Sarasota County Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Sarasota County Schools Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Sarasota County Schools CEO Todd Bowden
Todd Bowden
3 Ratings
  1. "Decent paying part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Venice, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sarasota County Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers and most students

    Cons

    Can be stressful in some classrooms

    Sarasota County Schools2019-06-11
  2. "Looking for more Substitute Teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 

      I have been working at Sarasota County Schools part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I hold. BA, MBA , and a Masters in Counseling Psychology from Boston College. I have 4 years substituting at Sarasota County Schools.

      Cons

      Some of the students have been a little not caring, I love to teach, looking for students that want to learn.

      Advice to Management

      I never miss an assignment, always available, and help in anyway I can.

      Sarasota County Schools2019-06-14
    • "What you'd expect of Subbing, the pay is relatively good for the job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Subsitute Teacher in Sarasota, FL

      I have been working at Sarasota County Schools part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good Pay Relative to Other Counties. Some Great School Programs Like ACE or IB.

      Cons

      Hard to get a job - have to wake up the day of to get anything that isn't an aide or something similar, most jobs put the night before are taken very quickly.

      Advice to Management

      Make it easier to log in to the substitute job website, it's not easy to find on the Sarasota County Schools homepage (not even sure if it's on there...)

      Sarasota County Schools2019-06-14
    • "Excellent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Tampa, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sarasota County Schools full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Pay (for Florida) Professionalism of teachers/administrators

      Cons

      Pay (compared to national average)

      Sarasota County Schools2019-04-16
    • "SRQ Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Sarasota, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sarasota County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      great environment, benefits, clean, students are typically respectful. Administration works hard for teachers and students.

      Cons

      florida teacher salaries are among lowest in USA

      Sarasota County Schools2019-03-09
    • "Wonderful Benefits - Great Staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Sarasota, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sarasota County Schools full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Teacher pay in Florida is what it is, so of course, we all wish it was more. However, the benefits in Sarasota County are amazing. I pay $0 out of pocket for my insurance and have the ability to pick from 4 different options. Additionally, I love the staff I work with. It could be different from school to school but overall the teachers on campus are passionate about helping students.

      Cons

      Changing administration can be challenging and the rumors that can fly on campus, but I'm sure this happens everywhere. There is not a lot of upward mobility unless you want to become an administrator.

      Sarasota County Schools2019-01-24
    • "Work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Sarasota County Schools full-time

      Pros

      Great health and dental benefits

      Cons

      Poor pay and time off

      Advice to Management

      Needs better management in many departments

      Sarasota County Schools2018-11-30
    • "School Board Concerns"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sarasota, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Sarasota County Schools full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great staff to work with and supportive parents

      Cons

      Pay is low if you come from another state,

      Sarasota County Schools2018-09-11
    • "Tough"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Sarasota, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Sarasota County Schools full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Job security and holidays off.

      Cons

      Tough management. They do not trust what you have to say and expect you to know everything with no training

      Advice to Management

      Provide training and trust your staff.

      Sarasota County Schools2018-08-21
    • "Para"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Sarasota County Schools full-time

        Pros

        Great school system to work for.

        Cons

        Not enough room for advancement

        Advice to Management

        Better pay for Oak Park

        Sarasota County Schools2018-06-12
      Found 36 reviews