Sargent & Lundy Reviews | Glassdoor

Sargent & Lundy Reviews

Updated September 7, 2017
223 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

223 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great work/life balance, with every hour over 40 going toward comp time (in 11 reviews)

  • Good benefits and highly competitive salaries (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • Work/life balance is second to the company, management has no hesitation to ask worker to stay to extreme hours or work weekends (in 9 reviews)

  • The "good old boys club", outdated software, lazy co-workers that will not do their job, unconcerned management (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sargent & Lundy full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    All-in I've been with S&L for over 13 years. I have had numerous employers in my career and have worked with literally thousands of people. I can honestly say my coworkers here are the greatest people with whom I've worked. And there are fantastic people in ALL areas of the company: engineering, design, HR, corporate communications, accounting, travel, training, legal, and on and on and on. I have interacted many times with our CEO and he's a genuinely great person. It's just really nice to walk around a place where you know so many people have your back. I also occasionally work from home, which I really appreciate.

    Cons

    At any job there are going to be some cons. Our software often lags behind the latest updates. Job recognition and feedback is lacking at times. We don’t have 360-degree evaluations. I could quibble over wanting some improvements, but all I need to do is walk around the office and see all the great people here and everything really is put into focus at how fortunate I am to work at S&L.

    Sargent & Lundy Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Director of Talent

    We completely agree: Sargent & Lundy has outstanding employees who genuinely care about the best interests of their coworkers, all the way up to our CEO, Tom White. Thanks for your review!


  2. Helpful (4)

    "Thumbs Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sargent & Lundy full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Sargent & Lundy has very competitive salaries and benefits. Has a philosophy of hiring talent, then growing/promoting from within. Many company owners started as entry-level engineers years ago.

    Cons

    It's a pro/con depending on where you live. The downtown office is great for those living in the city, but a long commute for those in outlying suburbs.

    Sargent & Lundy Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Director of Talent

    We really appreciate your positive review.

    We do understand our downtown office can be a bit of a commute if you don’t live in the city, which is one of the very reasons we launched our... More

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Project assistant 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sargent & Lundy full-time

    Pros

    Great training program. Good benefits

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Sargent & Lundy Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Director of Talent

    We’re happy to hear you are having a great experience at Sargent & Lundy … thank you for sharing!


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Many Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sargent & Lundy full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Career Diversity, In-House Experts, Integrity and Ethics

    Cons

    Hours can be long, but the end results are rewarding.

    Sargent & Lundy Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Director of Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re glad to hear you find the work rewarding!


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Functional Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sargent & Lundy full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very solid company and staffing

    Cons

    Limited travel opportunities to other states or clients to implement packaged software.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Think more to get in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Great resource due to long history

    Cons

    Dry office culture & HR only for high managers


  7. Helpful (7)

    "Weak Leadership and Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sargent & Lundy full-time

    Pros

    -Very competitive pay.
    -Top notch benefits, including tuition reimbursement and monetary awards for obtaining licenses.
    -Flexible work environment.
    -Good opportunities available when business is good.

    Cons

    -Persistent bias and politicking.
    -Career development for employees takes a back seat to the ability to continually churn out work, creating monotonous tasks between projects.
    -Severe lack of recognition for talented, creative thinking, hard-working employees. Similarly, the incompetent and lazy subsist.
    -Supervisor feedback is a rarity, often times only occurring during the annually performance review.
    -Annual promotions are not performance-based – they are dependent on the quantity each manager is allowed to give out. If you miss the cut, you’re waiting an entire year.
    -Acceptable practice of allowing deliverables to be issued plagued with errors, and no accountability for the guilty.

    Advice to Management

    The company is in desperate need of a complete makeover. Hire project managers with actual management experience in lieu of thrusting engineers into managerial roles. Assign lead engineer roles to those with team leadership qualities. Update engineering and design standards, technology, software, outdated office space, etc.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Long term employee who got out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Designer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sargent & Lundy full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Former group of employees had a grower work dynamic, everyone was like family, good work life balance

    Cons

    New management doesn't care about employees, vetry easy to get sick in the same position with no recognition, issues are not taken care of, engineers tend to act as though they are above design staff being disrespectful, and no work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of the employees needs.

    Sargent & Lundy Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Director of Talent

    We’re sorry to hear you had a less than positive experience in your time at Sargent & Lundy. We wish you the best in your career.


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sargent & Lundy full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Paid Overtime, Good work life balance. Travel is required but it is minimal. Offers good opportunity to learn from experienced professionals. Promote within company in lieu of hiring outside. Great location in the loop.

    Cons

    Pay could be slightly more. Other firms in the area pay more.

    Advice to Management

    A lot of mid-management personnel eat away at project budgets...

    Sargent & Lundy Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – Director of Talent

    Thank you so much for the positive review! Regarding your comment on compensation, rest assured, we continuously engage external compensation resources to remain confident our employees receive... More


  10. Helpful (5)

    "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate III in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Associate III in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sargent & Lundy full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Opportunities to gain a lot of experience. Great working with clients.

    Cons

    Management, company policies, and other aspects of daily work are way out of date.

    Advice to Management

    Salaries for non-leadership workers should be reconsidered. Bonuses and raises should be performance based. Promotion criteria should be more clear.

    Sargent & Lundy Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – Director of Talent

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see you value the experience you’ve gained with Sargent & Lundy, as well as your interactions with our clients. The relationships between our employees... More


Showing 223 of 225 reviews
Reset Filters