Cover image for Save-A-Lot Food Stores
Logo

Save-A-Lot Food Stores

Is this your company?

Save-A-Lot Food Stores

Add a Review

Save-A-Lot Food Stores Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,189 of over 1K reviews
3.0
43% Recommend to a Friend
38% Approve of CEO

Found 1,186 of over 1K reviews

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Save-A-Lot Food Stores CEO Kenneth McGrath (no image)
Kenneth McGrath
256 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Laid back family feal and good pay.(in 88 reviews)
  • "Got to meet lots of great people(in 59 reviews)
  • "The legacy employees are really great people and are Very knowledgeable about the history of save a lot.(in 28 reviews)
  • "The benefits were good.(in 27 reviews)
  • "My coworkers were great and fun to work with(in 26 reviews)
Cons
  • "management is bad and disrespectful.(in 48 reviews)
  • "Long hours and lots of physical work.(in 45 reviews)
  • "Certain upper management would not allow me to grow my sales always a negative interference!!(in 34 reviews)
  • "Certain managers might keep you beyond the scheduled end of your shift until that manager's list of tasks to be completed gets finished.(in 33 reviews)
  • "There is no work/life balance and there is very little actual 'managing' being done.(in 23 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Save-A-Lot Food Stores and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Cashier

    May 21, 2022 - Data Entry 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people to be around

    Cons

    Rough schedule for me at the time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    My opinion

    Nov 6, 2022 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the people that I work with love the environment and love my coworkers

    Cons

    When I void something that is $5 or more I have to call my supervisor to sign off on it I think that's crappy I think it should be like 50 to 100 dollars boy that you're supervisor has to sign off on because there's a lot of people that take stuff off for thought this was too high so they didn't want it or whatever the case may be it's just a lot of people that does stuff like that and so I'm having to call my supervisor every like 5 to 10 minutes and it's aggravating

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Save-A-Lot Food Stores team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    I liked it very cool

    Dec 1, 2022 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No I don’t I enjoyed it very nice workers

    Cons

    More professional maybe there was a few problems

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Save a lot review

    Nov 30, 2022 - Save A Lot Store Clerk 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Made many connections with coworkers and the public.

    Cons

    I cant think of any

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Starting Job

    Nov 3, 2022 - Night Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The owner is a good example for hard working. Privately owned by Jim McVeigh so I learn how he likes to run the business and learn first hand. There was a lot of room to grown in the business and I was able to get as many hours as I wanted. Worked around my busy schedule very well.

    Cons

    Some other employees are viruses and contradict the owner. Started low paying but got better as time went on.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great product line for customers

    Nov 25, 2022 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Scheduling is decent, friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Franchise is good, but corporate issues could use some attention.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Could be better could be worse

    Nov 23, 2022 - Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible with your schedule so long as you have plenty of notice.

    Cons

    Short staffed especially in the evenings.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Job

    Nov 15, 2022 - Inbound/Outbound Supervisor in Hammond, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work balance, Good pay for the area.

    Cons

    upper management don't have a clue of the market in the area.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Communications Intern

    Nov 8, 2022 - Communications Intern in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, engaging team

    Cons

    low structure and work projects

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Experience Review

    Oct 18, 2022 - Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work is simple and easy i was the best cashier they had while the others threw items in the cart I was more organized on how items were put into the cart

    Cons

    communication between coworkers was not good for anyone rate of pay was bad

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,186 Reviews
</>Embed

Save-A-Lot Food Stores Reviews FAQs

Save-A-Lot Food Stores has an overall rating of 3.0 out of 5, based on over 1,208 reviews left anonymously by employees. 43% of employees would recommend working at Save-A-Lot Food Stores to a friend and 25% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Save-A-Lot Food Stores employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Save-A-Lot Food Stores. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

43% of Save-A-Lot Food Stores employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Save-A-Lot Food Stores 2.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.7 for culture and values and 2.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Save-A-Lot Food Stores to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be culture, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Save-A-Lot Food Stores Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Save-A-Lot Food Stores? Share Your Experiences

Save-A-Lot Food Stores logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Save-A-Lot Food Stores Photos

+ Add Photo
Save-A-Lot Food Stores photo of: Save-A-Lot Food Store
Save-A-Lot Food Stores photo of: After i cleaned the dock
Save-A-Lot Food Stores photo of: Produce sales floor
Save-A-Lot Food Stores photo of: Produce Department
Save-A-Lot Food Stores photo of: Street View
Save-A-Lot Food Stores photo of: Image Wall
Save-A-Lot Food Stores photo of: Meat dept
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Save-A-Lot Food Stores Job Seekers Also Viewed

ALDI Logo
ALDI

3.6

11,242 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,208 Save-A-Lot Food Stores reviews submitted anonymously by Save-A-Lot Food Stores employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Save-A-Lot Food Stores is right for you.