Save Mart Reviews | Glassdoor

Save Mart Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 219 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Nicole Pesco
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with in the IT department(in 11 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, mainly due to size of company and labor unions involvement(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Could use more full time jobs and maybe some new freezers(in 8 reviews)

  • "Work life Balance: There is none, just call in sick(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Save Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice colleagues and understanding management

    Cons

    lazy coworkers and sometimes hard customers

    Save Mart2019-04-13
  2. "More cons than pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Merchandise Clerk in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save Mart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great supervisors, coworkers made work life tolerable, improvements were sometimes made

    Cons

    Split days off, no set schedule, chaotic management structure

    Save Mart2019-06-20
  3. "Easy but not satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Cutter Apprentice in Ripon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Save Mart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Easy job. Meet good people.

    Cons

    Hard to advance. Company is not structured well

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. No one store is on the same page as another

    Save Mart2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Inequitable Pay & Advancement for Women & People of Color"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Save Mart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. Lots of opportunities to stretch, increase skillset 2. Give 10% discount at Save Mart & Lucky on groceries; 5% at Food Maxx. 3. The work itself is challenging, exciting and fun. You feel like you're making a difference. 4. Casual dress, including jeans 5. Some great co-workers

    Cons

    1. Women & People of Color are paid lower wages & overlooked for opportunities despite more experience, better education, & significantly stronger contributions to the company. 2. The company may have paid one cost of living increase in 10 years, So eggs, gas, electric, insurance, etc increase 3.5% every year but if you made $40k 10 years ago, you're making $41k 10 years later. 3. Instead of...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I love my job and the contributions that I get to make each and every day. But fair pay and fair distribution of rewards, recognition, and opportunity are missing.

    Save Mart2019-06-12
  5. "The coworkers are fun to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multipurpose Clerk in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Save Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers and weekly pay are great.

    Cons

    Physical job for low pay.

    Save Mart2019-05-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Slow death"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Save Mart

      Pros

      Made great friends. Also, quitting was one of the best things I ever did

      Cons

      Current CEO constantly cutting back. As of March 2019 approx 80 layoffs, many having 20+years in the company. I was fortunate to leave in 2016, but it’s sad to hear how some of your former coworkers just got the boot. The current ad campaign “Roots Matter” claims they are supporting our communities and are about the people. If you work for them, then your expendable as proven above.

      Advice to Management

      Just sell the company already. At the very least, learn from Safeway, Kroger, or other grocery chains on how to do business

      Save Mart2019-06-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Nice but cheap"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Buyer/Planner 
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Save Mart full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice people. Good work environment

      Cons

      They have no money and use old outdated software. Don't work here if you want to learn programs and processes that will help you in your career.

      Save Mart2019-05-27
    • "I was a clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Clerk in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Save Mart part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      it was cool It was also a job

      Cons

      managemanet sucks The schedule is always wack

      Advice to Management

      do better

      Save Mart2019-05-09
    • "Good Company To Work For If You Are A Student"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Key Carrier in Ripon, CA

        I have been working at Save Mart part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        They work with your schedule.

        Cons

        Corporate appears greedy. They never want to allow sufficient labor.

        Save Mart2019-05-06
      • Helpful (1)

        "Increasingly desperate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Head Clerk in Visalia, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Save Mart full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Flexible schedule and very little discipline

        Cons

        Quality of work environment deteriorating by the year; pay, benefits, work environment

        Advice to Management

        Please add more labor, your customer service is suffering; its not fair to the employees or customers

        Save Mart2019-05-31
      Found 219 reviews