership at senior and admin levels. HR dept. is inept and disfunctional at all levels. Culture is poor with racial undertones and with poor integrity rewarded.

        Advice to Management

        Live what you preach, become ethical in all dealings and become better stewards of the tax dollars.

        Sarasota County Government2017-11-08

        Sarasota County Government Response

        October 18, 2018Recruiter & Outreach Professional

        I am sorry you had a negative experience. County leadership and the Human Resources Department are under new management which has recently led to a very positive culture shift within the organization.

      Found 31 reviews